We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed my stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #47 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 8 January 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at Hotel Carlton! The front desk staff is sooo wonderful. They let us borrow an umbrella when it was raining, they always had tea to offer and would look up anything if you had questions. My 3 complaints are that at $34 a day, parking is expensive, the lady running Saha (the restaurant in the hotel) is semi crazy and the walls are pretty thin.

Besides those 3 things we really did have a wonderful stay. You can literally walk a few short blocks to Union Square, they have a nightly wine reception and play live music.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Christy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2013

Thank you for a great review! We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay, however we do apologize for any inconveniences you encountered while at the Hotel Carlton. We know parking can be a bit pricey, and you will find it is like that almost everywhere in San Francisco. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,957)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,475 - 1,479 of 2,957 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2013

I booked a 5-day stay in Dec 2012, around Christmas, via Expedia and ended up extending my stay at the property an additional 4 days (1 day at a time) because of the tremendously cordial, courteous and professional service I received at this traveler-friendly hotel from Joie de Vivre! Though the hotel didn't have all the ameneties that I would have preferred (pool, fitness center & room heater or thermostat, would've been super), the frontdesk personnel were helpful in suggesting alternatives to accomodate my desire to burn some calories - including their readiliy accessible stairs to the 9th floor & back... If you can, get a hold of Giovanni (or Roumel) for some great humor and ideas on making the most of your time in SF. BTW, as I quickly found out, there is plenty of terrain in SF on Sutter or Larkin or Hyde streets that a brisk jog or run on any one of those streets for a few minutes will help burn some calories. What's really great besides the staff was that one of the best-kept secrets in Yemeni cuisine in SF was located at the hotel - the lil' gem of a restaurant called "Saha"! Their lamb dish "Lahem Sougar" is fantastic especially when paired with one of their many great wines, and finishing your course with their dessert "Slap Ya Mama" is a great way to savor some of the best SF has to offer. They also serve breakfast at Saha and the "Yemeni Fouel" item with poached egg is a deliciously nutritious treat. The location of this hotel and the access to the MUNI, & the Powell-Hyde Cable-Cars was outstanding! You're literally within minutes of Union Square, Fisherman's Wharf, The Ferry Landing, Embarcadero Center, Golden Gate park and Ocean Beach is about half an hour to the west of the hotel by MUNI or car. This hotel turned into a "home away from home" for me in just a few days and I look forward to staying there again on my next visit.

Room Tip: If you like your rooms to be in the 70-75deg F range and you happen to stay at the hotel in the dead...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alexandre T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2013

Thank you for a great review! We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and time in San Francisco. It sounds like you were really able to take advantage of the charm that encompasses our city! We apologize if we were unable to meet all of your expectations, and hope that our service made up for it. We look forward to your return, and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

If you're looking for a nice hotel with a decent prince in San Francisco this is the choice for you, considering the average prices for hotels in San Francisco we were very satisfied with the choice. The neighborhood is good and the hotel is well-kept. There is also a garage across the block where you can park for 20$/day. The only drawbacks were the thin walls (it was easy to hear voices in the hall and the surrounding rooms, but we were lucky not to be disturbed very much), and the lack of temperature control in the room: as long as you're sleeping the temperature is perfect but otherwise a little too cool.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank f64CM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2013

Thank you for a terrific review! We are pleased to hear how much you enjoyed your stay at the Hotel Carlton. We do apologize about the noise or the temperature in your room. We have an old building, and face some challenges with that. We hope that you'll join us again soon, and we look forward to your return!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2013

This hotel is a good 3 star hotel, it is not a Hilton or Westin and it does not try to be. Theo at the check-in desk really adds to the vibe of the place. They have free wine from 5:30-6, but we did not make it there.

The rooms are pretty big and do show their age, but there are a few coats of paint to keep it looking alright. I found that the hot water was limited in the mornings and we had 2 times where our key did not work. This is a big issue that clearly needs to be fixed in my opinion. Also the walls are thin and the noise can keep you up a bit at night. We are used to staying in big cities and the noises from the outside are standard to any downtown area.

The neighbourhood has both pros and cons.

Pros: off the tourist track, good restaurants, fun bars (Upcider, Fly), within walking distance to Union Square (10-15mins).

Cons: On the edge of the worst area of San Fran, we saw a fair amount of homeless people and weirdos everytime we walked a few blocks towards the Tenderloin. No one bothered us, but it could be an issue if you had smaller children.

To get here from OAK we took the BART, you get a shuttle ($3 per person) from the airport to the station, then get the BART to Civic Center or Powell (just over $3). We then made the mistake of walking through the Tenderloin... made it out without issue but was uncomfortable.

To leave we left from SFO - we walked downhill :) through the Tenderloin again (not as bad during day, but still awkward) to Civic Center, took the BART ($8.25 per person) direct to the airport.

I would stay here again, the benefit of being away from the tourist traps but close enough to walk there is worth it alone.

Room Tip: Top floor is the best of course
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank wrldtvler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2013

Thank you for your review. We apologize if any part of your stay in San Francisco was uncomfortable. We hope that you'll enjoy it better next time, and look forward to your return. Please join us again for a bite in the Saha Restaurant, or wine tasting during our nightly reception. Please come again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2012

There is absolutely nothing wrong with this hotel. It's clean, quaint and everyone who works here is unbelievably nice and helpful. It is also and extremely green hotel. There are recycle bins in the rooms, real coffee cups and a pitcher to fill with water from a filter system in the hall.

There is a happy 'half' hour in the lobby from 5:30 to6:00pm where they pour free wine in their lobby that is filled with comfortable furniture and a fireplace.

The location is perfect. It's very centralized but in San Francisco I;m not sure that's important, It's so walkable.` There is a restaurant in the building that we had breakfast and it was wonderful. Fava bean Benedict kind of wonderful. It is always crowded at night so the food must be good.

We had a room on the 9th floor with a great city view, The elevators are small and the walk up is arduous but it's worth the "up".

Will gladly return

Room Tip: upper floors with a city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DeniseReaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel M, Manager at Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2013

Thank you for an outstanding review! We apologize if the walk up was inconvenient, and we certainly love to assist you next time. Please join us again soon at the Hotel Carlton, we would love to see you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Fisherman’s Wharf
Hotel Zephyr
Hotel Zephyr
#52 of 230 in San Francisco
2,360 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Pier 2620 Hotel Fisherman's Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#18 of 230 in San Francisco
5,358 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#72 of 230 in San Francisco
4,101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Address: 1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-5817
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: €115 - €329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hotel Carlton offers an international ambiance paired with outstanding guest service. Built in 1927, this nine-story San Francisco hotel is 3 blocks from the California Street cable car line, 6 blocks from Union Square, 8 blocks from the main entrance to Chinatown and 9 blocks from Civic Center. Complimentary evening wine receptions are held in Hotel Carlton's lobby nightly and feature live music from local artists. In addition, Hotel Carlton provides complimentary wireless internet to all guests; upgraded bandwidth is also available (surcharge applies). Recently renovated, all 161 non-smoking guestrooms at Hotel Carlton feature remodeled bathrooms including decorative floor and wall tiling, new vanities and sinks. The public spaces showcase cross-cultural design that incorporates treasures from Africa, India, Nepal, Laos and Asia. Our restaurant Saha features award-winning Arabic Fusion cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Carlton San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing