We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unacceptable living conditions for guests”
Review of Serrano Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Serrano Hotel
Ranked #95 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 14 October 2017

Unacceptable living conditions for guests. Mold, Bugs and Dirt do not make for a pleasant stay in any hotel. The room in general was in poor condition and daily cleaning consisted on replacing towels, sheets and vacuuming room - bathroom never cleaned properly. Pictures are worth a thousand words.

Room Tip: Don't let them give you a room near elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Suzanne K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,934)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

118 - 122 of 2,934 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2017

Most staff appeared to be rather distrusting but that could be attributed to the hotel's surroundings. Do avoid going west on O'Farrell street. Quaint and clean. A convenient location and price was not too exorbitant.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank N6362PTkent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearl T, Guest Relations Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

We really appreciate your comments and will be sure to share them with our team. We look forward to the possibility of welcoming you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2017

The location itself is good, close to everything a tourist needs. However, the area is super shady, full of crackheads everywhere, people literally taking their pants off and peeing in the middle of the side walk (not everyone of course, but we did see it happening so you know the kind of people that are around). The area is dirty and stinks. Not good at all.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jamile S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Quaint. Having the adjacent restaurant and bar was nice. Just on the very border of seedy area. Recommend parking a few blocks away to make it affordable. Business center printing charge is straight out of the 80's.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearl T, Guest Relations Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2017

Michael, Thank you for your review! We appreciate the nice comments as well as your helpful advice. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel the next time your travels bring you back to the city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2017

Wonderful people that helped us tremendously while displaced from the fires! Can’t thank the Serrano hotel enough!

I will recommend this hotel to everyone I know! This was not a pleasure visit. We arrived being very frightened and stressed. They have gone out of their way to make us comfortable. They have extended our stay when we had no where to go.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lisa V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Tilden Hotel
#109 of 230 in San Francisco
221 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#36 of 230 in San Francisco
618 reviews
SoMa
The Park Central San Francisco
The Park Central San Francisco
#65 of 230 in San Francisco
3,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#105 of 230 in San Francisco
1,914 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Abri
Hotel Abri
#51 of 230 in San Francisco
1,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serrano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serrano Hotel

Address: 405 Taylor St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1765
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: €122 - €661 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Serrano Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Serrano Hotel is steps away from Union Square, perfectly positioned in the Theater District of San Francisco. Our 236 rooms offer large picture windows, plush Frette bedding, mini bars, flat-panel TVs, and a variety of on-demand programming. Jasper's Corner Tap and Kitchen, located in the hotel, is open all day for a casual drink or bite to eat. Work off dinner at our fully equipped on-site fitness center featuring Precor equipment. Our hotel's focus on guest comfort and our outstanding location will ensure your stay in San Francisco will be exactly what you had in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Serrano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Serrano Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing