We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Japan outside of Japan” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sanraku Japanese Restaurant

Sanraku Japanese Restaurant
Ranked #62 of 5,626 Restaurants in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$0 - US$30
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Japan outside of Japan”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

Having eaten sushi in Japan before I know what I am talking about when I say this place was authentic amazing sushi. Very good service. It was a delight.

    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jwoodtlebiggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    386
    287
    66
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lake Placid, Florida
Level Contributor
95 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Sashyummi”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 February 2012

Stopped in for a late lunch as looking for a sashimi fix. Perfect place to solve that problem. Ordered sashimi lunch plate and went with chefs selections. All were extremely fresh and flavorful. The octopus was outstanding and the salmon just melted in your mouth. Great attentive service and also able prices. Have nice sushi bar seats if you're a solo also.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nealtheseal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great little sushi bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

The concierge at the hotel recommended this restaurant to me and I wasn’t disappointed. The prices were good and the fish extremely fresh! I will defiantly eat here on future trips to San Francisco. I had the eel and tuna, both were wonderful. I got lucky and was seated right away but it is a small restaurant and a lot of people had to wait 30mins or more for a table. They will take reservations and hold a spot for you if you want to wander around the area for a little bit while waiting. Defiantly recommend this great little sushi bar.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank jolowens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Casual Japanese style restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

Delicious vegetarian dish of stir-fried vegetables over rice. Seafood dishes looked appetitizing. Not an intimate place, more like a place for students.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Annabell77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
755 reviews
439 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1,404 helpful votes
“Wonderful Sushi, Great service...and would come back again”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 February 2012

Definitely the solid reviews are spot on target. My wife and I went here for dinner and it was great. It was very busy so I suggest reservations. We had some sushi as well as other non-sushi dishes and all of them were very fresh with a great presentation and very yummy. The service was very solid as well. Definitely I'd recommend this place for good Japanese food.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank saintba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sanraku Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Sanraku Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing