We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“San Fran”
Review of Serrano Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Serrano Hotel
Ranked #95 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 31 October 2009

Nice hotel to stay in - very comfie beds and clean room. No noise.

Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
Thank AnnaG9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerranoMGT, Guest Services Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2009

Dear AnaG9!

Let me also be brief. Thank you very much!

Regards,
Artem Lukinov
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,934)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,304 - 2,308 of 2,934 reviews

Reviewed 24 October 2009

Friendly hotel with clean comfortable rooms (slightly small though).
Parking is not available onsite and we had to pay $40 a day to keep the car in a local car park.
The 5-6pm wine reception is great and a good chance to meet other guests staying in the hotel.
Its located close to Union Square and the shopping district. Good transport links via bus and trams are all nearby.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimmyM32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerranoMGT, Guest Services Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2009

Dear JimmyM32,

I am glad you enjoyed our wine reception and had an opportunity to meet other guests. I do appreciate your input and hope it helps others choose our hotel for their stays.

Kind regards,
Artem Lukinov
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2009

My husband and I stayed here as part of our trip around California to celebrate his 40th birthday. It was the last hotel on our trip and was a wonderful fitting end to a fabulous trip. The communal areas of the hotel are polished and pristine. Our room was spacious and, as it was a corner room, had double aspect views to the street below. It was right in the middle of the bustle of San Francisco and had a great ambience. The concierge service was fantastic, particularly Chad who was so helpful to us with tips for places to go, travel arrangements and directions. Although there were no facilities to make hot drinks in the room, there was free coffee available each morning in the lobby - which was a nice touch.
Overall - a good quality, mid-range hotel with modern, clean rooms and friendly, helpful staff - in a good location. What more could you want?!

  • Stayed: October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsdrake77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerranoMGT, Guest Services Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2009

Dear billiegene,

We are thrilled to know that you chose the Serrano as your culmination of your 40th anniversary vacation! I will relay your comments to Chad as well. Thank you again for your kind words!

Warm regards,
Artem Lukinov
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2009

I say if you’re not on a tight budget because they take $50 from your account as some type of deposit for the mini bar. You will get it back in the next 5 business days. So if you stay 3 days it’s $150 that you can’t count on for the next 3 to 5 days.

Besides that the hotel is very gorgeous and the is service is great. You can feel that every one working there enjoys it. I can’t leave out the door man he was the best for tips and advice for your trip.

A TIP that I give is don’t pay for Valet, there is a parking station right next to the hotel Taylor Street. You pay almost 20 dollar less then valet. I did not try the restaurant it wasn’t to my fancy and also the hotel is old but it has a cozy feeling to it.

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank halcazar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerranoMGT, Guest Services Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2009

Dear halcazar!

Thank you for your tips for our future guests. It gives us pleasure to see that our guests exchange their experiences here and learn more about our hotel.

Regards,
Artem Lukinov
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2009

The Serrano is a conveniently located hotel in downtown San Francisco near the Powell St. Muni and BART station. I stayed for 4 nights and was impressed by charm and service of the hotel as well as the personnel.

Although I arrived around 12.30pm, Check-In was possible for a room located on floor 10. The room itself was small, with one bed directly located at the window and the other at the wall to the bathroom. Nevertheless the boutique style of furniture was very nice and the bed comfortable. Additionally the room was very quiet. One small anomaly: although the TV was HDTV able, the channels had only analog quality.

Furthermore the location of the hotel is great. Only a couple of blocks to the BART, Muni and Cable Car station Powell St, as well as the large Westfield shopping center. Union square is only two blocks away and another great place for shopping.

WIFI is free if you register for the loyalty program of the Kimpton Group. A restaurant is attached to the hotel but there are numerous other places to eat nearby as well.

Overall I definitely can recommend this hotel as it is centrally located, has nice clean rooms and friendly employees.

  • Stayed: October 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SerranoMGT, Guest Services Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2009

Dear martram!

Thank you very much for you wonderful review and beautiful pictures of our property. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay.

Warm regards,
Artem Lukinov
Guest Services Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Tilden Hotel
#109 of 230 in San Francisco
221 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#36 of 230 in San Francisco
618 reviews
SoMa
The Park Central San Francisco
The Park Central San Francisco
#65 of 230 in San Francisco
3,713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Union Square
Villa Florence
Villa Florence
#105 of 230 in San Francisco
1,914 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Abri
Hotel Abri
#51 of 230 in San Francisco
1,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serrano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serrano Hotel

Address: 405 Taylor St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1765
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: €126 - €652 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Serrano Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Serrano Hotel is steps away from Union Square, perfectly positioned in the Theater District of San Francisco. Our 236 rooms offer large picture windows, plush Frette bedding, mini bars, flat-panel TVs, and a variety of on-demand programming. Jasper's Corner Tap and Kitchen, located in the hotel, is open all day for a casual drink or bite to eat. Work off dinner at our fully equipped on-site fitness center featuring Precor equipment. Our hotel's focus on guest comfort and our outstanding location will ensure your stay in San Francisco will be exactly what you had in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Serrano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Serrano Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing