We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“comfortable, convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Ranked #57 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
158 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“comfortable, convenient”
Reviewed 21 March 2012

The hotel is a few steps from local transit--BART, MUNI (which takes you up Market Street or to Fisherman's Wharf), and the California Street cable car, which begins right outside the front door. A few more steps take you to the shops in the Ferry Building, the Financial Center, and a few blocks to Chinatown. It's this convenience, plus the comfortable and very spacious rooms, that draw me to this hotel. I've been able to get good rates through AARP and Priceline. I'm very sensitive to noise; from the 6th floor I could hear some traffic sounds, but not enough to bother me (ask for a room facing away from Market Street), and I heard nothing from neighboring rooms or from the lobby. Staff were very friendly and helpful. There are several places to grab an inexpensive breakfast within a few steps of the hotel. My only complaint: they charge an exorbitant $10/day for internet access. This basic service should be free. No pool, but if you're a YMCA member you can use their nearby facilities for a token payment ($3?).

Room Tip: Rooms that don't face Market Street are probably quieter. Ask for a high floor, and if you like...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tony C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,638
    1,499
    691
    259
    121
See reviews for
809
1,115
187
1,597
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (858)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bay Area
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I have stayed at this property several times over the years, and it has improved each time.

Pros: Great location (convenient to BART, MUNI), large rooms, well maintained rooms and common areas, restaurant and bar on site, gym facility

Cons: Street noise (though this is to be expected in an urban environment)

I booked this room via Priceline and got a great rate. I would not hesitate to stay there again if I should be so lucky.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rescue-you
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mbort088, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear rescue-you of the Bay Area:

It was a pleasure having you back and thank you very much for your positive rating. The entire staff, our General Manager and I are extremely pleased that you once again enjoyed a comfortable stay with us.

We can't wait to welcome you back and wish you all the best!

Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerikeri, New Zealand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2012

I attended a conference here and stayed in the hotel for convenience. It was a good conference venue and very handy to transportation but I would not choose to stay here again unless I was guaranteed a quiet room. I admit I am a poor sleeper. I had also arrived off a long haul overnight flight from New Zealand so was tired on arrival. I was given a room on the 4th floor overlooking Market St. The street view was entertaining but the noise at night made sleep very difficult. This was partly due to the trolley buses which run at night, but exacerbated by a protest group occupying the footpath across the road and roadworks conducted overnight at a nearby intersection. On the third night I resorted to earplugs, but was so tired by day 4 I requested a room change. The staff were obliging and offered a twin room on the 3rd floor with a partial bay view. This was definitely quieter, though there was a locked door between my room and the room next door so they could be used as adjoining rooms if required. The sound proofing between them was poor - I could hear the occupants voices and they could probably hear me Skyping! Fortunately they were quiet folk and it didn't bother me too much. I hope I didn't bother them! It would be preferable to be higher up, away from the atrium noise, and if you are a restless sleeper do request a bayside room, though the receptionist said requests cannot be guaranteed...
Service was generally of a very good standard. The Concierge staff were great, with helpful suggestions about transport etc. The architecture was impressive, albeit a bit dated, and the rooms were spacious although rather beige... The heating unit was noisy so I turned it off at bedtime. The bathroom setup was adequate with a generous vanity space. There was no minibar but there is a nice deli/wineshop across the road which is open till midnight.
All up, if you are a sound sleeper you will probably enjoy your stay here, but if you are a restless sleeper, beware. And if you book without prepaying and are from overseas you might be surprised by the $35 occupancy charge per night which is added to your quoted room rate!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JudyA888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mbort088, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear JudyA888 from Kerikeri, New Zealand:

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent visit at the Hyatt Regency San Francisco. Your comments and experience are highly valued by the entire team. We take it to heart to exceed our guest's expectations at all times and we are solely committed to providing you with authentic hospitality.

It is our hope that you would return in the future and allow us the opportunity to provide you with a more comfortable and quieter room.

Thanks again and all the best to you!

Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

I was on a business trip and returned to the Hyatt for two nights. The room was very comfortable and fitness facility was excellent. The restaurant served a good breakfast and was a good place to meet colleagues after the day's session. It is in close walking distance to the business center and tourist attractions. The lobby has a very distinctive light decoration hanging from the ceiling. The lights are like long Christmas lignts and have the look of a heavy snowfall.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnbayeux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mbort088, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Dear johnbayeux from Basking Ridge, New Jersey:

We appreciate the time you took to share your positive experience while at the Hyatt Regency San Francisco. We are very pleased that you found your room comfortable, enjoyed our StayFit facility, breakfast at our restaurant and our lobby lighting.

Your vote of confidence is one of our biggest compliments! We hope to welcome you back to our hotel and our city by the bay.

Sincerely,
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
logan, ut
Level Contributor
107 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2012

While the hotel is interesting architecturally, in a dated 1980s sort of a way, I would have expected a more customer service oriented approach. Over the past year, hotels like the Fairmont, Hilton, Novotel, and Ibis have honored our special requests, and given us rooms that were exactly what we requested – even on early arrival. Not so with the Hyatt.

Calls to reservations prior to arrival confirmed my request for a bay facing high floored room (which we were willing to pay extra for). We arrived early to this Hyatt, and expected to put our luggage in storage. Instead we were ushered into a room after the front desk said no rooms of our description were available now or later. They instead tried to upgrade our stay to Regency Club (and a 6th floor room) for an extra $79 a night. After we declined, he placed us in a cramped corner room facing Market St. Before moving in, we called the front desk (which admitted that they weren’t that full). This call yielded an upgrade to the 4th floor bay facing room if we placed our luggage in storage.

This room was adequate, but noisy from street and market traffic and had malfunctioning heat. We should have moved to another room, or better yet another hotel, but traveling with my family on a short holiday limits the amount of time we wish to spend moving luggage from room to room.

While the location of this hotel was exceptional, very convenient to BART, MUNI, and city sites, I will not choose this place again without a guarantee of a better room and better treatment. A little more consideration from the front desk would have made ALL the difference.

Room Tip: High floor, bay facing
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank j9logan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mbort088, Manager at Hyatt Regency San Francisco, responded to this review, 19 March 2012
Dear j9logan from Utah:

Thank you for sharing your feedback regarding your recent stay at the Hyatt Regency San Francisco. It is through your honest opinion that we find opportunities to improve and enhance our product and services. I sincerely apologize that your stay was not entirely up to par to your expectations. We are honestly disappointed that we unable to provide you with authentic hospitality that we aim to provide at all times.

We immediately addressed your concerns and hope that you would accept our sincerest apologies. The entire staff and I wish that this experience would not deter you from returning to our hotel in the future. Should travel bring you back to our beautiful city, please do not hesitate to call me and I would be more than welcome to personally assist you. We would like to show you the level of service that you deserve and that, of which, we pride ourselves to delivering every day.


Sincerely,
Melissa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#40 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,493 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Financial District
Le Meridien San Francisco
Le Meridien San Francisco
#49 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,025 reviews
SoMa
Harbor Court Hotel
Harbor Court Hotel
#50 of 228 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,260 reviews
Financial District
Hilton San Francisco Financial District
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hyatt Regency San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hyatt Regency San Francisco

Property: Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Address: 5 Embarcadero Center, San Francisco, CA 94111-4800
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#32 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#61 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:4 star — Hyatt Regency San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 804
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 804-room Hyatt Regency San Francisco is the City's only luxury waterfront hotel with breathtaking bay and city views. Ideally located for business and leisure, the hotel is in the Financial District, and close to all major city attractions, and located across the street from the renovated historical Ferry Building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hyatt Hotels Corporation, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hyatt Regency San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Hyatt Regency
Hyatt San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing