We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem”

Walt Disney Family Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
US$25.00*
and up
The Walt Disney Family Museum Admission in San Francisco
More Info
US$45.00*
and up
Hop-On Hop-Off City Tour on a Classic Cable Car
More Info
US$55.00*
and up
San Francisco Golden Gate Bridge Evening Bike Tour
Ranked #15 of 546 things to do in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Walnut Creek, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I spent three hours there and it felt like three minutes! Bonus-the view of the SF Golden Gate Bridge - amazing! Keep in mind this is not a "Disney" theme park museum but a great look at Walt's family before Walt to present day.

Really worth every penny and a great way to visit the Presidio too.

I am only giving it four-out-of-five because it is hard to get to if you don't have a car, but well worth the trip. Find a way to get there!

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank CATravelBug411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,213 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,528
    527
    127
    22
    9
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“flower60713”
Reviewed 5 February 2012

it is very new to everyone. place is clean and people are very kind
you must see bathrooms either for men or women, this is truly the
extension of walt disney

Helpful?
1 Thank flower60713
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“More interesting that I would have thought”
Reviewed 2 February 2012

My friends wanted to go, and I expected just info on his movies and TV. However, a lot of the museum focused on Walt's childhood and how he managed to break into the animation business. It took a good two hours to go through it; very worth it.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank KathyLongBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“This is an excellent museum if Disney has touched any part of your life”
Reviewed 30 January 2012

I went here on a cold rainy day (I would have gone if it was sunny). having watched Disney movies as a kid and then visiting the Florida Disney parks many time in my life, this museum was a great look into Walt Disney. I highly recommend this to anyone who's life has been touched by Disney. This place will probably be more interesting for adults than for kids as its a museum, not an amusement park.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank TMSTZ12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rancho Palos Verdes, California
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Underrated!!”
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Realy interesting. Loved it I found it facscinating and wished I had more time.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank suef33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Walt Disney Family Museum also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Walt Disney Family Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing