We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Jani

Noisy room.

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Sept 2018via mobile
When we arrived room was cold like 66 F. The heater started to heat at night and second day room was comfortable warm. Rooms are small and you can everything on streets in the room. Although room was just renewed.
Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Taha A, General Manager at San Francisco Inn, responded to this review
Responded 27 Dec 2023
"Thank you for sharing your experience. We appreciate your understanding regarding the initial temperature concern, and we apologize for any inconvenience it may have caused. We're glad to hear that the heater started working, and the room became comfortable. Your feedback is valuable, and we're constantly working to improve our guests' experience. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for an even better stay in the future."

please visit our website at www.sanfranciscoinn.com Looking forward to hosting you in the future!"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
€152
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
    €145
  • Expedia.com
    €152
  • Skyscanner.com
    €145
1.6 km from San Francisco Inn
Free Wifi
€170
€154
  • Vio.com
    €154
  • Skyscanner.com
    €154
  • StayForLong
1.8 km from San Francisco Inn
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
€274
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    €274
  • Vio.com
    €235
  • Expedia.com
    €274
1.8 km from San Francisco Inn
Free Wifi
Bar/Lounge
€191
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    €191
  • Skyscanner.com
    €186
  • Expedia.com
    €191
1.8 km from San Francisco Inn
Room service
Bar/Lounge
Heated Outdoor Pool
€170
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    €170
  • Skyscanner.com
    €146
  • Hotels.com
    €170
1.6 km from San Francisco Inn
Free Wifi
Pool
€269
€242
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Riu.com
    €267
  • Hotels.com
    €240
  • Expedia.com
    €240
3.8 km from San Francisco Inn
Pool
Beachfront
Regency Lounge
€226
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hyatt.com
    €223
  • Expedia.com
    €226
  • Hotels.com
    €226
1.7 km from San Francisco Inn
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Lobby
€149
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    €149
  • Skyscanner.com
    €138
  • Expedia.com
    €149
0.6 km from San Francisco Inn
Fairmont San Francisco
€306
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    €306
  • Skyscanner.com
    €236
  • Expedia.com
    €306
2.2 km from San Francisco Inn
Restaurant
Room service
€268
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Official Site
    €268
  • ZenHotels.com
    €193
  • Expedia.com
    €268
3.9 km from San Francisco Inn
Fitness centre
View more hotels in San Francisco
Reviews (180)
Filter reviews
180 results
Traveller rating
29
64
56
25
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
29
64
56
25
6
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 180 reviews
Reviewed 19 August 2018

Overall a good experience. Room was clean, hotel had free parking, and the staff was helpful. Shower and bathroom was very decent, bed was adequate. You come here to sleep and take a shower, not hang around. Rooms had microwave and fridge, if needed. Breakfast options were orange juice, coffee, packaged Danish, yogurt, packaged oatmeal and cereal with milk. Enough to get the day started. Close to the main bus lines and easy access to the major freeways. I recommend getting a room away from the Stud bar since it is quite noisy (not unexpected for a SF weekend) and away from the stairs if possible. I recommend heading over to the food trucks (SOMA StreetEats) at the end of Harrison behind Costco for a good bargain on dinner and drinks. Happy Hour on Friday from 5-7, and a great place to hang out with the locals and watch the games. Price was right and the hotel met my expectations. Heads up, no elevator and the stairs are steep. Don't expect your room to be cleaned up if you stay more than one night, probably limited staff.

Room tip: Away from the Stud bar, away from the stairs.
Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank F9493RHlindam
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Taha A, General Manager at San Francisco Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2023

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We're pleased to hear that you had an overall positive stay, appreciating our clean rooms, free parking, and helpful staff. It's great to know that the shower, bathroom, and amenities like the microwave and fridge met your needs. We value your recommendations for room preferences and nearby dining options. Your understanding about the noise and limited cleaning service is appreciated. We hope to welcome you back for another satisfying stay in the future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

I was hoping for this to be a pretty decent place as it is near work. I was pretty sorely disappointed in the room itself along with a lot of street noise. There were some issues like no hangers in the closet, the glass doors in the shower would not stay closed because the floors are so uneven, And the lack of comfortable pillows or even an extra blanket. I would not recommend this hotel.

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank kensmithld
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Taha A, General Manager at San Francisco Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 December 2023

We sincerely apologize for the disappointment you experienced during your stay. It's disheartening to hear about the issues you encountered, including the lack of hangers, problems with the shower doors, street noise, and insufficient bedding comfort. Your feedback is crucial, and we will address these concerns to ensure improvements in our accommodations. We appreciate your honesty and regret that we fell short of your expectations. If your travels bring you back to the area, we hope to have the opportunity to provide you with a more satisfying experience. Thank you for sharing your insights.

please visit our website at www.sanfranciscoinn.com. Looking forward to hosting you in the future!"

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2018

We were traveling with a toddler so had a few things on our list "must have" list: microwave, fridge, not $$$. Compared to other places in SF, it was definitely cheaper. Microwave and fridge worked well. Fan unit worked well.

For breakfast, there were packaged danish type food, cereal, yogurt, apples and oranges, juice, milk, coffee and tea. We found it sufficient for us.

Location was not bad. Trader Joe's is nearby as well as a few restaurants. There's also a costco nearby and across the street from them is a street food/food truck space. Location was a few blocks from Market street where many trams and buses ran. Across the street from the hotel was a bus that would go to Fisherman's Wharf directly.

Only downside was the room was a bit smaller, parking was tight at times (but we had no problems getting a spot), interior was a bit dated but did not impact the function of the room, and housekeeping was inconsistent (you're going to want to wear shoes on the carpet). We had to constantly go back to the front desk to grab an extra set of towels despite that being recorded on their system multiple times. As well, it can get pretty noisy (traffic mostly, bass from the bar next door on Saturday night only) so we would stuff a towel under the door to fill the gap. We also kept the fan on low to drown out the noise outside. Some staff were extremely responsive, others not so much.

We wish we could've had another space to put the play pen for our toddler to sleep in but that's not a problem with the hotel. In retrospect, we should've thrown him in the bathroom.

Overall, it was adequate for what we needed at a reasonable price (compared to other accommodations) and was conveniently located and central to get to most things. A little further from Fisherman's Wharf but we didn't plan on spending more than a couple days there anyways.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Kevin L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Taha A, General Manager at San Francisco Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2023

Thank you for providing detailed feedback on your stay. We're glad to hear that our amenities like the microwave and fridge met your needs, and that the breakfast options were sufficient for your family. We appreciate your understanding regarding the room size, parking, and dated interior. Your observations about noise and housekeeping will be reviewed to enhance our services. We apologize for any inconsistencies in responsiveness and appreciate your patience. If your travels bring you back to the area, we'd love to host you again and improve upon your experience. Thank you for choosing us for your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 May 2018

What can I say, rooms within the city are expensive, so we were looking for something a little more affordable that had good, free parking. This room checked all of the boxes. Clean rooms. Average, yet comfortable beds. Easy check in, and free covered parking. I was able to park the car, and then Uber everywhere that I wanted to go during our visit.
Would stay here again.

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank alan b
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Taha A, General Manager at San Francisco Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2023

"Thank you for taking the time to share your experience! We're delighted to hear that our clean and affordable rooms, comfortable beds, and convenient amenities, such as free covered parking, met your expectations. It's fantastic to know you found the check-in process easy and were able to explore the city conveniently using Uber. We appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit. Safe travels!"





Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018

While we were unable to stay at San Francisco Inn, their leniency on cancellation policy earns 5 stars, in my book.
Our surgical procedure at UCSF had a last minute postponement. The inn staff took this into account, and contrary to their 48 hour cancellation policy, never did charge us.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
4  Thank nicknmary
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Taha A, General Manager at San Francisco Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2023

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We genuinely appreciate your understanding and are pleased to hear that our team's flexibility on the cancellation policy has left a positive impression.

We understand that unexpected circumstances, such as a surgical procedure postponement, can be challenging, and we're glad we could assist during this time. It's our priority to provide compassionate and understanding service to our guests.

We hope your surgical procedure at UCSF went well, and we sincerely appreciate your kind words about our cancellation policy. If your future plans bring you to San Francisco, we would be honored to have the opportunity to host you and provide you with a positive experience.

Wishing you all the best in your recovery.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews