We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (24)
Filter reviews
24 results
Traveller rating
21
2
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
21
2
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 24 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2011

The suite is located in a calm and friendly neighborhood. It's very colorful and nicely furnished (no victorian style!) and if you wanted to cook yourself, you'll probably have everything you need. There's a small speaker system for your iDevice (iPhone/iPod) in the living room and a small TV in the bedroom. The bathroom was quite big, but there were some leftovers (we guess) from previous guests in the drawers. Also, the hosts, Sam and Joel, are very charming and can recommend you places to see if you are interested. We reserved the top suite, but were relocated to the ground floor suite one day before our arrival (for the same price). Even though the garden was really beautiful, the suite turned out to be quite dark. During the first three mornings we always had some strangers in the alley in front of our bedroom, which, by the way, featured a moderate bed only. They were probably just workers from the neighbor house, but it was disturbing anyway. We also heard the footsteps, voices and telephones of our hosts, who live there, through the ceiling.
So in summary, we had a pleasant stay but do not agree with the praises of the other reviewers. For the price, the experience was just average.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
9  Thank oxylept
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2011

When one is traveling, and far from home, there is nothing more welcoming than a beautiful apartment to re-energize. Castro Suites is an oasis at the heart of one of the world's most beautiful cities. Centrally located, the appointments of the apartments are both comfortable and exciting. In our travels we have not seen or had a more complete kitchen....ideal for us, who love to eat at home. Our hosts are charming and generous with their hints about where to go, what to see, how to get around, etc. In a society besotted with ratings, we give Castro Suites a "perfect 10"!

ELAINE & GEORGE BEHLING

Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ELAINEBEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2011

Such a fantastic place to stay. We all loved the accomodation and couldn't have been more comfortable. In my opinion it's a perfect location too, near to all the fun of the Castro but nice and quiet at night. it's worth visiting for the spectaculr garden alone!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NicholasHorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2010

I spent an absolutely delightful two nights at Castro Suites in the beginning of October, making a weekend stop in SF after a conference in Vegas. While Sam and Joel were themselves on holiday, I did not meet them; however, our pre-visit communications resulted in my feeling I have! The upstairs quarters are a lovely 1 BR apartment with the best equipped and sized kitchen this cooking New Yorker has ever used in a flat. Photos do not serve the property well, it is decorated with style, color, and love. The building is currently for sale, but I'd love to get in one more stay before Sam and Joel take in their welcome mat.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JTGnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2010

My family of 6 have just returned home to Australia from 21/2 weeks in the US and our first 4 days were spent in San Francisco at the Castro Suites. Over the course of the holiday I continued to ask my family to rate their top 5 experiences and the Castro suites with the amazing and generous Joel and Sam consistently rated at the top. One of the many benefits of staying here is that it is in a neighborhood, so we got to experience 'real American life' as opposed to a tourist zone. Public transportation is a 2 min walk from the Castro Suites and a quick 10 mins of travel time into the middle of Fisherman's Wharf etc. It was lovely to retreat at the end of a busy day to a a quiet and relaxed oasis- there is a lush garden at the back of the property. Further, we wanted to cook dinner each evening and the kitchen was equipped with her condiment known to man. Apart from anything, we really enjoyed Joel and Sam's company and insights on life in a country that is very different to Australia and advice about how to get around, what to see etc.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank KM2Australia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews