We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
11 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$236
View deal
Expedia.com
US$232
View deal
Free cancellation until 20/08/22
Agoda.com
US$180
View deal
Hotels.comUS$232
PricelineUS$243
getaroom.comUS$268
View all 20 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,698)
Filter reviews
4,698 results
Traveller rating
1,603
2,004
740
233
118
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,603
2,004
740
233
118
Show reviews that mention
All reviews union square premier section great location geary street heated pool our honeymoon travel agent around the corner bottle of champagne parking garage bart station public transportation concierge city cable cars sf
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 4,698 reviews
Reviewed 19 May 2022

This is a great hotel clean, welcoming, in the heart of everything, There is a great Irish pub if you go out the back of the hotel or just around the block if you prefer to go out the front. It is right on Union Square so easy for the trams etc, would definitely stay here again.

Room tip: I would think that all the rooms are fine.
Date of stay: May 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 12 May 2022 via mobile

We arrived at the hotel 2 hours before check in, this was not a bother at all for the front desk. They checked us in and give us an upgrade to a suit wow wow wow

Pros
Great location 1 min to Union Square
Bed very comfortable
Very clean
Nice pool area
Friendly staff

Cons
Room was cold at times
Noise from traffic but that’s due to location

Would 100% stay again really enjoyed out stay

Big thank you to the staff for the birthday gift they left in the room really nice touch

Room tip: High room Ear plus
Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank markstephensonuk
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 11 May 2022 via mobile

Lovely clean room tastefully decorated. Small but did the job and obviously great location. Heated pool was a nice touch when the winds picked up too. Restaurant wasn’t open when we arrived but they gave us a 20% off voucher for Cafe Mason round the corner.

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Maps15635730319
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 9 May 2022

Great location in Union Square. Hotel did not have a restaurant but there were hundreds nearby. It did have a heated pool which we did not use. Nice view out of our window to people watch. Room was clean and well maintained. Short walk to cable cars and public transportation. Was everything we expected for a reasonable price.

Room tip: There are two buildings. We booked the premier which was very nice.
Date of stay: May 2022
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Comanderkody
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 6 May 2022

We arrived ahead of check in but were able to check into our rooms, reception staff were helpful enough and polite. We stayed in the historic rooms which appeared dated but we felt it added to the experience, the bathroom was quite small with a small dark corner shower. It was functional. A large selection of towels were available and could be changed daily if needed. Complimentary soaps and shampoos also. The beds were very comfortable and ample pillows.

The room also had a mini fridge which was very useful, hairdryer and ironing facilities. There was also a TV with a useful list of the channels available, along with coffee making facilities.

We didn't use the pool however we had a look and it was nice and the children looked to be enjoying themselves.
Whilst there was no restaurant on site we had the option to order room service from outside which we used and was very nice.

We received a voucher for breakfast from a local cafe however we did not visit here as we had recommendations of other local places we wanted to try.

The most disappointing thing was the view, if we had our curtains opened we were looking right into someone else's room.

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Katehen84
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jack Handlery, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2022

Good morning Katehen84,
Thank you for leaving us a post stay review and more importantly for staying with us! We're glad to see you enjoyed your stay and we're glad to see you got use of the amenities. Our location is also hard to beat! We hope to see you next time you are in the city. Next time you are in town, we have a number of rooms that face the street, however these are always based on availability. Please let us know when you are coming into town and we will do our best to reserve one for you. Thank you again for staying with us.
All the best,
Jack Handlery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews