We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (251)
Filter reviews
251 results
Traveller rating
7
55
81
45
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
7
55
81
45
63
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 251 reviews
Reviewed 15 October 2018 via mobile

If you want basic, inexpensive and conveniently located . This motel works. While nothing to write home about, it is clean. The “breakfast” is minimal at best, and the desk staff are not very sociable. Be aware, they levy a $200 deposit, that will be refunded after they inspect your room!
There are lots of restaurants within close walking distance.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank normana53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky P, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2018

Thank you for staying with us at Surf motel. We enjoy hearing from our guests and we look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in our area!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2018

I thought this motel was cute and really liked the grounds, even if the buildings could use some updating. The bed was comfortable and I slept well. Thankfully my neighbors were quiet, otherwise it would have been a long night. My only complaint is that the bathroom floor looked like it hadn’t been swept forever and there was dust and many hairs along the edges of everything and some on the sink. The service was great, it’s morning and evening.

Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank charaudeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky P, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2018

Thank you for your review of the Surf motel. Please accept our sincere apologies for problems encountered during your stay. I have forwarded your comments to the GM and owner. Clean and comfortable rooms are a priority for us, so rooms need to be prepared and properly cleaned. Your comments are very important to us and we appreciate you taking your time to let us know where we need to focus more. Please give us another opportunity to provide sleeping accommodations the next time you are in our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018 via mobile

I just stayed for 5 nights in a family suite and after reading many negative reviews I was contemplating cancelling the booking to pay more and stay elsewhere. I’m glad I didn’t.

Our room was clean and comfortable, beds were good, water was HOT every day (you just need to follow the instructions for setting the temperature that are clearly laid out when you check in).

Breakfast room was spotlessly clean and well stocked every day. Yes there is only one table in there and if it was full we just took the breakfast back to our room - easy.

There was minimal noise from the road and from surrounding rooms. Got a car space every day with no problems and it was a short walk to tonnes of shops and restaurants.

Staff were always happy to help with any queries we had. You would constantly see a team cleaning the hotel inside and out.

Overall we were very happy with our stay and would stay here again without question.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank ljmoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky P, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 July 2018

Thank you for your review of your stay with us at Surf motel. It is a privilege to be able to serve guests such as12Cmrs34 yourself! We pride ourselves on clean and comfortable rooms at a reasonable rate Location is absolutely one of our biggest draw as we have the best around! Please stay with us again the next time you are in our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

The location is really good. Lots of restaurants on Chestnut Street & close to sights. The motel is old and tired. The carpet felt gooey, linens crummy, towels threadbare, terrible lighting. Good points was the location, free parking, fridge and decent bed. I would not stay again. SF is expensive so for the price this is considered budget. It’s ok if you really can’t afford anything else but I would look harder for a better budget accommodation.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank phillinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky P, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Thank you for your review of your stay with us at Surf motel. We are working on providing updated items in our rooms so we hope you will give us another opportunity to provide sleeping accommodations for you the next time you are in our area. We would love another chance to provide for you a great stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2018 via mobile

We arrived late because of a flightdelay. Was greeted by the man working who was very helpful and nice. Got our room, began unpacking and showering only to discover that we had bedbugs in our room... Quickly went down to tell the personel. This is Surf Motel really exceeded my expectations. We were given a temporary room right away and the following day we got a new room for the rest of our stay. The staff is really serviceminded to say the least and that's what made me enjoy the stay a little bit atleast. On the downside - there was never a clean towel, even after they cleaned our room...

Date of stay: June 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank filip l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rocky P, Guest Relations Manager at Surf Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2018

Thank you for your review of your stay with us at Surf motel. It is a privilege to be able to serve guests such as yourself! We pride ourselves on clean and comfortable rooms at a reasonable rate Location is absolutely one of our biggest draw as we have the best around! Please stay with us again the next time you are in our area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews