We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
13 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$236
View deal
Expedia.com
US$232
View deal
Free cancellation until 20/08/22
Agoda.com
US$180
View deal
Hotels.comUS$232
Official HotelUS$243
getaroom.comUS$268
View all 20 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,698)
Filter reviews
4,698 results
Traveller rating
1,603
2,004
740
233
118
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,603
2,004
740
233
118
Show reviews that mention
All reviews union square premier section great location geary street heated pool our honeymoon travel agent around the corner bottle of champagne parking garage bart station public transportation concierge city cable cars sf
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 4,698 reviews
Reviewed 6 May 2022

We arrived ahead of check in but were able to check into our rooms, reception staff were helpful enough and polite. We stayed in the historic rooms which appeared dated but we felt it added to the experience, the bathroom was quite small with a small dark corner shower. It was functional. A large selection of towels were available and could be changed daily if needed. Complimentary soaps and shampoos also. The beds were very comfortable and ample pillows.

The room also had a mini fridge which was very useful, hairdryer and ironing facilities. There was also a TV with a useful list of the channels available, along with coffee making facilities.

We didn't use the pool however we had a look and it was nice and the children looked to be enjoying themselves.
Whilst there was no restaurant on site we had the option to order room service from outside which we used and was very nice.

We received a voucher for breakfast from a local cafe however we did not visit here as we had recommendations of other local places we wanted to try.

The most disappointing thing was the view, if we had our curtains opened we were looking right into someone else's room.

Date of stay: May 2022
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Katehen84
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jack Handlery, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2022

Good morning Katehen84,
Thank you for leaving us a post stay review and more importantly for staying with us! We're glad to see you enjoyed your stay and we're glad to see you got use of the amenities. Our location is also hard to beat! We hope to see you next time you are in the city. Next time you are in town, we have a number of rooms that face the street, however these are always based on availability. Please let us know when you are coming into town and we will do our best to reserve one for you. Thank you again for staying with us.
All the best,
Jack Handlery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2022

We had two Premier rooms (in the newer part of the hotel rather than the historic part) for four nights. Lovely large, bright rooms, immaculately clean and overlooking the pool with a little balcony.

Excellent location just off of Union Square. We arrived by BART so it was simply a three-block (five-minute) walk uphill. The area felt safe but the concierge advised Geary Street is the boundary of the less safe Tenderloin area. This did not cause us an issue, we simply took a bus or planned our walking route accordingly.

Check-in was quick and efficient. WiFi was free and reliable.

And now for the negatives...

(1) To save resources, you put the towels on the floor if you want them changed. I agree with this 100%. Unfortunately, used towels hanging on the back of the door were also taken, along with a top. We immediately advised the night reception that clothing had inadvertently been taken, but the indifferent reaction of "what am I supposed to do about it?" clouded our opinion of the hotel. The morning reception was more amiable but still unable to assist.

These things happen and it was not the end of the world, and we did not want it to spoil the start of our vacation.

(2) The pool is open 8am - 8pm. The family were eagerly waiting until 8am for a morning swim, but an inebriated group arrived back after a long night and enjoyed a noisy 6:30am swim.

(3) No food or drink is available at the hotel. The claim of "Due to COVID-19 our Food and Beverage Outlets are temporarily closed" feels unsatisfactory in April 2022 and this was the only occasion we encounter this at any of the seven hotels during our vacation.

On the whole, we were very pleased with our stay at Handlery and will certainly consider it for our next trip to the Union Square area.

Date of stay: April 2022
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tiberius_nero
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jack Handlery, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2022

Good morning tiberius_nero,
Thank you for leaving us a post stay review and staying at our San Francisco property. Our location is definitely hard to beat, especially with BART, MUNI, cable cars etc. all within a short walk. We're sorry to hear about the negatives on your trip. I will pass along you notations about the towel retrievals from the room, this should not be happening. The group swimming at the pool should not have been there, in the future if you can inform the staff of any discomforts you are experiencing we will address them asap. In regards to our restaurant, it has been quite a challenge finding a new hotel restaurant, but we hope to have this accomplished soon. We hope to see you next time you're in town, until then, stay safe and healthy.
All the best,
Jack Handlery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2022

This hotel was recommended to me by our Travel Agent & suited our budget, to be honest I genuinely didn't know what to expect and hoped it would deliver after a long flight from Dublin, Ireland.......

Literally Just returned from 10 night stay here with a family of 5 (3 kids (adults now).. 17,19 &22). Superb location bang beside Union Square literally 100 steps away.

The staff are very experienced, very helpful and polite. I also loved the fact the room was cleaned & the towels changed/beds made DAILY.

We stayed in Historic Double/Double Rooms, which were very very spacious & the beds were really comfortable.

The hotel is old in style and colour scheme, but is spotlessly clean and very very well maintained.

Would highly recommend. It was a key part of our holiday being so enjoyable.

Thank you to all at The Handlery

Date of stay: April 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank liloball
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jack Handlery, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2022

Good afternoon liloball,
Thank you for leaving us a post stay review and for staying with us! We are glad to see you enjoyed your stay and time in San Francisco. Our location is definitely hard to beat. We hope to see you next time you are in the city. Until then, stay safe and healthy!
All the best,
Jack Handlery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2022

Overall, we were really pleased with our stay. The staff was very kind and informative. It was really greatly located, with the cable cars nearby! Room looked a little older, but was nothing that bothered us! We would defiantly stay here again!

Date of stay: April 2022
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joleetha3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jack Handlery, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2022

Good afternoon joleetha3,
Thank you for leaving us a post stay review, and more importantly, thank you for staying with us! We are glad to see you enjoyed our property. We are very fortunate and grateful for the staff we have, without them our hotel would not have the impact it does. We hope to see you next time you are in the city. Until then, stay safe and healthy.
All the best,
Jack Handlery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2022 via mobile

Lovely hotel, it’s old but has been modernized. Great location just next to union square. The rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable. The hotel has an outdoor pool, fitness center, business center and sauna facilities. Just a short 6min walk to Powell station where you can get the Bart train to airport very easy and convenient. Great value for money.
Friendly staff, also appreciate the extra effort they made for us as a couple on honeymoon.

Date of stay: April 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ayshena
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Jack Handlery, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 May 2022

Good afternoon ayshena,
Thank you for leaving us a post stay review and for staying with us during your trip to SF. We are glad to see you enjoyed the property and the location. SF has plenty to offer so we hope to see you next time you are in the city. Until then, stay safe and healthy.
All the best,
Jack Handlery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews