We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,843)
Filter reviews
5,843 results
Traveller rating
3,193
2,199
386
48
17
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3,193
2,199
386
48
17
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pillow menu cable car union square rubber duck great location bath salts ceiling fan rooms are small walk in closet free coffee little touches charming hotel the heart of the city around the corner ducky rory lobby
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
71 - 76 of 5,843 reviews
Reviewed 27 September 2019

We loved this place! The location was great, the rooms were quite nice and very clean. The service was also great. We had a room on the top floor at the back of the hotel and the noise was not bad. Cable cars went by right in front, so very convenient.

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Wildcat76
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 27 September 2019

Centrally located just off Union Sq , super friendly staff , old hotel but plenty of character and decent sized rooms . if you want a base for exploring it's perfect , plenty of good spots nearby for food/drink - only drawback is lack of coffee making facilities in room

Date of stay: September 2019
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 27 September 2019

Quaint hotel with an ideal location - if your searching for 5 star resort accommodation, this won't be your choice. This hotel has old world charm - loved it! No air-conditioning and that was fine for the visit in September. Would return to this hotel on next trip to San Fran.

Room tip: Request a room with a quiet location
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank 920sharonb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 26 September 2019

Chancellor Hotel looks old on the outside but they have updated their rooms (except for the bathroom. Could use an update but it was fine). The best thing is that it is centrally located right near union square. walking distance to all shops, restaurants and transit. The BART is just a few minutes walk away for easy transport to/from SFO. The hotel does not have air conditioning but it was fine for me. There is a ceiling fan and I kept my windows open all day and while I am sleeping. the streets are relatively quiet at night - it's not like nyc where people are out to the wee hours. The hotel has complimentary apple and cookies at reception and a water filling station. Just bring your own bottle and fill up here and save $$. There's also a coffee/tea station too. All in all it was a great stay and I will definitely stay here again. Highly recommend!

Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Lynn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Reviewed 26 September 2019

We had our first San Francisco experience and I must say this hotel went above and beyond. Their staff were brilliant and offered many valuable pieces of advice, the location is bang on the middle of San Fran (right on the tram line) and you're a short walk from virtually all great spots.

Seriously consider this place. You honestly can't do wrong.

Room tip: We were in a room where the main tram traffic rolled past. Noise pollution is completely blocked closing the window. Earplugs also provided
Date of stay: September 2019
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank marshallnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
View more reviews