We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,846)
Filter reviews
1,846 results
Traveller rating
1,254
365
137
56
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,254
365
137
56
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews market street sports club equinox gym mkt restaurant health club window seat room service in room dining union square luxury hotel the ritz hotel guests concierge desk corner room fitness center beautiful hotel business hotel
Filter
Updating list...
1,443 - 1,448 of 1,846 reviews
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Always a great choice in SF. I took advantage of an upgrade offered at check-in for a small addition in cost (would have been great to get it for free) and wasn't disappointed. The suite was very nice, with great views, decor was good not great, bathroom was very good with natural light from a nice sized window. Access to the sports club la gym is a real plus. Breakfast in the hotel restaurant was outstanding. The service across the board was impressive.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSSanFrancisco, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2012

Thank you very much for your feedback and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. I am especially pleased to see that you found the service level to be outstanding. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Doug Housley
General Manager Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2012

Front desk folks consistently were extremely helpful, patient, and knowledgeable. From the front door to the concierge, we were really impressed with their professionalism. Will be back again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TwiddyandCompany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSSanFrancisco, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Thank you for your comments and especially for highlighting the service quality you received while staying with us. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.
Doug Housley
General Manager Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

Had a great stay... Front desk staff was very cheerful and helpful.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scottkel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSSanFrancisco, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2012

Thank you very much for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Doug Housley
General Manager Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2012

This hotel was fabulous. The room was amazing, lots of windows on two walls so great views of the city. The bed was so comfortable and perfect. The bathroom was huge and the amenities very nice. Wish I could have stayed longer. I can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank t d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSSanFrancisco, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

Thank you very much for you comments. We are delighted to hear that you had such a great time with us and look forward to welcome you back soon.
Doug Housley
General Manager Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

I was recently in San Francisco on business and have a matter there that will bring me back every month or so for the next year.

I stayed at the Ritz Carlton for the first few days -- I'd stayed there over a dozen times in past years so looked forward to returning. For reasons I mentioned in my not-so-flattering review of the latter, I moved to the Four Seasons and found it to be the predictable respite it has always been: high quality contemporary design, the finest materials and a discreet staff (for contrast, I criticized the Ritz Carlton staff for their "happy talk" intrusions to the point where they will interrupt your conversations with colleague to insert some vapid, memorized blather). At the Four Seasons, the staff act like adults who are there to make your stay comfortable and efficient. They are there when you need them and keep out of your way when you don't.

The public spaces are very comfortable with excellent seating areas where you can have private conversations with friends and colleagues. One complaint -- the bar/light dining area adjacent toe the restaurant was very noisy, the music so loud we had to move back to the lobby for conversation.

The rooms a very comfortable, the bathrooms large and well equipped -- but the room are the one drawback. I've found the Four Seasons chain to be among the good ones offering thoughtful, elegant contemporary design. The rooms here seem very boring, dull, lacking in any design imagination.

One negative annoyance, nothing grave but it does matter -- for $500 a night, I don't want to be charged for wireless. The Four Seasons (and the Ritz, for that matter) persist in the highly offensive habit of trying to hit you for $14.95 a day for wireless. The answer is "no" -- be sure to let the front desk know you have no intention of paying for wireless, and they'll understand. Also, the pettiness extended to the business cents,r that seemed to be metering my internet usage, printing, etc. Again, "just say no."

Otherwise, the Four Seasons persists in offering the best design, comfort and discreet service of any North American chain. And when in San Francisco, it's vastly better than the tired and confused Ritz Carlton or the Mandarin Oriental, the latter's San Francisco outpost being an exception to that chain's usually elegant hotels.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RTL212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FSSanFrancisco, General Manager at Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2012

Thank you very much for your feedback as this is the best gauge by which we can measure our success and make changes where necessary and appropriate. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and at the same time sorry that the room decor wasn't to your satisfaction. We hope that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon and thank you again for sharing your detailed comments with us.
Doug Housley
General Manager Four Seasons Hotel San Francisco

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews