We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location”
Review of Serrano Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Serrano Hotel
Ranked #93 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed 12 November 2016

The staff were all very helpful and friendly, great service from all. Enjoyed our stay. I would stay again. FLocated by shopping and art galleries. Lots of restaurants and theater nearby made it a great location.

  • Stayed: October 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Leeann P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2016

Hello Leeann,
We love to give our guests the gold standard experience from the inside out. While you're here, you can count on welcoming service from our team-- and when you're out, you can count on a location within walking distance of so many SF gems! We hope your 5 stars means you'll be back soon because we'd love to have you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,953)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

957 - 961 of 2,953 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2016

Location is great, near Union Square and other major hotels where conventions frequently located. Staff was friendly and helpful. Rooms were kinda small but otherwise nice. Food at Jaspers good as clean and nice othewise.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank DoKnowHarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2016

Hello DoKnowHarm,
It's all about location in San Francisco, and we love offering one of the best when you stay at Serrano! We love to welcome wonderful guests like you-- and to offer a comfortable room, dedicated service, and a great dining option at Jasper's. We think taking a vacation should be stress-free and we hope that's exactly what it was!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016

Charges you more than what they say and not willing to remove from my credit card bill. Not acceptable at all and. Will make sure that no one books your hotel. Not worth the money at all; bad service about this

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank 118alyssak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2016

Hello 118alyssak,
It's important for vacations to go as expected, and we're truly sorry if you were unaware of our Urban Fee. We want guests to 'have it all' during their stay, and strive to provide all the amenities they might need-- like morning coffee and tea, all day flavored water in reception, morning newspaper, town car service Mon thru Fri mornings to the financial district, unlimited local calls and faxes, boarding pass printing, use of our bicycles, dry sauna and free Wi-Fi. We're looking into all booking sites to ensure they have the correct information. If there's anything else we can do, we'd welcome you to reach out to our general manager at Benjamin.Malmquist@serranohotel.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016

Walked in and thought I was going into a 4 star hotel as they listed...not even close. Not very clean, everything in rooms falling apart. Location in the ghetto. Hotel Parking...none available. Don't eat at hotel restaurant Jasper's employees hate their job. Waiters miserable. Food cold and way expensive. Not happy

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank kimberlyg885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2016

Hello kimberly,
We're truly sorry to hear about your experience and would love to speak to you personally. Would you consider contacting our general manager at Benjamin.Malmquist@serranohotel.com? As a 4-star hotel, it's very important for us to live up to that reputation. We're also sharing your feedback with our maintenance team. Keeping Serrano looking her best is one of the most important ways we can welcome guests, and we apologize for falling short during you stay. We look forward to hearing from you so we can help.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016

Excellent hotel, with excellent service, room and within walking distance to a variety of fun areas at Union Square. Wine offered each evening and breakfast at Jasper's was delicious. Very cool atmosphere.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank judithw259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Serrano Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2016

Hello Judith,
We love to make a good impression, and knowing it was '5-stars' good has made our day! Offering our guests extras like wine tasting is just one of the ways we like to thank them for choosing Serrano Hotel for their San Francisco getaway. Whether you're looking to stay in and dine at Jasper's or go out an explore the city-- we strive to make it easy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Tilden Hotel
#108 of 230 in San Francisco
222 reviews
Union Square
Warwick San Francisco
Warwick San Francisco
#36 of 230 in San Francisco
619 reviews
SoMa
The Park Central San Francisco
The Park Central San Francisco
#65 of 230 in San Francisco
3,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Financial District
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco
Union Square
Hotel Abri
Hotel Abri
#50 of 230 in San Francisco
1,878 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serrano Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serrano Hotel

Address: 405 Taylor St, San Francisco, CA 94102-1765
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#47 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: €135 - €542 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Serrano Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 236
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Serrano Hotel is steps away from Union Square, perfectly positioned in the Theater District of San Francisco. Our 236 rooms offer large picture windows, plush Frette bedding, mini bars, flat-panel TVs, and a variety of on-demand programming. Jasper's Corner Tap and Kitchen, located in the hotel, is open all day for a casual drink or bite to eat. Work off dinner at our fully equipped on-site fitness center featuring Precor equipment. Our hotel's focus on guest comfort and our outstanding location will ensure your stay in San Francisco will be exactly what you had in mind. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Serrano Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kimpton San Francisco
Serrano Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing