We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Ranked #72 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 23 February 2012

The location was great, walking distance to art galleries, shopping and BART. The rooms are average and clean, the service was decent.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravellingHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Dear TravellingHK,
I appreciated that you took the time to comment about your stay at our hotel. I am pleased that overall you enjoyed your stay and found our central location perfect for your visit. We hope to have you back and thank you again for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,644 - 2,648 of 4,120 reviews

Reviewed 22 February 2012

This is a great location at a reasonable price. And even the street noise wasn't a problem. The room itself was VERY small. But the worst part was sleeping on a brick of a bed. The floor was more comfortable.......literally!!! And for that reason, unless you will not be sleeping in the bed, I can't recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank puremustard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

Stayed here over the holiday weekend and the rates were very reasonable. Rooms were nice and clean. The staff was friendly and helpful. Location is perfect. The hotel is close to everything in downtown Union Square. Would love to stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms with queen beds have a lot more space than petite rooms. Ask for an upgrade if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crclk14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Dear crclk14,
I was happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and found our location perfect for your visit to SF. We look forward to having you back from Moreno Valley soon.

Sincerely,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

This is the 2nd time I've stayed here and both times have been pleased with the location, service, and quality of the hotel. It'x centrally located to the theater district, Union Square shopping, and several options for public transportation. I use it for a good 'home base' while in the city visiting my daughter and feel that it was a good choice for the price. Since I was by myself safety is also a concern, and I felt very comfortable there. My only comments would be that their fitness room could use a bit more equipment, and also I went out for a little early morning shopping prior to the noon check-out and when I came back the maids had already started cleaning and tearing apart my room with my suitcase and other items still in the closet.

Room Tip: If you face Geary St. it can be noisy since Union Square is only 1/2 block away and the street "...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CFitzTracyCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Dear CFitzTracyCalifornia,
Thank you again for staying with us and I'm glad you found our hotel a perfect "home base" for your visit to see your daughter. I was alittle confused about your comment with regards to our housekeepers but I assume it was because they were in the room earlier than you expected. Thank you again for choosing the Handlery.

Sincerely,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Great location close to all shopping and china town. Will be back

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharks2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HandleryHotelsMgr, Owner at Handlery Union Square Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2012

Dear sharks2011,
Thank you for your recent input on your visit to our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay and we hope to have you up from the South Bay again. Thanks for choosing the Handlery.

Sincerely,
Jon S. Handlery
President, Handlery Hotels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Hotel Union Square
Hotel Union Square
#90 of 230 in San Francisco
1,903 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#31 of 230 in San Francisco
3,786 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#18 of 230 in San Francisco
5,381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hilton San Francisco Union Square
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Handlery Union Square Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Handlery Union Square Hotel

Address: 351 Geary Street, San Francisco, CA 94102-1801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#31 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#57 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#66 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: €136 - €370 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Handlery Union Square Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 377
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Handlery Union Square Hotel is located in the heart of San Francisco's Union Square, within walking distance of world class shops, the Moscone Center, and the Powell Street cable car line. All 377 rooms feature wireless Internet access, mini refrigerators, and in-room safes. Enjoy traditional accommodations in the Historic Section or luxurious, oversized rooms in the Premier Section. The hotel features on site valet parking, an outdoor heated pool, sauna, and fitness room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Handlery Union Square Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Handlery Union Square San Francisco
Hotel Handlery Union Square
Handlery Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing