We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Property” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Orchard Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Orchard Hotel
Ranked #11 of 229 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
107 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nice Property”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

We enjoyed a three-night stay here in August. We found the room to be outstanding, the customer service well above par, and the location to be ideal. We will try to stay here again when in the area. We found the lounge an ideal spot to relax in the evening.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank petarandreev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,657 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,604
    845
    153
    36
    19
See reviews for
289
1,254
168
401
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (370)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Eagle, ID
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 February 2012

This hotel is fantastic and right in the middle of it all. The staff was kind, helpful, and personable at all hours of the day or night. The rooms were spacious and the beds were comfortable.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kellie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2012

I liked the decor. The room was very comfortable. The door staff and reception were very friendly.
The tea and coffee making facilities were not sufficient. The small coffee maker worked fine, however, a tiny sachet of creamer was not enough. There were only two. I requested milk from reception. Was sent to the restaurant and was charged three dollars 50 odd for a small glass of milk. Wasnt overly impressed.

That aside, the location was fab. A cable car stop just on the next corner, the Union Sqaure shopping area, very close. China town in walking distance. Extremely comfortable bed. Bathroom was lovely.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CeCe82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2012

My stay at The Orchard was delightful, and I'd likely choose it again for my next SF visit. The room was very pleasant, fresh, and quiet, despite being in the downtown area. Bed was super comfy, and the bathroom spacious. Plush robes await in the closets. Breakfast room also very pleasant, though the service was slow (perhaps because a large group came in from outside the hotel for some celebration). Just a couple blocks from Union Square. For the environmentally conscious, you'll be pleased to find it's a "Green" hotel.

Room Tip: Chose an upper room to be sure it was quiet, given the downtown location, and it was.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JAL11_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2012

I stayed here a few days ago, as I was attending a conference in town. I agree with many of the comments made by other reviewers. Loved that this is a smaller hotel, with smaller corridors. The rooms are very nice and for the most part, clean. I found hair in the bathtub upon check-in which grossed me out. The bottom sheet on the bed is not fitted, nor is the mattress pad, so if you toss and turn even a little during the night, the bed becomes a big, uncomfortable, lumpy mess. And the sheets were very rough and scratchy. Low water pressure in the shower, and if you are taking a shower between 6 am and 8 am, don't expect hot water. The front desk staff were ok. I asked a few questions about the area and they couldn't answer my questions. The bellman/conceirge was busy most of the time playing wtih his iPhone. It was these little things when added up, led to my 3 star review, but most of these items can be fixed if management pays attention. However, the location is good and in a safe, comfortable, convenient location. And as a woman travelling alone, I felt perfectly safe going out after dark and walking down the hill to Union Square. And the trolley is only steps from the hotel on Powell St.

Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank OwensMommy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 229 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,751 reviews
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 229 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 229 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,986 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#9 of 229 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,041 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Orchard Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orchard Hotel

Property: The Orchard Hotel
Address: 665 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3510
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#11 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:4 star — The Orchard Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 104
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Orchard Hotel, where boutique elegance and eco-awareness coexist beautifully. A green hotel near Union Square in downtown San Francisco, California, our luxury boutique hotel offers outstanding service and an incomparable location. From our lovely entryway to our well-equipped meeting space, The Orchard Hotel captures the essence of style in San Francisco. At The Orchard Hotel, our distinctive boutique delivers a mix of classic charm, outstanding service and contemporary panache for both business and pleasure travelers. We are one of San Francisco's greenest hotels and one of the very first to earn the US Green Building Council's (USGBC) LEED-EB(R) (Leadership in Energy & Environmental Design) certification. Additionally, the hotel is recognized as a certified green business by the San Francisco Department of the Environment and proud sister property of California's first LEED-NC(R) certified property - the Orchard Garden Hotel. At The Orchard Hotel, green is a way of life. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Orchard Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Orchard San Francisco
Orchard Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing