We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
PricelineUS$315
Expedia.comUS$315
Hotels.comUS$315
Agoda.comUS$315
eDreamsUS$315
Orbitz.comUS$315
View all 17 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (511)
Filter reviews
511 results
Traveller rating
335
83
42
23
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
335
83
42
23
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar aesop products mid market kelly wearstler tenderloin civic center beautiful hotel hotel guests city hall boutique hotel common areas market street mini bar junior suite rooms are small enjoyed my stay neighborhood
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 511 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2020

Due to COVID my family decided to do a staycation for our daughter’s birthday in the city. We are so glad we made the right choice to pick Proper Hotel. Hotel has good COVID procedure that all guests enter have to take temp and answer questions. The front desk director coordinated the team to give us a special arrangement. Alba is so sweet to put up balloons and cake for our girl to surprise her at arrival. Diane at front desk is also very helpful and took good care to every guest at check in/out. It’s a beautiful designed hotel, we stayed at Junior Suite and it’s roomy even with the rollerway bed. I’d suggest family to book this type of room. Hotel room is comfy and clean. ASEOP products are a plus. Roof top brunch and drinks are amazingly good, I love the Japanese breakfast set. Highly recommend for anyone local wish to stay for a special occasion or guest from out town, the hotel is centrally locates and walking distance to mall and union square. Thank you Proper Team to bring us love and joy!

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank S6237NKlindas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell Bordallo, Guest Services / Front Office at San Francisco Proper Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2020

Dear S6237NKlindas,

First and foremost, thank you for staying with us at the San Francisco Proper Hotel to celebrate your daughter’s birthday. We know you have numerous options for lodging when visiting the SF area and we thank you for choosing to stay with us for such a special occasion.

Alba and Diane were overjoyed to hear your kind remarks and thank you for commending them for their efforts. We hope to welcome you back in the near future for another staycation.

Sincerely,

Russell Bordallo
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2020 via mobile

My wife and I were looking for a night away from the kids to try and relax and the Proper Hotel delivered!

First, the price was right for a quick night away... and what we got was a great value. Clean well decorated room with comfy bed, nice sheets, cool bathroom with Aesop toiletries. Very solid.

Secondly the customer service was OUTSTANDING. Every staff member we interacted with was awesome, but Big shoutout to Alba at the front desk. When we checked in our keys weren’t working... so we back downstairs to get that fixed... and we asked about switching locations because the original room had some noisy neighbors. She not only helped us find a new room, she made sure it was in a quiet area so we could get good rest.

Alba came through again for dinner! We had mistakenly booked the patio for dinner when we were hoping to go up to the rooftop bar, Charmaine’s. Opentable said it was boooed for the night, but Alba managed to get us in at a prime 8pm time slot! Saved the whole night!

Lastly, speaking of Charmaine’s... SO GOOD! A definite must do. Because of COVID, it was outdoor only but they had these huge fire pits that served as heaters too so we were perfectly comfortable. Our server, Sydney, was great... gave great recommendations and even helped get my wife a special cocktail off the menu. Drinks were A+... food was great... atmosphere was very cool.

One thing in full disclosure, the location of the hotel is not amazing. Everything around it is pretty urban... so if you are coming into the city to walk around and sight see... I would stay elsewhere. But if you are coming in to chill inside your hotel, go up to a cool rooftop bar to eat and drink... then Proper is your spot!

Date of stay: November 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank 3BSanFrancisco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell Bordallo, Guest Services / Front Office at San Francisco Proper Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2020

Dear 3BSanFrancisco,

First and foremost, thank you for staying with us at the San Francisco Proper Hotel. We know you have numerous options for lodging when visiting the SF area and we thank you for choosing to stay with us.

It is delightful to hear that you enjoyed your staycation and thank you for commending Alba and Sydney for their anticipatory service! It is wonderful reviews such as yours that inspire them to go “above and beyond” each day.

Thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback and we look forward to the opportunity to host you again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Russell Bordallo
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2020

This hotel has an amazing art collection of local artists in its lobby, well-designed and lovely rooms, and comfortable beds. The service we had was impeccable. We enjoyed room service that was efficient and tasty. Technology is superb with great wifi. We did have hair left in our shower drain which was yucky, but otherwise the room was extremely clean. Overall, and excellent hotel.

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank LauraH8109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell Bordallo, Guest Services / Front Office at San Francisco Proper Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2020

Dear LauraH8109,

First and foremost, thank you for staying with us at the San Francisco Proper Hotel. We know you have numerous options for lodging when visiting the SF area and we thank you for choosing to stay with us.

While it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay, please accept our sincerest apologies for the condition of the bathroom upon your arrival. We value all guest feedback and have addressed your concerns with our Housekeeping team.

Thank you for taking the time to share and we look forward to the opportunity to host you again soon.

Sincerely,

Russell Bordallo
Director of Front Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2020

The location of this hotel is scary. I am from Portland and very accustom to homelessness as a normal part of life. However, this hotel was in not just in a homeless area, it is in the middle of skid-row. As we arrived, our car was nearly accosted a number of times by people living on the street. We saw people actively shooting-up, and felt afraid that we were going to be mugged just while trying to get to the hotel. Shame on me for not reading the NUMEROUS other reviews prior to booking which all have described a similar experience.

We also were not accommodated by the staff in any way with vegan food options from the kitchen which was really unfortunate since we also weren't able to go outside of the hotel to find food considering the scary location. Also, we wanted to go get a drink at the patio bar/dinner spot. They required you to either purchase a dinner entrée or two appetizers to get a table - reasonable request. But then we ask if they have any vegan options available and they only have fries. My husband then asked if they would allow us to still have a table and we would just order the fries and they could take the rest of what we would ‘spend’ as a charge so that we could meet the '1 entrée or 2 appetizer requirement'.  Shockingly, they said they couldn’t and wouldn’t accommodate us!! I was stunned. This establishment set out a requirement that we spend a certain amount of money in order to have a table, we are willing to meet the requirement but we can’t because they don’t offer anything on the menu that meets our dietary restrictions, and even though we’re still willing to OVER pay for drinks and fries in order to meet the requirement, the restaurant still won’t accommodate us even though we are guests at the hotel?!? Seriously poor taste and bad customer service! 

Lastly, I was very disappointed to realize that due to the location and lack of safety around this area, we had no option but to use the valet parking at hotel. We had planned to park our car in a garage a few block away and save ourselves on some money considering the high parking rates. Unfortunately, walking back to the hotel after parking the car in our planned location was not an option so we were forced to use the valet parking at the hotel for $65/night. Considering how horrible and unsafe this area is, the hotel should definitely offer complimentary overnight parking for hotel guests!!

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank EWilkerson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell Bordallo, Guest Services / Front Office at San Francisco Proper Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2020

Dear EWilkerson,

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your stay at the San Francisco Proper Hotel. When traveling to San Francisco, we know you have numerous options for lodging and thank you for choosing to stay with us.

Please allow me to express my sincerest apologies for the challenges you experienced with the surrounding area, the Food & Beverage options, and the valet parking service during your stay. Our relationship with our guests is of paramount importance and we thank you for sharing.

The Mid-Market neighborhood is ever-changing, and we have world class cuisine, and great companies such as Dolby Laboratories, Uber, Square, Spotify and Zendesk. This is not just a centralized problem that the Mid-Market neighborhood is experiencing but more of an entire San Francisco issue. We are working tirelessly with not only the Mayor’s Office, Community Ambassadors, San Francisco Travel Association as well as the San Francisco Hotel Council on some of the issues this city is facing all over, and know that San Francisco will overcome and be a great place for all to visit at any time.

If your travels bring you back to the SF area, please reach out to me directly so I may personally overlook the details of your reservation to ensure a more pleasant stay and so you may experience the true “Proper” hospitality.

Sincerely,

Russell Bordallo
Director of Front Office
russell.bordallo@properhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2020

My first stay at the Proper was O.K. Don’t get me wrong, the interior was beautiful!! My only concerns are I had called the front desk and room service a couple times with no answer and and a piece of hair was found in my food.

Date of stay: November 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank teenapastor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Russell Bordallo, Guest Services / Front Office at San Francisco Proper Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 December 2020

Dear teenapastor,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.

If your travels bring you back to the SF area, please reach out to me directly so I may personally overlook the details of your reservation to ensure a more pleasant stay and so you may experience the true “Proper” hospitality.

Sincerely,

Russell Bordallo
Director of Front Office
russell.bordallo@properhotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews