We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Stanford Court San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$271
US$238
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf(San Francisco)
US$301
US$219
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$294/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

San Francisco Marriott Marquis(San Francisco)
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$302
US$295
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
The Alise San Francisco - A Staypineapple Hotel(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$351
US$319
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$216
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$271/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Diva(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$261
US$227
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$450
US$364
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 21% below average rates

The price you found is 21% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$461/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$478
US$416
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$296
US$272
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$383
US$240
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$271/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (3,174)
Filter reviews
3,174 results
Traveller rating
883
1,305
600
219
167
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
883
1,305
600
219
167
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsserrano hotelunion squaretenderloinhomeless peoplewine receptionrooms are smallboutique hotelmini barcorner roomconvenient locationfew blocksking bedmarket streetaround the cornervalet parkingcable carnob hill
Filter
Updating list...
1,166 - 1,171 of 3,174 reviews
Reviewed 9 November 2016

Charges you more than what they say and not willing to remove from my credit card bill. Not acceptable at all and. Will make sure that no one books your hotel. Not worth the money at all; bad service about this

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank 118alyssak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Spero, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2016

Hello 118alyssak,
It's important for vacations to go as expected, and we're truly sorry if you were unaware of our Urban Fee. We want guests to 'have it all' during their stay, and strive to provide all the amenities they might need-- like morning coffee and tea, all day flavored water in reception, morning newspaper, town car service Mon thru Fri mornings to the financial district, unlimited local calls and faxes, boarding pass printing, use of our bicycles, dry sauna and free Wi-Fi. We're looking into all booking sites to ensure they have the correct information. If there's anything else we can do, we'd welcome you to reach out to our general manager at Benjamin.Malmquist@serranohotel.com.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016

Walked in and thought I was going into a 4 star hotel as they listed...not even close. Not very clean, everything in rooms falling apart. Location in the ghetto. Hotel Parking...none available. Don't eat at hotel restaurant Jasper's employees hate their job. Waiters miserable. Food cold and way expensive. Not happy

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank kimberlyg885
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Spero, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2016

Hello kimberly,
We're truly sorry to hear about your experience and would love to speak to you personally. Would you consider contacting our general manager at Benjamin.Malmquist@serranohotel.com? As a 4-star hotel, it's very important for us to live up to that reputation. We're also sharing your feedback with our maintenance team. Keeping Serrano looking her best is one of the most important ways we can welcome guests, and we apologize for falling short during you stay. We look forward to hearing from you so we can help.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016

Excellent hotel, with excellent service, room and within walking distance to a variety of fun areas at Union Square. Wine offered each evening and breakfast at Jasper's was delicious. Very cool atmosphere.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank judithw259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Spero, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2016

Hello Judith,
We love to make a good impression, and knowing it was '5-stars' good has made our day! Offering our guests extras like wine tasting is just one of the ways we like to thank them for choosing Serrano Hotel for their San Francisco getaway. Whether you're looking to stay in and dine at Jasper's or go out an explore the city-- we strive to make it easy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2016

Lovely old building, well preserved. Room very nice, but wished for in-room coffee, although coffee in lobby starting at 6am was really good. In-house dining was exorbitant, strange and not tasty. Walking to a different restaurant in the neighborhood after dark not recommended. Stayed there for a conference being held in same hotel, if not for that, would have chosen elsewhere.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Andrea S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Spero, responded to this reviewResponded 14 November 2016

Hello Andrea,
It doesn't get more convenient than having a room to relax in, just steps from your conference. With San Francisco favorites (and many eateries) within easy walking distance, we hope you were able to fit in some time for enjoying San Francisco too. At the heart of a vibrant city, we see people from all walks of life in the area, and our hotel team would be more than happy to help you find ways around town that would put you at ease. We're very sorry that we didn't win you over during your time here and would welcome the chance to make a better second impression!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 November 2016

I would never recommend this hote , its a high building in center but nothing els , staff is very rude , no room amenities. Very small rooms , expensive . I booked 2 rooms one myself and one for uncle , will never return

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 847musarrat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jenny K, Guest Relations Manager at Hotel Spero, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2016

Hello 847musarrat,
We're truly sorry to hear you were disappointed with your stay. People play an important part of any experience, and knowing our team fell short of offering you the friendly service we're known for is being addressed immediately. We'd love to further share our concern and welcome you to reach out to our general manager at: Benjamin.Malmquist@serranohotel.com. We want every guest to enjoy their time here and are listening carefully to your concerns.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews