We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Business Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental San Francisco
Ranked #37 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 1 March 2012

With a location a block from the Moscone Center and a couple of blocks from Union Square, this hotel is ideally located for visiting during a convention or large meeting. The rooms are great and totally functional, the gym is top notch and the service is great. This is my go to place in San Francisco.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the end wrap around rooms. If you can get one the views are out of this world
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank expeditiondaddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,992)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,948 - 1,952 of 2,992 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2012

Good hotel in good location. Worth a visit. Very helpful staff.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank D H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

I just returned from a weekend at this hotel. The hotel itself is nice in a big convention hotel sort of way. But the communication and remedy of bad situations is not good. We checked in and decided to pay for a club room. The room was small and had only a little window instead of the floor to ceiling windows advertised. We changed rooms to a regular corner room which was spectacular. But there were boxes left from the prior guest on the desk, minibar bottles missing and at 11 PM we discovered that the blackout curtains were not functioning. (not good for an east facing window!). I let management know and the boxes were removed and the curtain fixed at midnight. We barely slept that first night because the mattress felt very lumpy. The next morning I requested that the mattress be changed. They don't have any spare mattresses on this enormous property! So they removed the feather-bed and it was much better. Still, I'd expect excellent rather than mediocre mattresses at an intercontinental. The wifi didn't work, and I called to let the front desk know. There was nothing they could do.

When we checked out, we were billed for the minibar and the wifi. There were no notes about our complaints and management did nothing to make it right. I had been talking to my boyfriend earlier, assuming that the hotel would do something (buy us breakfast, apologize, or something) to make things right. He asked whether I was just trying to get something for free. I thought about it and explained that no, what I wanted was the opportunity to leave the hotel thinking good things about it instead of negative ones. When things go wrong, a hotel can make it right with small compensations that don't cost them much if anything. But this hotel did not. Not even having a record of the problems and having to bring up the minibar and internet situation at checkout was disappointing. So overall, I have to give it a poor rating for customer service and internal communication. Too bad they didn't make it right... Perhaps the hotel is too large to truly be good, let alone excellent.

Room Tip: Ask for a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank swankyhotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jengchi, Hotel Representative at InterContinental San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2012

Thank you for your valuable feedback. We sincerely regret that we did not meet your expectations during your stay with us.

We were under the impression we had resolved this issue to your satisfaction at the time it was brought to our attention. I am sorry if this is not the case. I have left you a message, and look forward to discussing the matter in more detail.

You can also contact our Director of Front Office, Bryan Del Toro at bryan.deltoro@ihg.com, if you would like to provide any additional details.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

This is a very nice property, with spacious hotel rooms and bathrooms you will never wish to leave. The decor is contemporary, which I like very much. This hotel has all the amenities one could think of: Gym (middle-of-the-road equipment), room service (on time and good) and concierge (great service). I had breakfast at their restaurant, Luce, and enjoyed one of the best egg-white omelets I've ever eaten. I had a drink at their bar...the bartender definitely knew how to make a dirty martini. The location was slightly outside of the main corridor - south of Market Street. Having said that, the hotel was still very much within walking distance of everything. I walked to North Beach and to the Ferry building - took me about 25 minutes and 20 minutes, respectively. If you're not a city dweller, the sirens could disrupt your sleep. Otherwise, I could not hear my upstairs, downstairs or next door neighbors. lastly, service was excellent with a very helpful concierge desk to a wonderful houskeeping team. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: This is not an inexpensive property...so be prepared to drop some bucks. Also, ask for a room on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CMG1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2012

Had the opportunity to stay on the top floor Club room with very nice view over the sea. Upon check-in I was promised to have a free internet during my 7-day stay but when checking out the story was a bit different. Finally hotel decided to give the internet for free as promised. Otherwise there were no problems with anything. Service was good and attentive. Room was kept clean spotlessly and staff was serving with a smile. Since staying that long time I also got a cheese platter and wine on the 4th night from the hotel management and that was nice.

Had my breakfasts usually at the club lounge which offers smaller variety of foods than the restaurant but of the same quality. Club lounge also had free wifi, beverages during the stay and staff was there to help you with dinner reservations or any other matter you might had.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#25 of 230 in San Francisco
1,324 reviews
Nob Hill
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Union Square
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
Hotel Nikko San Francisco
#34 of 230 in San Francisco
3,718 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
San Francisco Marriott Marquis
#27 of 230 in San Francisco
5,662 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 230 in San Francisco
5,370 reviews
Union Square
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
Grand Hyatt San Francisco
#38 of 230 in San Francisco
4,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental San Francisco? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental San Francisco

Address: 888 Howard Street, San Francisco, CA 94103-3011
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#22 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#24 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#28 Green Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: €121 - €608 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — InterContinental San Francisco 4.5*
Number of rooms: 550
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
InterContinental San Francisco is the Bay Area s newest upscale hotel destination. The 32-story glass tower sparkles high above the city, standing sentry over the South of Market (SoMa) area. The smoke-free hotel is convenient to everything, including the Moscone Convention Center, Union Square, Chinatown and the Powell Street Cable Car Turnaround. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental San Francisco reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental San Francisco Hotel San Francisco
San Francisco Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing