We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Ranked #45 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Chandler, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great place to stay!”
Reviewed 2 March 2012

This was a wonderful hotel - clean, centrally located, great value, close to public transportation, friendly staff, quiet rooms. The staff were so friendly and helpful and they had free wine in the lobby every afternoon.
I can't understand any of the negative comments - our stay was terrific and we will definately go there again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharonhoffman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,174
    1,128
    364
    97
    43
See reviews for
377
1,268
168
309
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 March 2012

Thia is a cool old hotel. The staff is top shelf. The rooms are cozy and the beds are very comfortable. If you like old hotels with plenty of character, you'll like this hotel.

It's also only a couple blocks from the powell street cable cars and union square.

My wife and I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kingscory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We started our tour at this hotel for one night and ended the tour with a 2 night stop here.
Found as in tours, we had an extremely good room the first time and when returned put in a much smaller room. Found Sutter Street to be about a 20-30 minute walk from the Union Square area of SF. The obvious roads to use if walking are Geary Street or OFarrell Street which are busier and probably safer. Warned on the coach about the Tenderloin area but found it amazingly easy to take the "wrong turn" and find yourself in the wrong area.
Agree that the free wine during late afternoon to be a novel attraction. Did not eat here but used a Chinese cafe up the road for breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marrowboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

We stayed at the Hotel Carlton last year as a result of a recommendation from a friend. For the price, it is fairly good value, but there was an issue with bed bugs and tatty rooms on the floor we initially stayed on, which we hope have been resolved.

The hotel itself is quirky as other reviews have commented. The decor in the lobby is nice enough and the wine tasting in the evening is a lovely touch.

Most of the staff were friendly, although we did come across far less accommodating staff on a couple of occasions.

Note that there is no air conditioning in any of the rooms, which I can see would be an issue when it is really warm, but it wasn't too bad when we were there.

The hotel has a number of floors. We would recommend that anyone that decides to book a room specifically requests a room that is not on the 4th floor for three reasons. Firstly, the room that we stayed in on the fourth floor was noisy due to the proximity to vents towards the alleyway at the back of the hotel which emit a continuous and distractingly annoying sound all through the night even with the windows closed. We did ask to move to another room on the day we arrived, but were told that there weren't any available. The gentleman at reception wasn't particularly helpful or willing to assist with our request.

Secondly, it has paper thin walls so you end up hearing literally "everything" that's going on in the adjacent room. Also, the room was pretty worn and tatty and the bathtub was old and looked filthy even if it was cleaned daily.

Thirdly, we had a bed bug issue and ended up having to switch rooms in the early hours of the morning. The guy at the front desk didn't seem particularly suprised or bothered when we came downstairs covered in bites with an actual bed bug in a plastic bottle at 3am in the morning, but the general manager was very accommodating the next day and apologised profusely.

We ended up being moved to another room on the 8th floor, which was much nicer, further away from the street noise and was generally a very pleasant room (without bed bugs!) If you get a room on this floor, I think it would be very good value.

The hotel is located close enough to Union Square and has some nice restaurants nearby. One of the more helpful receptionists recommended us to an excellent Thai restaurant nearby which we would thoroughly recommend.

We loved San Francisco and overall thought the hotel was acceptable, but do remember to go for the rooms higher up and avoid the 4th floor!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tiamariateensky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 February 2012

When hotel staff work to create a sense of community in their establishment, it becomes a genuine pleasure for the guests. At the Hotel Carlton in San Francisco, the staff were extremely helpful whenever we had questions, held a free wine tasting in the afternoons that were accompanied by music--some by college students, at least one by a talented staff member, and included guests in the comraderie they shared with each other, making guests feel a part of the community there at the hotel. There was a fine combination of professionalism and inclusion that made for a very comfortable experience for guests. It is a quaint old hotel, clean, charming, comfortable, and reasonably priced. We were within a minutes' walk to Union Square and within feet of bus stops.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank edtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#14 of 229 in San Francisco
5,232 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#91 of 229 in San Francisco
2,334 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
Stanford Court San Francisco
Stanford Court San Francisco
#60 of 229 in San Francisco
4,643 reviews
Union Square
Handlery Union Square Hotel
Handlery Union Square Hotel
#69 of 229 in San Francisco
3,961 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#15 of 229 in San Francisco
2,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel

Property: Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Address: 1075 Sutter Street, San Francisco, CA 94109-5817
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#36 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#41 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#51 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 161
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The historic Hotel Carlton offers an international ambiance paired with outstanding guest service. Built in 1927, this nine-story San Francisco hotel is 3 blocks from the California Street cable car line, 6 blocks from Union Square, 8 blocks from the main entrance to Chinatown and 9 blocks from Civic Center. Complimentary evening wine receptions are held in Hotel Carlton's lobby nightly and feature live music from local artists. In addition, Hotel Carlton provides complimentary wireless internet to all guests; upgraded bandwidth is also available (surcharge applies). Recently renovated, all 161 non-smoking guestrooms at Hotel Carlton feature remodeled bathrooms including decorative floor and wall tiling, new vanities and sinks. The public spaces showcase cross-cultural design that incorporates treasures from Africa, India, Nepal, Laos and Asia. Our restaurant Saha features award-winning Arabic Fusion cuisine. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, TravelUp, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Carlton, a Joie de Vivre hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel San Francisco
Hotel Carlton San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing