We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An informative, enjoyable tour - one of a kind!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cruisin' The Castro Walking Tours

Cruisin' The Castro Walking Tours
Book In Advance
More Info
US$25.00*
and up
The Castro: Historical Walking Tour of San Francisco's Gay & Lesbian District
Ranked #15 of 285 Tours in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cruisin' the Castro Walking Tours is San Francisco's premier LGBT tour company walking with PRIDE since 1989! Voted a top city tour and awarded the "Hall of Fame", by TripAdvisor! This easy, fun and fascinating 2 hour tour is the MOST comprehensive Lesbian, Gay, Bi-sexual, & Transgender cultural tour available and boasts 15 different historical sites enroute. Discover how San Francisco and the Castro neighborhood plays a crucial role in the past, present and future of LGBT civil rights in the United States. Tours are intimate, personalized and operated by a professional tour guide, local resident and LGBT community activist. No large hills to climb and public walkways are handicap accessible.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
93 reviews
48 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“An informative, enjoyable tour - one of a kind!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2012

This walking tour was excellent. Not only was it excellent value, Kathy was a great source of information wo was happy to answer all questions! Highly recommended!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank samjr_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    20
    0
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A San Francisco must-do”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

I've walked through the Castro before but there were a lot of things I didn't know about until I took this tour. Kathy was very knowledgeable and accommodating. I recommend this tour to anyone visiting or living in San Francisco. I live here and I plan to take any guests I have from out-of-state on this tour. Great experience.

Helpful?
1 Thank khatchad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Brilliant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2012

Kathy is a brilliant host who knows her district well. Great opportunity to learn about a unique part of San Francisco

Helpful?
Thank BNorthwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Moving, funny, and hugely informative.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2011

I went on this tour with my husband and several friends and we all had a terrific time. Kathy is an excellent tour guide and was thoughtful enough to contact me before the tour to make sure everything was good to go, and even make some recommendations to make my visit to San Francisco even better. Considerate, intelligent, and funny, Kathy's tour exceeded our expectations.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Gin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth the money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

Very interesting and entertaining! Kathy showed us a lot of little places you would just walk by without noticing.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cruisin' The Castro Walking Tours also viewed

 

Been to Cruisin' The Castro Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing