We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Business Hotel ... Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Ranked #49 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed 28 March 2012

You can't go wrong with this property. Located near shops, directly across from the Embarcadero, short ride to Fisherman's Wharf and just steps from cable cars and BART. Rooms are spacious and clean. Loved the balconies. Friendly staff. GREAT meeting space, lobby bar. Excellent choice for hosting meetings.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking San Francisco Bay and Embarcadero. The higher up, the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CJMTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mbort088, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2012

Dear CJMTraveler,

The entire staff of the Hyatt Regency San Francisco appreciates your positive feedback and business. We are dedicated to serving you with authentic hospitality and we aim to provide you with a product with exceptional value. Should your travels bring you back to San Francisco, please do not hesitate to let us know and we would be more than welcome to assist you with reservations.

Sincerely,
Melissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,722)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,655 - 3,659 of 4,722 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

Great location ! Uptodate rooms great amenities, very accomidating staff

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KBSHOSPITALITY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mbort088, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2012

KBSHOSPITALITY from Caibou, Maine:

The entire staff, our General Manager and I are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your recent visit at the Hyatt Regency San Francisco! We loved your remarks about our location, our guestrooms and our authentic hospitality.

We truly apprefciate your feedback and we can't wait to welcome you back soon!

Sincerely,
Melissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2012

Wonderful hotel to stay at around Christmas time. Beautiful strings of lights down the giant open center of the hotel, great cocktails in the bar, and a beautiful Christmas tree. In the summer time piano players grace the foyer and a lone sax player dons the street outside. The hotel rooms are always clean, always excellent, always quiet and the hotel staff is excellent.
Great location for using muni to get around town. Noahs bagels, wells fargo, and sbux right around the corner as well as a 24 hour subway sandwich shop. The piers are just a few blocks away.

Room Tip: Higher floors offer an excellent view of the city, but all rooms are beautiful and well kept.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler21f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mbort088, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2012

Dear Traveler21f from from North Carolina,

We appreciate your 5-star rating and feedback. The entire staff, our General Manager and I are truly dedicated to providing you with an authentic Hyatt experience while visiting our beautiful city of San Francisco. Should travel bring you back soon, please do not hesitate to call on any staff member as we would be more than welcome to personally assist you.

Sincerely,
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2012

The hotel is a few steps from local transit--BART, MUNI (which takes you up Market Street or to Fisherman's Wharf), and the California Street cable car, which begins right outside the front door. A few more steps take you to the shops in the Ferry Building, the Financial Center, and a few blocks to Chinatown. It's this convenience, plus the comfortable and very spacious rooms, that draw me to this hotel. I've been able to get good rates through AARP and Priceline. I'm very sensitive to noise; from the 6th floor I could hear some traffic sounds, but not enough to bother me (ask for a room facing away from Market Street), and I heard nothing from neighboring rooms or from the lobby. Staff were very friendly and helpful. There are several places to grab an inexpensive breakfast within a few steps of the hotel. My only complaint: they charge an exorbitant $10/day for internet access. This basic service should be free. No pool, but if you're a YMCA member you can use their nearby facilities for a token payment ($3?).

Room Tip: Rooms that don't face Market Street are probably quieter. Ask for a high floor, and if you like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I have stayed at this property several times over the years, and it has improved each time.

Pros: Great location (convenient to BART, MUNI), large rooms, well maintained rooms and common areas, restaurant and bar on site, gym facility

Cons: Street noise (though this is to be expected in an urban environment)

I booked this room via Priceline and got a great rate. I would not hesitate to stay there again if I should be so lucky.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rescue-you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mbort088, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2012

Dear rescue-you of the Bay Area:

It was a pleasure having you back and thank you very much for your positive rating. The entire staff, our General Manager and I are extremely pleased that you once again enjoyed a comfortable stay with us.

We can't wait to welcome you back and wish you all the best!

Melissa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 230 in San Francisco
4,994 reviews
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#23 of 230 in San Francisco
6,118 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
5,547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#37 of 230 in San Francisco
3,060 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#31 of 230 in San Francisco
3,789 reviews
Financial District
Loews Regency San Francisco
Loews Regency San Francisco
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency San Francisco

Address: 5 Embarcadero Center, San Francisco, CA 94111-4800
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#30 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: €204 - €577 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 804
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 804-room Hyatt Regency San Francisco is the City's only luxury waterfront hotel with breathtaking bay and city views. Ideally located for business and leisure, the hotel is in the Financial District, and close to all major city attractions, and located across the street from the renovated historical Ferry Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt Regency
Hyatt San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing