We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Family Friendly Spring Break” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Ranked #31 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Philadelphia, PA
Level Contributor
61 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Family Friendly Spring Break”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

First stay in San Fran with kids 6 and 10. Great week in the city and the hotel Nikko made it all the more special. The club was super convienient for breakfast and afternoon snacks, pool was always refreshing and location was perfect. We upgraded on-site to a small suite and the space made all the difference with amazing views. The kids loved the tv in the mirror in the bathroom. A pleasant surprise was the delicious dinner we had at the hotel restaurant to celebrate our daughters 10th birthday. She loved the bubbles and decor, the food was great and everyone treated her like a princess. Only downside was some wear on furniture in the room, but otherwise a very memorable trip that we would love to repeat.

Room Tip: High floor offered great views and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Famo4Philly_PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikkoGal, Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Dear Famo4Philly_PA

Thank you for your very kind review of the Hotel Nikko. We are so pleased that you enjoyed the suite, the Imperial Club and ANZU Restaurant. Part of our Mission Statement is; “to provide fantastic memories for our guests”. We are delighted that the team was able to make your visit such a success and your daughter’s 10th birthday in ANZU so memorable.
By the tone of your review it seems our “Mission” was accomplished!

Please return again soon.

With warm regards,
Nikko Gal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,528 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,510
    1,366
    430
    133
    89
See reviews for
574
1,323
235
875
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (552)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, null, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2012

I stayed in Hotel Nikko for 3 nights as part of my itinerary of my honeymoon. I would say that my stay was one of the best throughout the hotels stays in the 8 states I have visited. Room was clean, service was perfect.

Though the fridge was chargeable when opened, it can be easily solved with a phonecall to the reception, in case you need to store stuff in it.

Free Wifi can be easily obtained from the starbucks downstairs. I think the Jap restaurant serves good food too, though I have not visited.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WFS_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikkoGal, Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, 10 May 2012
Dear WFS_80
Thank you for choosing our hotel as a location for your honeymoon and for reviewing us on TripAdvisor.
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay and have rated us so highly among the hotels that you visited. We hope you will make the journey again, perhaps for an anniversary?
Congratulations on your marriage and best wishes for a lifetime of happiness
Sincerely,
Nikko Gal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

3rd time stay already, and again top service, top food, top location, top amenities and bed/bath linen. Period.
Extra was that Alamo car rental is just around the corner.

Room Tip: Choose a high floor, some nice upgrade packages abvailable, one being $70 for breakfast (for 2)and f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikkoGal, Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Dear PVANHOVE
Thank you for your lovely message. We appreciate your comments and look forward to your 4th visit!
Warm regards,
Nikko Gal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012

I have stayed here many times and it is my favorite San Francisco hotel. Great location and great Japanese breakfast available.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikkoGal, Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Thank you Larry K!
We love being your favorite hotel. Please return soon.
Sincerely,
Nikko Gal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2012 via mobile

Overall visit was very good. Hotel was clean & comfortable. Concierge was great! Hotel is close to Market Street and near most everything. Wonderful town to run in! My only complaint - if you are staying at the Nikko request a floor as high as you can get. We were on the sixth floor and the road/people noise late at night was obnoxious at times! SF never sleeps it seems.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Gdonavan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NikkoGal, Marketing Coordinator at Hotel Nikko San Francisco, responded to this review, 3 May 2012
Dear Gdonovan
Thank you for the shout out about our Concierge Team. They really are wonderful and I will make sure to forward your comments on to them.
If you like to run check out the Bay to Breakers or the SF Marathon as possible races. The views are very inspiring! When you do return to SF, make sure to visit hotelnikkosf.com for the best rates.
Best regards,
Nikko Gal
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#32 of 229 in San Francisco
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,280 reviews
SoMa
InterContinental San Francisco
InterContinental San Francisco
#27 of 229 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,776 reviews
Union Square
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
#46 of 229 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#8 of 229 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,044 reviews
Union Square
The Westin St. Francis San Francisco on Union Square
Union Square
San Francisco Marriott Union Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Nikko San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Nikko San Francisco

Property: Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Address: 222 Mason Street, San Francisco, CA 94102
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#12 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#27 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#40 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#42 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Nikko San Francisco 4*
Number of rooms: 532
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the fine art of hospitality and the ultimate in personal service set in the midst of a city world-famous for its charming history and its cutting-edge style. Hotel Nikko, just steps from Union Square in the heart of San Francisco, is an ideal destination for business travel or a special getaway. Hotel Nikko offers 510 elegantly appointed rooms and 22 suites. Guests are pampered by such amenities as Subarashee Yume pillow-top beds, high-speed Internet access, large flat panel televisions, stereos and CD players. Room service is available 24 hours each day. The Imperial Club rooms on the top floors provide breathtaking views of the city and offer special features such as Vibe TV viewed through the bathroom mirrors and luxurious Subarashee Ame showers. The exclusive Imperial Club Lounge serves a light breakfast each morning, and a wine and beer reception each evening. Guests enjoy our indoor fifteen-meter heated pool and whirlpool bathed in natural light from atrium windows. Hotel Nikko also features a 10,000 square foot health club that's open 24 hours, offering the latest in cardiovascular and weight equipment as well as men's and women's steam rooms and dry saunas. Massages, including traditional Shiatsu massages, are available by appointment. Our exquisite ballroom is a stunning venue for weddings, other social events and business meetings. The hotel also offers thirteen other function room and boardrooms, all with windows for natural light and impressive views of the city and the bay. Whether you are planning a simple conference for ten or a lavish gala for eight hundred, Hotel Nikko San Francisco will do everything to ensure your event is a stirring success. The elegant and intimate Restaurant ANZU is one of San Francisco's most acclaimed dining experiences. Here, European and Japanese culinary traditions reinvent one another creating a whole new delicious gourmet culture; and guests at ANZU's exclusive Sushi Bar are treated to an incomparable menu of fresh fish. ANZU serves breakfast, lunch and dinner, and on Sunday it presents its lavish Sunday Brunch. Our full bar with its breadth of wines and cocktails, displays an exciting imagination with its extensive menu of specialty cocktails and signature sake martinis. The lobby level Kanpai Lounge offers light cuisine, a full bar, specialty martinis, an extensive wine list and unique coffee and tea drinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, TravelUp and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Nikko San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nikko San Francisco
San Francisco Nikko
Nikko Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing