We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
US$152
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/04/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Priceline
US$152
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/04/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Courtyard
US$160
US$149
View deal
SAVE US$11
Free cancellation until 01/05/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hotels.comUS$155
Expedia.comUS$155
Agoda.comUS$160
View all 13 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
12
13
5
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
12
13
5
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews standard courtyard window seat walk in shower front desk staff comfortable bed minute walk homeless people great hotel closet gym lobby city elevator
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 12 February 2020

I can't agree that the staff isn't helpful and polite.

Pro:
Refurbished design
Very nice lobby/lounge
Good gym

Con:
Location, full of junkies (I am 1,91 with a martial arts background) However, this is a no-go area!
No bar onsite, a dinner, closing at 11PM isn't a replacement
Huge construction/noise in front of door
You need to take your credit card with you - no connection between Mel's dinner and hotel

Date of stay: February 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank TravelerLux007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosieF-CourtyardFOM, Manager at Courtyard By Marriott San Francisco Downtown/Van Ness Ave., responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2020

Dear TravelerLux007,

Thank you so much for providing your honest feedback about your recent experience at our property.

As a Courtyard by Marriott property, we fall under the limited service category which is why we do not have some of the amenities that a full service property offers. This is however not an excuse for the unsatisfactory service that you experienced.

Upholding our commitment to guest service excellence, we hope to provide you an increased level of service in the future.​

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2020

Marriott Platinum, have travelled the world, stayed in o star to 5 stars, and this is the worst experience I have ever had.

Marriott;s brand needs protecting , Great brands are hard to build, global and great brands require unbelievable feats of customer service, attention to detail, desire to improve at every turn, create great customer experiences, deliver in the most difficult of conditions.

Which is why I cannot quite believe Marriott have given their brand to this hotel . There must be a mistake I thought, as I received yet another phone call from reception demanding money with menaces for a room that had already been paid for.

You would think that a hotel, even a 3 star one in San Francisco, would recognise its a competitive these days what with Air bn b and a general uptick in the economy

Not this hotel- no.

Think everything from surly reception, foul-smelling rooms, no housekeeping, dangerous ( and I mean dangerous like the middle of El Salvador dangerous ) neighbourhood, overcharging, laundry delivered as was left, not cleaned ( seriously) and in a plastic bag , appalling service generally , and even after multiple complaints then yes, such hotels really do exist.

It's hardto imagine how senior management from Marriott has somehow missed this place, they must have. Or maybe they choose to miss it, hoping that somehow those people who stay here are so in transition, and there for such a limited period of time, that somehow they miss the most awful customer experience you are ever likely to get, unless of course you in a war zone somewhere, but then you would not be paying $ 400,00 per night.

I want to thank the hotel for showing that despite the years, investment and toil to build a great brand, it is still possible to destroy it in minutes, and that is exactly what they managed to achieve.

Room tip: None- really. Sleep outside. In a tent.
Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank JustinFloyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyF-CourtyardGM, General Manager at Courtyard By Marriott San Francisco Downtown/Van Ness Ave., responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2020

Dear Mr. Floyd,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Courtyard San Francisco Downtown/Van Ness Ave. and for again sharing your recent stay experience with us.

We would like to apologize again for not meeting your expectations and for the list of inconveniences you've compiled. We are not normally accustomed to disappointing our guests in such ways as you've described, but we always learn from such unfortunate situations and continuously improve from guest feedback such as yours.

It was also our pleasure to have been able to extend you room credit and additional Marriott Bonvoy points for your stated troubles prior to your check-out. And we were also quite pleased that you were then able to extend another night with us. Because we definitely appreciate your business and value your loyalty to Marriott.

Once again, we sincerely thank you for trying our hotel and for sharing your comments. We certainly do hope to have another opportunity to make up for this past stay and provide an entirely more positive experience in the future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2020 via mobile

Just stayed 3 nights at this Hotel - new refurbished feels like a boutique Hotel. My room was rather spacious compared to many other places in big US cities. Location was reasonable although just off the actual downtown area. Reception staff were really kind and helpful and friendly that this is worth pointing out. One downside is the restaurant facilities which are run by a separate business and the staff there make you feel that there is no connection. Too bad as with a little improved service attitude there it could be felt as part of the Hotel.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank Jshanghai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TonyF-CourtyardGM, General Manager at Courtyard By Marriott San Francisco Downtown/Van Ness Ave., responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2020

Dear Jshanghai,

On behalf of the entire hotel team, we want to thank you for sharing your most memorable experiences with us during your recent stay at the Courtyard San Francisco Downtown/Van Ness Ave..

It is always encouraging to hear positive feedback, particularly when it comes from those who matter the most – you! By taking pride in putting people first, we are not only executing the mission of our founders, but exceeding the expectations of our valued guests.

Please note your feedback has been shared with the hotel team as a critical way of understanding how we can continue to deliver great experiences. Thank you for staying at the Courtyard San Francisco Downtown/Van Ness Ave. and we hope you choose to create more memories here whenever your travels bring you back to San Francisco.

Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2020

My husband and I planned a 5-day holiday trip to San Francisco and we wanted to select a hotel within the Marriott family that was well-located with a private parking lot. We chose the Downtown Courtyard Marriott on Van Ness and it far exceeded our expectations! The historic characteristics of the building was wonderful and we were pleased that it had retained its charm when it was recently transitioned into the Marriott family of hotels. We loved our room (#525) as it was near the end of the hall yet not too far from the elevator and close to a closeted ice machine. The room was quiet and we could not hear much street noise even though we were in the heart of the bustling City of San Francisco. There was a long easy to draw curtain that cut out the light for quality sleep. The front desk staff were always friendly and helpful when we had questions. The hotel rooms were very clean with elegant crown molding, a long window seat and a renovated bathroom with attractive glass tiles in the spacious shower. The original historic closet was deep and held a lot of luggage and clothing. The full-service restaurant located just downstairs, Mel’s Kitchen, was open until 11 pm. It was a fantastic addition to a Courtyard Marriott and we dined there several times and also brought their tasty food to our room. The gated and secured parking lot was wonderful and safe and the parking valets were very helpful. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel for a great stay in San Francisco!

Date of stay: December 2019
2  Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosieF-CourtyardFOM, Manager at Courtyard By Marriott San Francisco Downtown/Van Ness Ave., responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2020

Dear Wendy B,

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your visit. We are indeed very proud of our hotel's transformation.

Thank you also for acknowledging how great our front desk team are. Comments like yours serves as an inspiration to our team.

We look forward to serving you again when your travel brings you back to San Francisco.


Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2019 via mobile

The front desk staff are very welcoming. This is a beautiful hotel in a great location. Centrally located with easy access to downtown, the Marina, City Hall, Pacific Heights, Japantown and the Mission. Great restaurants in walking distance- Tommy’s, Brenda’s, Crustacean, Spinnerie, Swan Oyster Depot and Ruth Chris + Starbucks and Peet’s.

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled on business
2  Thank DrMAJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RosieF-CourtyardFOM, Manager at Courtyard By Marriott San Francisco Downtown/Van Ness Ave., responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2020

Greetings DrMAJones,

Thank you for staying with us and your feed back. It was our pleasure to hear your great experience with our front desk staff and the location of our hotel. We have shared your response with our staff and looking forward for your next stay here with us whenever your travel brings you back to San Francisco.



Warm Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews