We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid - Poor service, slow elevators, old decor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton San Francisco Financial District
Ranked #81 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 17 September 2017

We booked in advance to stay in this hotel at both the start and end of our trip in Northern California so my comments reflect two stays over four nights.

The bad:
Both times we arrived by car and were not offered any assistance either with parking or our luggage. I had to track down the valet the first time to take my car. The driveway is small so I would have thought they would be doing everything they could to get people in and out quickly but instead it seems like the staff genuinely do not care. The extent of help we were offered was to tell us there was a ramp to bring our luggage up into the hotel rather than carrying it up the stairs. This really soured our experience with the hotel from the moment we arrived and hotel management should rectify this for future guests.


The elevators as others have mentioned are incredibly slow. The only building I can recall being in with elevators this slow was a run down apartment building built in the 50s that my friends lived in while attending college.

The decor of the hallways and rooms were dated. They were not up to the standard that I expected when booking a Hilton hotel. However, the rooms were clean.

The good:
The only reason I'm giving three stars rather than two is because our rooms were upgraded each time we visited. I appreciate the upgrades but even that didn't make up for all the other flaws mentioned above.

Overall I don't think this should be a Hilton hotel. In comparison to the other Hilton hotels I've visited across North America this does not meet the standards that I think comes with the name. I would not recommend the hotel and I would not stay here again.

Room Tip: Slow elevators so perhaps avoid high rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Adam9999999999999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,852)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

110 - 114 of 3,852 reviews

Reviewed 17 September 2017

We had a great stay, great service and the location was optimal for all we had planned. $250/night seemed a little steep but we wanted the location and it was only one night. Overall, it was a clean room, lovely views and superb location (only blocks from the water).

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank cassandrad841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

Over-priced hotel a mile walk from Downtown. I arrived late, had to wait for checking and digital key did not activate online. Breakfast was ok, but made you go an extra step to get an omelette as there no was egg station.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank T8507PYanthonyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2017

Would not recommend this hotel to anyone. Overall service was not up to standard and it felt like you were a number not a guest. Room was untidy, no hot water in the shower, windows in the room were no where near clean. Upon arrival there was no assistance offered with our bags to our room and upon departure there was also no offer of assistance to move bags to our waiting car

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank colinmN6912AI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

This hotel has a lot going for it - a great front office and dining room staffs for starters. It's a beautiful, clean, modern hotel straddling China Town, North Beach, and the Financial District. It's an easy walk to Embarcadero Center offices and the Ferry Terminal. Chinatown is 1/2 block the other way. The rooms are modern and updated with good furnishings. It could get 5 stars for that.But the flaws are so glaring that it really ruins the whole experience. The room internet is hit-or-miss, hot water in the showers even off peak (weekdays at 10:30 am) comes and goes, but the elevator situation is the worst I've encountered in the US in years. Waits were routinely 5-15 minutes, but on a busy Saturday morning required roughly 1/2 hour to get to the lobby. The only insight was from a bellman who (with a full cart of luggage on a packed elevator) blamed lazy customers who couldn't walk from the 2nd and 3rd floor public areas for the delay. But on the several occasions of long waits in the lobby, the display suggested that the elevators were all hung up above the 20th floor. There are too many other alternatives -- we suggest you pass this one up.

Room Tip: Elevator challenges would suggest staying in the low floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JTworldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hilton San Francisco Union Square
Union Square
Hilton Parc 55 San Francisco
Hilton Parc 55 San Francisco
#78 of 230 in San Francisco
2,650 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Le Meridien San Francisco
Le Meridien San Francisco
#39 of 230 in San Francisco
2,113 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
5,474 reviews
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#49 of 230 in San Francisco
4,645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Francisco Financial District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Francisco Financial District

Address: 750 Kearny Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-1860
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#44 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#53 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#57 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: €126 - €362 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Francisco Financial District 4*
Number of rooms: 544
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton San Francisco Financial District soars 27 stories, offering stunning panoramic views of the city skyline and San Francisco Bay. Located in the historic center of the city, the hotel sits at the crossroads of the Financial District, Chinatown, North Beach and Nob Hill. You are just steps away from San Francisco's most popular attractions such as Alcatraz, Union Square, Fisherman's Wharf, Coit Tower, and Lombard Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton San Francisco Financial District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Francisco Financial District Hotel San Francisco
Hilton Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing