We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (545)
Filter reviews
545 results
Traveller rating
324
151
51
13
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
324
151
51
13
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscable carcyril magninapple tvlibrary areagreat locationunion squarefiltered waterpowell marketmodern hotelhotel doorgreat amenitieswestfield mallcentral locationgames roombigger roombart stationquiet room
Filter
Updating list...
22 - 27 of 545 reviews
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

Spent three nights in Axion hotel. Very nice city hotel with an excellent location, right next to the trolley station. Several ver good restaurants nearby, definitely recommend. Yes there are many down and ours in the area but these poor souls do you no harm

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Helen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Axiom Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Hi Helen H,

Thank you for sharing your review of your experience with us at Axiom Hotel San Francisco. We're glad you had the opportunity to explore the city from our central location and see you were able to also take advantage of the nearby dining options. The team is excited to welcome you back and wish you all the best in your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2018 via mobile

Stayed at the Axiom for a work trip.
The hotel is clean and I was happy with my room. The bed was extremely comfortable.
Staff were mostly very friendly and helpful.
The hotel is located in downtown SF and from 5am I was awake hearing the sound of bottles being collected by bin lorries. The windows did not seem to be of a high quality and could do with some sound proofing.
My other niggles about the axiom is the lack of coffee making facilities in the room. You have to wait until 6.30 to go to the mezzanine level to get a coffee and bring it back to your room which is a little inconvenient if you want one first thing.
The other niggle for me was the bathroom accessories. The shampoo etc is in a dispenser attached to the wall and the pump does not dispense properly. I wish hotels would just leave travel sized shampoo, conditioner and body wash. Glad I brought my own but shouldn’t have to.
Overall a nice hotel but with tweaks could be a lot better.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
Thank pixielala1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Axiom Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2018

Hi pixielala1,

Thank you for sharing your review of your experience with us at Axiom Hotel San Francisco. We're happy to hear that you enjoyed a comfortable experience and appreciate your comments on our attention to detail. Your additional feedback is helpful to us as we continue to move forward with updates and improvements to our hotel and we look forward to our next opportunity to serve you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018

Happened on The Axiom Hotel through Trip Advisor when planning a West Coast road trip. Stayed for 6 nights while Rugby 7's World Championship was on.

Looked too cool for school when my wife and I checked in - how wrong we were !

Asked for a quiet room - got a twin bed room on top floor. No view as such but this didn't matter - it was very comfortable and blissfully quiet. Had a good fridge and very good air con (quiet and efficient!) Had a glass of wine and a beer during happy hour at The Turn Cafe in the lobby area whilst waiting for our room - a great hip place to people watch and right opposite the Cable Car turning point.

Great staff - thanks Caroline (I hope I've got your name right) for doing the dinner reservation on our last night.

Bit disappointed at first to see no coffee machine in the room but then found out that there was free tea and coffee on the Mezzanine Floor in the mornings. Interesting concept this - it looked like a "break out area" with ad - hoc meetings going on around a big table and old arcade game machines to play on.

Close to Union Square we walked nearly everywhere, used the Muni and BART, and on the last day clung on to the cable car for a ride back from Lombard Street. Pioneer BART Station just outside with a big information Centre so incredibly convenient and central.

We loved it and would unhesitatingly stay again if in central SF.

Room Tip: Higher rooms seem quieter - ask for one away from the lifts. They may not have a view....
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Ritchie1953
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Axiom Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2018

Hi Ritchie1953,

Thank you for choosing Axiom Hotel for your accommodations during the Rugby event in the Bay Area. We appreciate your comments on the attentive service you received from our team members and see you were able to easily navigate the area from our convenient location to all of the city's public transportation options. The team is excited that you plan on staying with us in the future and we wish you all the best in your travels along the way.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018 via mobile

Was beautiful. Everyone was very friendly. The coffee shop was great. Located right where the trolley turns around. Lots of shops in the area. Only negative was parking. We ended up using valet. Would stay again.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
4  Thank sweetchrystyna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Axiom Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Hi sweetchrystyna,

Thank you for sharing your feedback of your experience with us at Axiom Hotel San Francisco. We appreciate your comments on our well appointed accommodations and excellent location, in the heart of downtown SF. The team looks forward to your return and wish you all the best in your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

No greeting on check-in so not a great start.

Room was quite stuffy but nice and clean. Didn't care much for the bathroom door which had no soundproofing and was quite difficult to close/open.

Sound proofing into the corridor pretty terrible, you could hear somewhere talking outside your room as if they were in the room, meaning we had both late night and early morning noise.

Breakfast was nice. Bar staff were confused about Happy Hour pricing but possibly new. The same with breakfast pricing - menu in bedroom didn't seem to match the menu in bar area.

Local area pretty sketchy, doors closed at 6pm due to this, but nothing to stop anyone following someone else in. Dark corridors made the place feel a little uncomfortable at night.

Personally I would stay elsewhere if in SF.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Tomby1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blake H, Guest Relations Manager at Axiom Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Hi Tomby1,

Thank you for sharing your review of your experience with us at Axiom Hotel San Francisco. We appreciate your compliments on our dining options at The Turn Cafe. However, we are concerned that you encountered some challenges during your stay and we have shared this information with the team so we may take any opportunity to improve. We hope to have the chance to serve you again in the future and wish you all the best in your travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews