We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful hotel, out of the way...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Super 8 San Francisco/Near the Marina
Ranked #158 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delightful hotel, out of the way...”
Reviewed 8 March 2012

My wife and I stayed here for a weekend in February of 2011. As another reviewer stated it is a bit of a walk to fisherman's wharf. There is public transportation on the next block over so that's not too much of a problem. I would agree with the assessment that it is closer to the Golden Gate bridge if anything. The rooms are decent sized and there is a quite a happening scene on the block next over, but not too crazy. You can definitely get a good meal, and do some decent shopping without having to venture too far out.

As for parking there are a few spaces downstairs, the layout of the hotel is almost like a garden style apartment complex where the middle of the property has parking in the bottom floor. We didnt have a car, but I believe it is first come first serve so you may have to park on the street if you lose out on a spot.

We didnt try the food or anything like that as we were out early and just caught breakfast in one of the eateries around the area.

Overall I would go back to this hotel as it is a bit away from the hustle and bustle of the city but there is enough to do where you dont feel like you are cooped up in your room at night.

Room Tip: If you have a car, make sure you are able to find a parking spot and plan on just walking or public...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nycwbyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

521 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    151
    157
    72
    69
See reviews for
134
224
33
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lexington, Kentucky, United States
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

I would like to start off by saying that we found this place charming. For the price it
was VERY charming!! Affordable and clean.
We were a bit mislead by the advertisement of it being 'close' to Fisherman's Warf. We were traveling on foot and had never been to San Fran so we soon learned that we had to walk a bit further than expected. Luckily we didn't have much luggage and the two of us are happy to discover a new city on foot! Some people have complained that there was no parking available but I know I did see some under the rooms.
I was really pleased by the location.... and actually happy that it WASN"T in the fisherman's warf area that turned out to be a bit of a tourist trap, plastic Disney land of a place! Off of Lombard St where a lot of trendy restaurants, shops, and bars that we quite enjoyed. We had two really GREAT meals close to the hotel after passing on many disappointing options in Fisherman's warf.
It would be safer to say that it is close to the GGate bridge. We had a nice stroll around the area and watched the sun go down on the bridge. Next to that there was an amazing building and Science center of some sort that we didn't get a chance to go into.
I would go back to this hotel. I read someone else go bed bugs there, but as far as have heard that can happen in a 5 star hotel just as frequently. I found it clean and cute. We enjoyed a nice continental breakfast in the morning that was very tasty!

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 December 2011

There are half the number of parking spaces than there are units. Street parking in the area is almost impossible.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Socalcouture
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2011

My husband and I stayed here at the end of September, 2011. To make a long story short, I got bed bugs. I didn't realize what it was (I don't have any prior experience with bed bugs) until I got home and did some research. I am certain they are bed bug bites (over 50 on my arms, legs and torso) and I saw bed bug feces on the mattress. I immediately started washing everything from our luggage and the clothes we were wearing and called the hotel. The workers were, how should I say, less than helpful. They told me they "monitor these things" and that "this is normal." I don't think so!!! I called almost every day for over a week trying to get ahold of the manager to get a refund, but no return call. "He's very busy...we don't know when he'll be in...what's your name again?" Nobody called me back until I filed a complaint with the chain's upper management. Then they offered me 25% off my next stay! Are you kidding me? Don't be ridiculous, I will NEVER stay with you again! After way too much effort and frustration, they only gave me a refund for one night. My husband and I have 4 small children and getting away like that happens less than rarely and that hotel ruined an otherwise enjoyable trip.

--Itchy in the city

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Maylin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these San Francisco hotels

philadelphia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2011

This hotel was very clean, except for the carpet, but who cares. That's why I always pack slippers. The sheets, pillows and bedding were abundant and very comfortable and clean. The fridge and microwave were clean. The large TV was nice. The location is a wonderful little neighborhood with shops, delis, bars and restaurants. True, it's not Fisherman's Wharf. I believe it's called the Mariana area. I stayed there for the Hardly Strictly Bluegrass Festival and mass transit to the park and other parts of the city was excellent. The lady in the lobby was very sweet and helpful with bus information. So, the little lobby smelled like Indian food. Who cares? The Indian staff probably microwaves their lunch in there. If you want a five-star hotel in an expensive city, you have to pay five-star prices, but if you want a nice, decent, clean relatively inexpensive hotel in San Fran, this Super 8 is a great deal. And once again, there were no bed bugs at all, and I'm very paranoid about that.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deeb30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Marina District
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
Days Inn San Francisco - Lombard
#162 of 229 in San Francisco
588 reviews
Marina District
La Luna Inn
La Luna Inn
#156 of 229 in San Francisco
649 reviews
Marina District
Inn at Golden Gate
Inn at Golden Gate
#142 of 229 in San Francisco
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Marina District
Lombard Plaza Motel
Lombard Plaza Motel
#130 of 229 in San Francisco
153 reviews
Marina District
Travelodge at the Presidio San Francisco
Marina District
Travel Inn
Travel Inn
#185 of 229 in San Francisco
321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Super 8 San Francisco/Near the Marina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Super 8 San Francisco/Near the Marina

Property: Super 8 San Francisco/Near the Marina
Address: 2440 Lombard St, San Francisco, CA 94123-2604
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Marina District
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #158 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€
Hotel Class:2 star — Super 8 San Francisco/Near the Marina 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 2 miles from Fisherman’s Wharf and Chinatown, this San Francisco motel offers city tour tickets at the front desk. Guest rooms include a microwave, a refrigerator and free Wi-Fi.Every room at the Super 8 San Francisco/Fisherman’s Wharf provides a flat-screen cable TV with HBO and a DVD player. Coffee makers are also available in the guest rooms at this completely non-smoking hotel.The Golden Gate Bridge is 3 miles from the San Francisco Super 8 Fisherman’s Wharf. The San Francisco International Airport is 16 miles from the motel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Super 8 San Francisco/Near the Marina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 San Francisco / Fisherman`s Wharf Hotel San Francisco
Super Eight San Francisco
Super 8 Fishermans Wharf
San Francisco Super Eight
San Francisco Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing