We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent service and clean but rooms could really use a face lift”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton San Francisco Financial District
Ranked #80 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 11 September 2017

Stayed here for 3 nights with my wife over a weekend in late August. We arrived late in the evening and check in was fairly quick and painless. Was expecting to be placed in a room with one double bed, but got put in a room with two instead, which I guess was a bonus. The room interior was clean with nice comfortable beds and sheets but the room decor and bathroom were very tired and dated in comparison to other Hilton hotels I have stayed in. The room had a nice view of the Coit Tower, which was unfortunately spoiled due to the the dirty external side of the windows. Another small downfall was the poor air conditioning system in the room, which was temperamental to say the list. Rooms were reasonably well insulated and we could't hear too much external noise from the city, however heard the odd emergency vehicle and occasionally a few larger boats coming into dock. The hotel is in a good location, situated in the financial district and is just about within walking distance of the main hot spots of San Francisco. The maid service was daily and you would expect to receive in a Hilton hotel. Check out was smooth and effortless and wasn't charged for the use of internet despite expecting to have to pay for it, another small bonus. All in all a comfortable clean stay in a pricey average dated hotel. The only reason for a return here would probably be because of its good central location.

Room Tip: City view/Coit Tower view is nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Daviduk87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,850)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 120 of 3,850 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2017 via mobile

I'll start with the positives... the hotel is in a great location. Financial district is right next to Union Square and China Town. Walking distance to lots of good restaurants.
The city tour buses pick up right outside which is perfect.

BUT! This is a typical big city hotel chain that has forgotten about its customers. Because of its name and location it's decided it doesn't need to try anymore. Yes, the hotel was clean and well dressed but was lacking good service and the little extras.

We are Hilton Honors members but we booked via booking.com so we get no points. We only got free wifi. No bottled water or cookie on arrival!

We were in a room on level 7 right at the end of the corridor in a corner room. This was small. There is no fridge or mini bar in the room and plug sockets are in random places. The room was also very dark with limited lighting.

We didn't eat at the hotel as there are so many good places in San Fran. But we ordered a drink one evening. It was extortionate so that was the one and only drink!

A warning.... the lifts are a nightmare. There are 4 of them, 27 floors and you wait for AGES! If you are on a low floor with no luggage then take the stairs.

When we come back I'll be looking elsewhere to stay. Probably a local hotel who remembers what service is.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Jenny B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

Having booked this Hilton for two nights, I expected the service to be great because it has the Hilton brand attached to it. However, from check in to check out, the service was very disappointing. The receptionist was not friendly or welcoming unlike all the other places we have stayed in on this American trip. We were also not helped with any of our bags and we had a lot to get up to our room. It seems like the hotel was more preoccupied with the Chinese convention it was hosting, and had too few staff around to welcome as assist us.

The rooms are decently sized and I think we were upgraded from a double to a king size, but the view wasn't the best.

I was also disappointed to find that there are no fridges in the rooms, and there was a poor choice of teas and coffees. Being British, we expect at least two English breakfast teabags in the rooms, but there was only one. As a result, I asked at the front desk after our first day if we could get some more teabags and milks. I was told it would be sent straight up. I was still waiting 20 minutes later. I called again to ask where they were. There was no apology. After more waiting, they finally arrived. But to make it worse, when we had gone to sleep, our room phone rung (so loudly!!) and it was house keeping asking if we had received them. It woke my husband up and I was not impressed. Hilton should have better service than this and should keep on track of whether they've sent things up to people's rooms. A plus point of this hotel is the access to computers in the lobby for printing boarding passes. This was much appreciated. I can't comment on the restaurants or food because we used neither. If we visit San Fran again, we will stay nearer fishermans wharf. This location was too far for walking each day and I would recommend visitors stay nearer pier 39 or further round where it is less city blocks and more residential. Such a shame Hilton - I expected a whole lot more from you.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017

Expected quite a lot more than this.

First location. It's good. Chinatown, but easy access to what we needed (we were tourists and enjoy a walk) so no complaints there.

But the hotel is very average. Rooms are just about OK. No facilities like a pool or anything to really make you go wow. So basic standard and you pay a lot for it.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Scott C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2017 via mobile

The Hilton's facilities are OK, but the hotel is made great by its very professional service. The concierge, in particular, was very helpful. My room had a good view and was well appointed. Check in was easy.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Zachary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hilton San Francisco Union Square
Union Square
Hilton Parc 55 San Francisco
Hilton Parc 55 San Francisco
#79 of 230 in San Francisco
2,642 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Le Meridien San Francisco
Le Meridien San Francisco
#39 of 230 in San Francisco
2,112 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
5,469 reviews
Financial District
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
Hyatt Regency San Francisco
#49 of 230 in San Francisco
4,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton San Francisco Financial District? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton San Francisco Financial District

Address: 750 Kearny Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-1860
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Financial District
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#44 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#53 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#57 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#58 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#60 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: €129 - €370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton San Francisco Financial District 4*
Number of rooms: 544
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton San Francisco Financial District soars 27 stories, offering stunning panoramic views of the city skyline and San Francisco Bay. Located in the historic center of the city, the hotel sits at the crossroads of the Financial District, Chinatown, North Beach and Nob Hill. You are just steps away from San Francisco's most popular attractions such as Alcatraz, Union Square, Fisherman's Wharf, Coit Tower, and Lombard Street. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hilton San Francisco Financial District reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton San Francisco Financial District Hotel San Francisco
Hilton Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Hilton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing