We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best in San Francisco”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Scarlet Huntington
Ranked #10 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2013

This Hotel had old world charm and service. The Spa is terrific and the and the Big Four Restaurant is elegant food good,the service is friendly and professional as is the rest of the staff.The Big Four Bar is busy at night and has a piano playing in the evenings.the only bad thing about this hotel is leaving.

Room Tip: Just ask the staff.This is one of the best Hotels I have stayed in anywhere. You may want to ask fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Irontree6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

876 - 880 of 1,437 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2013

A beautiful old building with special details that offer wonderful atmosphere. It was disappointing that our room had a sink, cupboards and fridge but no coffee/tea making facilities were provided. The bed was wonderfully comfortable. The concierge and staff were very friendly and helpful. Great location.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AustraliaMonty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2013

My wife and I have stayed at the Huntington for several successive anniversary trips. Joan at the front desk upgraded us (again) to a large Deluxe room on the 10th floor with an amazing 180 degree view of the city and the Bay. The art and furnishings look fresh and new. The staff is all great -- kudos to the concierge for finding us a table at the Burritt Tavern and the great doorman who is incredibly friendly and funny.

Room Tip: We like the light and bright corner rooms looking south.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lawyer47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2013

Like many of the hotels on Nob Hill, The Huntington Hotel is lush with vintage details. From the mail shoot by the elevators to the carved wood details in the lobby. We had a room facing Taylor St and could see the Cathedral at an angle. Not a spectacular view, but it didn't bother us and this position kept the street noise out of our room. The room was spacious around a King bed and the bathroom was beautiful with marble tiles and glass/mirror accents. With the exception of the reception staff, everyone was more than eager to please and assist. The Doorman was friendly and exceptionally prompt with service. The room service was swift and not pushy. Housekeeping came early or late, which only caused a problem one day, but they were efficient and had an attention to details. One member of the maintenance staff was exceptionally helpful when we came upon him in the hallway, recommending places to go in the city, things to do and see, adding a real personal touch to our stay. Don't get me wrong, the desk staff was not bad. They were all just a bit curt and overly businesslike. Not nearly as friendly as the rest of the staff--eager to push us along and away, even though there were no other guests in the vicinity. Overall we were extremely pleased with our stay and the location of the hotel. Just a short walk to Union Square and Chinatown, and a 10 minue cab ride to anything else in the city. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 February 2013

Stayed here with 2 other colleagues from 1/30 to 2/3. When we checked in 2 of us got older rooms which were completely unacceptable. I had seen reviews where people had mentioned that some rooms were renovated and some were not. When we called we were switched to the newer rooms and I got a jr suite which had a sitting area. The new room was very nice except for the awful mattress. I could literally hear and feel the springs in the bed. Wasnt bad enough to complain and move again about but I would expect better from a 5 star hotel. This is an older hotel but the newer rooms are nice and the staff and service are excellent. The location was super convenient. Few minutes walk to Union Sq, 10 min cab ride everywhere else we needed to go. I would consider staying again if I got a renovated room from the start and had a better mattress.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Nathan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntingtonHotelSF, Public Relations Manager at The Scarlet Huntington, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2013

Dear Nathan P,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit with us. I'm sorry to hear that your first room didn't meet your needs, but I'm glad that the second room was more to your liking. I'll speak with our Housekeeping Department about the issues with the mattress that you encountered so we can fix that problem for future guests. Please note that we will be undergoing renovations later this year, so many of our more traditional rooms will be updated. I'm pleased that you were impressed with our staff's excellent level of service, as we really do pride ourselves on that. We do hope that upon your next visit to San Francisco that you'll give us the chance to improve your impression of us so we can become your 'go to' hotel in the city. Wishing you happy and safe future travels...

Cheers,
Kellie

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#29 of 230 in San Francisco
3,458 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
5,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#26 of 230 in San Francisco
1,367 reviews
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Nob Hill
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scarlet Huntington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Huntington

Address: 1075 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-2251
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#15 Family Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: €188 - €514 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Scarlet Huntington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to spark the imagination and provide an adventure for the senses, the much beloved and newly renovated Huntington Hotel re-emerges in May 2014 from a $15 million renovation as The Scarlet Huntington. The Scarlet Huntington builds upon the property's original charm, graciousness and exceptionally high standards while introducing locals and visitors to a unique and avant-garde style that is influenced by a vibrant Singapore Peranakan heritage woven together with the opulence of San Francisco. More than just a name, The Scarlet possesses a distinguished charm and charismatic aura, likened to a gracious hostess who indulges guests with a luxurious stay experience. Providing a warm ad familiar welcome, the iconic red of the former Huntington Hotel's exterior - as displayed in the brick facade and illuminated sign high atop the hotel - will permeate the new aesthetic, representing the hotel's heritage while embracing the passion and allure defined by The Scarlet; offering uninhibited luxury to every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Scarlet Huntington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Huntington Hotel & Nob Hill San Francisco
The Huntington Hotel And Nob Hill Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing