We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (626)
Filter reviews
626 results
Traveller rating
148
221
128
57
72
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
148
221
128
57
72
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great location union square china town gate complimentary breakfast sf block
Filter
Updating list...
36 - 41 of 626 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2016

The hotel was in a good location. Within easy walking distance of Union Square and Chinatown. The artwork in the room and hotel common areas was really well done.
We stayed in a room that was meant to be for 6 people. It was actually a room with two queen beds and an adjoining room with a small futon in. Honestly the futon that was barely big enough for one adult. As it was only single glazed there was a lot of noise from the street below even with the windows shut.
The room was a relatively good size and was clean and fairly well maintained. The bath/ shower area was a bit small and with the shower being in the bath which had high sides my elderly father found it difficult to get in and out of. The water pressure was OK.
The breakfast was fine. Bagels/toast, porridge, juice, coffee and fruit.
The customer service was mostly good depending on who was on the front desk.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lisa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2016 via mobile

Great location of the hotel close to downtown and all atractions of SF. Simple breakfast,cool place for dinning.Rooms were quite small,cleaness ok, it was very noisy during night since we had windows to streets.

Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
Thank 677anetab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2016 via mobile

I'm staying in the black room which is really depressing. No aircon forces you to sleep with the window open while the homeless fight and go thru the garbage in the back alley! As a bonus the breskfast is really crappy! Probably one of the bottom 5 hotels I've ever stayed at

Stayed: September 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank Henrik G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016

Very Qurcky hotel with great art in each room by different artists.Hotel is clean and our room was very quite.
Great location straight across the street from china town and the big bus company has a stop just around the corner making it great to get around.
Great stay.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tadano1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2016

My wife and I spent two nights at the Hotel des Arts and we really don't have any complaints that warrant calling attention to. As mentioned in all descriptions of the hotel, each room is designed/curated by a different artist. Our room, which after some research, seems to be labeled as the "Unabomber Room." A sorta get why people would think that because of the random bits and pieces of old electronics, books, old and ends and the large "cabin" wall appliqué, but if you ever had a friend or relative who lived in the county, this is your standard "tool shed." Don't get me wrong, we loved the room, it was super fun to go through all the stuff and explore, but we never felt creeped out. No AC in the room, though we did have an extremely small CPU-style fan that moved a surprising amount of air. Being that the outside temps didn't break the 70s during our stay, there was no need for an AC. The room was occupied mostly by a queen size bed with not a lot of floor space, a closet, a mini-fridge with mid 90's TV and a large window. A note on the window, there was NO SCREEN, but it only opens about 6" or so. Bathroom has a very small sink and tight shower stall. I'm 5'8", 165lbs and I found myself contorting a bit to get a thorough scrubbing. Wife said that the toiletries are of good quality, if that is something that you are interested in. Water pressure was fine for our 3rd floor unit. You won't get a keycard to access the building after-hours (11pm-7am) so you'll need to knock on the glass door to alert the desk clerk and present your room key with ID. Elevator is old-school open-the-door, pull-the-gate affair. WiFi is spotty or nonexistent at best (at least in our room). Overall, a decent spot downtown for those who plan to go out and explore rather than sit back and relax.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bathroom
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews