We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not good but not bad either”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Ranked #122 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Portsmouth, Virginia
Level Contributor
117 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Not good but not bad either”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

Let me first say that as a Priority Club memeber of Holiday Inn I stayed only one night of my scheduled 7 here. The rooms have not been updated in quite some time it seems, although the beds and linens were comfortable and clean. The room itself was in need of some updated wallpaper, curtains, and carpet. It smelled old and musty, and the glass sliding doors to the balcony were about as old as the building itself. Instead of complimentary breakfast for platinum memebers, I was told the clients preferred free drinks instead. I asked to get free breakfast, but was not able to convert, even though this particular traveller made it clear that he does not drink alcohol and prefers breakfast. A final concession was made in one complimentary breakfast for the 7 day stay. I guess it was good that I only stayed one night; here's why. At about 2 am the trash man came to pick up the hotels garbage making enough noise to hurt my ears on the 14th floor. he then returned at 3am and 4am. Shortly after the last interruption to my attempt at sleeping there was an earthquake (not attributing that to the HI) and I decided that sleep was off the menu after that. When I went to the desk to ask for a room on the other side of the building the desk manager informed me that it was equally as noisy on the front side of the building. I opted to mive to the HIE at Fisherman's Wharf where I remained for my trip (see other review).

Room Tip: Get one in front of the building!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seahawksman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI-GuestRelationMrg, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts about your recent stay. We
are sorry you did not find the room to your liking and appreciate your saying with our Holiday Inn
family. Please feel free to contact me if I can ever assist you with travel plans to San Francisco

Sincerely,
Leslie Li
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,142 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    119
    447
    392
    98
    86
See reviews for
215
311
106
276
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Amersham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 March 2012

I normally stay further towards Union Square or 4th street area, but I couldn't find a decent price and ideally wanted a pool. The HI Civic Center appeared to tick all the boxes and despite some negative reviews on here about the area being 'edgy' or 'dodgy' I decided to go ahead anyway. I'm glad I did. Access from BART was a cinch and just a couple of minutes from platform to hotel reception even laden down with luggage. Yes, there are plenty of homeless people around, but that applies to many areas of SF - and certainly anywhere on Market Street. I really didn't find it a threatening area, but everyone has their own perceptions, of course. Check-in staff were friendly and allocated me a high floor room, as requested. It also happened to be a refurbished room and really was fitted out to a good standard and was very comfortable for the 4 nights I stayed. Most, if not all, of the rooms have balconies and it was nice to be able to get some fresh air with the door open, rather than having to rely on air con. Noise from an adjacent construction site (at the time concrete being demolished) was intrusive but I quickly got used to it. The outside pool itself was clean and warm and popular - it was only let down by a slightly tatty approach across the rooftop, which needed some TLC. Housekeeper was incredibly friendly and kept room well and shop staff were helpful. Would definitely consider staying here again on my next trip.

Room Tip: High floor on opposite side to Market St
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank simonlee001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI-GuestRelationMrg, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Dear Guest,

We appreciate all your comments and are delighted to know you enjoyed our incredibly friendly

staff, well appointed rooms, balcony with fresh air and swimming pool.

We look forward to having you back with us on your next trip!

Sincerely,
Leslie Li
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
plymouth, mi
Level Contributor
121 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

This hotel is tired, worn out, old and in desperate need of a remodel. I chose it because it's a good bit less expensive than anything I could find in the Financial District and because of its proximity to the BART. It was - however - still really expensive, averaging over $200 a night.

The location - 8th & Market - was once a bustling city center. Unfortunately it's fallen onto hard times, neighboring a couple sketchy neighborhoods. There isn't much at all for restaurants - save a Burger King, Carl's/Green Burrito and a couple of diners. (I had the Korean Tacos at Sam's on Market and they were quite good actually). The proximity to the BART rail is great - right around the corner. For walking, however, consider the surroundings.

The front desk staff was friendly and accommodating. No complaints there. I moved rooms after my first night because of the construction on a neighboring skyscraper at 5:30am and they were able to do it even though they were at capacity. I got some free drink tickets and my room came with breakfast. The breakfast bar was ok. Scrambled eggs, sausage, bacon, croissants, juice, fruit, etc. Not sure what the price was (as it was included in my rate) but it was a good notch above a continental. Speaking to the need for a remodel - the coffee cups are in need of replacing, stained brown from a zillion served.

I had the opportunity to use the fitness center a couple times. It's a small room, but worked for me. A couple treadmills, cycles, steppers and a weight bench. They had a TV and towels and water. Nothing super special, but certainly good enough.

This brings me to the room. Ugh. As stated, I moved due to the construction noise. That room faced East. My new room faced West. 15 feet from my window was another hotel so 70% of my view was a big concrete wall. I could see the city to the right and it wasn't a total bummer. Noise was still an issue. Even on the 10th floor. I was awakened every night by a loud steel bang - like a steel plank covering a hole in the sidewalk was being walked over or something. This happened a few times. Street noise isn't too bad unless there's a siren or really loud truck. Room-to-room noise, however, wasn't a problem.

In general, the room just needed some attention. There were plugs in the base of the lamp - one was missing and one of them was pulled out, exposing wires. It looked ugly and was probably dangerous to a little kid. The walls were scuffed. The wireless worked ok for 3 of my 5 nights and on the other 2 I could connect but it dropped every couple minutes. Very frustrating. Under the chair in my first room was a belt. How that was missed by the cleaning crew...I can't say because I saw it 5 minutes after I checked in. There was a little plastic garbage can int the hall near my room for 2 days. It was empty...but why? How did it get there and why didn't someone take it away? There were little stains on my sheets the first night. The sheets were clean - but stained - right next to the pillow. It could be seen without even crawling in. Kinda creepy - at least put the stain at the bottom of the bed so the guest wouldn't eve know, right? Overall it seems like they just don't care that much about these things at this hotel. Let's change the sheets and towels and move on. The bathroom was ok, but one night after a workout there was no hot water. Seemed ok each morning though.

In the end, this is what I would expect from a Knights Inn, Motel 6 or EconoLodge off a freeway. You're paying $40 for a room you expect things to be a bit shady. But I expect more from a Holiday Inn in the center of a major US city. Especially when you're paying over $200/night. A little more attention to detail. I doubt I would stay here again. I'd rather be a couple more miles out and/or pay a bit more and have a better experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank adavici
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI-GuestRelationMrg, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. We value our guest’s feedback and are sorry to hear of your
recent stay. We will utilize your comments with our staff as we continuously strive to provide
quality services.

We are pleased to announce our complimentary wireless internet service has been upgraded and now offers some of the highest level hotel bandwidth available.

The area also offers multiple dining options and we are pleased to offer a local dining guide with a wide range of great San Francisco restaurant suggestions for our guests all within 4 blocks of our hotel.

Sincerely,
Leslie Li
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

Jerusalem
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

We've stayed 3 weeks in this hotel. The service wasn't remarkable, but most of the staff was helpful. The advantage of the hotel is its value- great location (at the middle of the Civic Center) for fair price, much cheaper than other places we checked. It's right near the BART's and MUNI's Civic Center stations, and you can walk almost anywhere from there.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JarAaltonen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI-GuestRelationMrg, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for staying with us and are delighted to know you enjoyed our good value for
downtown San Francisco, helpful staff and convenient location with easy access to almost
anywhere in town.

We thank you for your business and hope to welcome you back with us!

Sincerely,
Leslie Li
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quetzaltenango, Guatemala
Level Contributor
71 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2012

This was our first trip to SF, the first impression was bad because the neighborhood does not look so good. But when you identify your surrounding then you find you're close to a lot of convenient places and paying a lot less than in Union Sq. You are at walking distance to Civic Center and Market Street. BART is also close.
Staff was a mix of unfriendly and friendly people (mostly unfriendly). Rooms were clean but the bed was too hard and uncomfortable. Restaurant serves a nice buffet with good choices of food.
We rented a car to visit Sacramento but the price for parking at the hotel was very very high.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xelaju007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HI-GuestRelationMrg, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco), responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Dear Guest,

We thank you for staying with us and are glad you enjoyed our good value and convenient
location for downtown San Francisco.

We hope to have you back in San Francisco again!

Sincerely,
Leslie Li
Guest Relations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Hotel Whitcomb
Hotel Whitcomb
#184 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,890 reviews
SoMa
BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania
BEST WESTERN PLUS Americania
#133 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 991 reviews
Nob Hill
Holiday Inn San Francisco Golden Gateway
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Carriage Inn
Carriage Inn
#141 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 286 reviews
SoMa
Hampton Inn San Francisco Downtown / Convention Center
Hampton Inn San Francisco Downto...
#99 of 227 in San Francisco
3.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
SoMa
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
SOMA Park Inn - Civic Center
#163 of 227 in San Francisco
3.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)

Property: Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco)
Address: 50 8th St, San Francisco, CA 94103-1409
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #122 of 227 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco) 3.5*
Number of rooms: 388
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Civic Center Hotel is a full service hotel located in the San Francisco Performing Arts and Government District. Our hotel location is just steps from City Hall, Orpheum Theater, San Francisco Opera and Ballet, Davies Symphony Hall and Asian Art Museum. Guests at the Holiday Inn Civic Center Hotel San Francisco will enjoy our complimentary Wireless Internet access throughout the hotel, free HBO, outdoor heated pool and sundeck, fitness center, and on site laundry facilities. Drinks and dining are available at the 50onEighth Restaurant/Lounge. Major Credit Cards are required at check in. Indoor parking offered for $37 plus tax per day if driving in from either the San Francisco SFO or Oakland OAK airports or if traveling through the Bay Area and exploring the California Pacific Coast by car. Antique trolley cars provide convenient transportation to nearby Union Square, Chinatown, Moscone Convention Center, Fisherman s Wharf and Pier 39 attractions. Or catch the subway to the AT&T Ballpark, home to the San Francisco Giants baseball team. With our 100% customer satisfaction, we look forward to welcoming you to the Holiday Inn Civic Center Hotel. We hope to be your home away from home each and every time you visit the San Francisco Bay Area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Civic Center (San Francisco) Hotel San Francisco
Holiday Inn San Francisco
San Francisco Holiday Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing