We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Scarlet Huntington
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Petite Auberge(San Francisco)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
White Swan Inn(San Francisco)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Hotel Mayflower(San Francisco)
View Hotel
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Biltmore Hotel(San Francisco)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
View Hotel
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Sheehan Hotel(San Francisco)
View Hotel
Average 3/5
    The Grant Hotel(San Francisco)
    View Hotel
    Good 3.5/5
    • Free Wifi
    • Breakfast included
    Reviews (1,493)
    Filter reviews
    1,493 results
    Traveller rating
    885
    427
    109
    45
    27
    Traveller type
    Time of year
    LanguageAll languages
    More languages
    885
    427
    109
    45
    27
    Show reviews that mention
    All reviewsgrace cathedralnob hillbig restaurantinfinity poolspa areapiano barcable carcalifornia streetsteam roomupgraded to a suiteunion squarean upgradeclassic hotelroom servicemark hopkinshotel guestsbeautiful hotel
    FilterAll languages
    Updating list...
    51 - 56 of 1,493 reviews
    Reviewed 11 December 2017

    I was very impressed with the large room. It was very nicely decorated and was very clean. The staff was excellent. Everyone was polite, friendly and helpful. I lucked into The Huntington by going on line. It is a super hotel and I will definitely go again. The Big 4 was booked for dinner, but we did have drinks on Saturday and breakfast there on Sunday. We enjoyed the Big 4. Thank you to all the staff that made our visit enjoyable.

    • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
      • Location
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    Thank Joseph G
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Jeroen B, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Huntington, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2017

    Dear Joseph G,

    Thank you so much for reviewing your stay with The Scarlet Huntington on TripAdvisor! We're very happy you decided to select our hotel when looking for options in San Francisco, and we're even more delighted that you would come back in the future based on your positive experience! Thank you also for visiting our restaurant and bar "Big 4". I hope you will stay with us again soon so you will be able to experience our restaurant for dinner service. We have some amazing items on our menu such as our famous Classic Chicken Pot Pie. When combined with our Napoleon Amontillado Sherry this dish is just outstanding and the reason for many of our guests to keep coming back! Thanks again for choosing The Scarlet Huntington and we're looking forward welcoming you back soon!

    Sincerely,

    Jeroen Buiks
    Front Office Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 5 December 2017

    I do think it is worth mentioning the quality of basically everything in that hotel. From the kindness of he staff to the comfortable bed, the impeccable housekeeping and the nice vibes from the live music at the restaurant. The view on San Francisco was really appreciable and the neighborhood is safe and calm. If you want to treat yourself with amazing concerts and shows the Masonic is next door!

    This is an hotel that genuinely care for its customer and I will happily book there again for my next trip.

    Thank you and keep it up like this!

    • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
      • Value
      • Location
      • Service
    Thank Alice G
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    TheScarletHuntington, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Huntington, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2017

    Dear Alice G,

    Thank you again for reaching out to us and for sharing your experience with The Scarlet Huntington on TripAdvisor! We’re very excited that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you were able to visit our restaurant and bar “Big 4”. Thanks also for acknowledging our staff for going out of their way to make your visit as pleasant as possible. We’re very fortunate calling the San Francisco Masonic Center our direct neighbor because this is an amazing venue that offers a great variety of events; from concerts to stand-up comedy and conventions. We all look forward to your next visit with us when traveling to San Francisco.

    Sincerely,

    Jeroen Buiks
    Front Office Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 4 December 2017 via mobile

    We visited San Fran for a quick weekend trip. I loved everything about the hotel from the glam decor to the chandelier. The doormen were especially friendly. Bed was super comfy and we didn’t hear much city noise. The only drawbacks: 1. The bartender in the restaurant was terrible and 2. I wish there was a mini bar in the room. At least for sodas and water.

    Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    1  Thank kschroen
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    TheScarletHuntington, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Huntington, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

    Dear kschroen,

    Thank you so much for sharing your experience with The Scarlet Huntington San Francisco on TripAdvisor! We're very excited that you loved every minute of your stay with us. Our doormen team; James, Jason and Cornelius will be very appreciative of you for recognizing them and we can't wait to share this review with them. I'm so sorry that you were not impressed with our bartender. Please contact us directly in case you like to further discuss your experience because we always strive to improve our services!

    Yours sincerely,

    Jeroen Buiks
    Front Office Manager
    (415) 345-2855

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 3 December 2017 via mobile

    My wife and I stayed here (July 2016) for conference despite discount rate offered at hotel near the Moscone. The room was a picture of perfection with the wood, rich romantic red decor, comfort and cleanliness. Great morning view. Classic breakfast in bed. Easy access stairwell up/down the tower. Love the quick (cold) stroll up & down the hill to streetcar. Much time has elapsed and other trips have been enjoyed yet my wife and I still fondly reflect about the "buisness trip" the Scarlet turned into a romantic getaway. Thank you.

    Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    Thank mredmiami
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    TheScarletHuntington, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Huntington, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

    Hello mredmiami,

    Thank you so much for choosing The Scarlet Huntington on your recent trip to San Francisco! We are very glad you decided to stay with us in Nob Hill. We’re still very close to the Moscone Conference Center, but our neighborhood has a much most secluded character that many of our guests really enjoy! We’re also very fortunate to have the famous San Francisco Cable Cars pass our hotel so our guests have easy access to Fisherman’s Wharf and Union Square. We all look forward welcoming you back soon on your next “business” trip to San Francisco.

    Sincerely,

    Jeroen Buiks
    Front Office Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    Reviewed 3 December 2017

    The Scarlet Huntington is our favorite place to stay whenever we are in San Francisco!
    From James, who greets us at the front door to Chris the Concierge the stellar staff is what makes the Huntington so special and makes us feel at home! The location at the summit of Nob Hill delivers the perfect 360 city view of the city as well as the ideal location for getting around SanFrancisco. The rooms are a fun mix of traditional and deco with all of the amenities one looks for in a highly rated boutique hotel. The Big 4 is a great venue with top flight cocktails and a piano player that will transport you back to the SF of old. The Spa is a wonderful respite from the bustle of the city. It has a calm, relaxing pool and whirlpool and men's & women's dry and steam sauna's with locker rooms. I had a therapeutic sweetish massage that was heavenly. We also enjoyed having a serene breakfast on the terrace at the spa while overlooking downtown. All of this and Ursula the amiable chauffeur who will deliver you to your destination within the city limits. What more could one ask?

    Room Tip: Ask for a park view room!
    • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
      • Value
      • Sleep Quality
      • Service
    1  Thank karenwinslow1
    This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    TheScarletHuntington, Front Office Manager at The Scarlet Huntington, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

    Hello karenwinslow1,

    Thank you so much for your amazing review of your stay at The Scarlet Huntington San Francisco! Nothing makes us happier than guests acknowledging our employees for doing a great job and I know that James, Chris and Ursula will be very excited when they learn about wonderful post! We are very fortunate to be the home-away-from-home for many loyal guests who have been staying with us for many years. It is our guests who make us who we are and they make the Scarlet Huntington such a unique hotel! Thank you also for recommending our wonderful restaurant and Bar “The Big 4” because this is truly a unique San Francisco experience. A visit to Nob Hill Spa will complete everyone’s stay as this will leave you relaxed and rejuvenated! Thanks again for your loyalty over the years and for getting to know our staff members. We wouldn’t be able to be who we are today without our extended family!

    Happy holidays from all of us at The Scarlet Huntington,

    Jeroen Buiks
    Front Office Manager

    Report response as inappropriate
    This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
    View more reviews