We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very hospitable hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #44 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 29 July 2017

The hotel is very friendly, comfy beds, well situated. Best of all is the welcoming free wine and live music. An excellent way to meet up with fellow travelers and share experiences. Can be a tad noisy with fire engines in the early hrs but kind of expect that in a city hotel. Hotel restaurant does lovely breakfast but also lots of choice nearby.

Room Tip: 717 overlooks side rd so slightly quieter. No air con but has a ceiling fan.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jantom2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,851)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

55 - 59 of 2,851 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2017

Had a great visit at the Hotel Carlton. the hotel exceeded my expectations- there was everything there that you needed and the bed very comfortable and the room very clean and spacious with room for all my bags! The reception staff were really great -very friendly and extremely helpful and gave me really good recommendations for dinner (I ate really well on Japenese, Indonesian and at Sears restaurant as a result!). I booked two tours through the hotel and they were both great - I enjoyed them. great location for getting around town. I would definitely recommend this hotel. the décor was very characterful and I liked it! The housekeeping was excellent and the restaurant had nice food. the welcome drinks was a nice touch!
DH

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank deh436
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2017

We got a city view king room on the ninth floor. The room was pleasant - nothing fancy but nicely remodeled and clean. There is no a.c. but you can open the windows and that is perfect for San Francisco summer temperatures.

There is an ice machine on the first floor but this is a green hotel and therefore there are no vending machines. There is a restaurant onsite if you need something while they are open (had a very good caesar salad takeout from them) and a restaurant next door which we did not try. Also, there is a convenience store about a block away which has most everything.

There was one robe in the room so I requested and additional one and they delivered it in about 3 minutes. We asked about getting a mini-fridge and they immediately brought one to our room at no extra charge.

The free wifi is not secured and is pretty slow. You can upgrade to faster but we did not try this. There is a computer with a printer downstairs that you can use for a charge (which I believe is $5 for 5 minutes).

There is a wine reception every night for just a half-hour with live music but no food.

This was our first trip to San Francisco without a car and it worked out pretty well. The hotel location allows for walking to many destinations. In addition, buses have convenient schedules and you can get their real-time information via Google.

All in all, i would call this a great value.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CathyHV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

Our reservation was not ready upon arrival at the hotel. We were moved more than once to other rooms in order to accommodate our original reservation of two rooms, one of which had double beds. The room was not equipped with toiletries for more than two people when the room reservation was for three. Numerous complaints were given and there was no willingness to please the customer.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 847juliop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2017

Bad experience non-stop for two days including room service delivery, housekeeping and the worst of all - the rude bell man on my exit. Front desk offered me a bottle of wine for my room but forgot to send it. When I asked about it, they sent but it was so terrible I could not drink it. Housekeeping cleaned room close to 5pm which seemed odd. Nice way to leave with a rude bell man at the curb.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MDMNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 230 in San Francisco
5,279 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#73 of 230 in San Francisco
4,019 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Hotel Rex, a Joie de Vivre hotel
#62 of 230 in San Francisco
1,692 reviews
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#64 of 230 in San Francisco
4,780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-5817
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#23 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: €132 - €497 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hotel Carlton offers an international ambiance paired with outstanding guest service. Built in 1927, this nine-story San Francisco hotel is 3 blocks from the California Street cable car line, 6 blocks from Union Square, 8 blocks from the main entrance to Chinatown and 9 blocks from Civic Center. Complimentary evening wine receptions are held in Hotel Carlton's lobby nightly and feature live music from local artists. In addition, Hotel Carlton provides complimentary wireless internet to all guests; upgraded bandwidth is also available (surcharge applies). Recently renovated, all 161 non-smoking guestrooms at Hotel Carlton feature remodeled bathrooms including decorative floor and wall tiling, new vanities and sinks. The public spaces showcase cross-cultural design that incorporates treasures from Africa, India, Nepal, Laos and Asia. Our restaurant Saha features award-winning Arabic Fusion cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, TravelUp, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Carlton San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing