We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Scarlet Huntington
Ranked #10 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 October 2012

Wonderful hotel with a great location on Nob Hill. Wonderful park right across the street. Very quiet hotel with an attentive staff. We had a large suite with bar area. Nice cozy bar for drinks. Would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milltravel59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

915 - 919 of 1,439 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2012

We just returned from a two night stay at this little gem. We stayed in a regular room which was small, but comfortable. There was a desk, and also two club chairs with a table between them, so if you wanted to spend time in your room or needed to work from your room, you could easily manage comfortably. Everything was new including the carpet, bedding and bathroom. Housekeeping did a wonderful job, bathroom linens & products were very nice and they even had turn down service with a couple of nice chocolates! The bed and linens were as comfortable as any hotel I've stayed in! The bar was packed with people enjoying the piano music and the staff could not have been more helpful and friendly! We will definitely go back there next time we stay in the city!

Room Tip: We traveled with a group of 5 and had 3 rooms on the 3rd floor (307-309) and all of us had newly rem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bizybee52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntingtonHotelSF, Public Relations Manager at The Scarlet Huntington, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2012

Dear Bizybee52,

Thank you for your detailed review of your recent stay with us -- we're thrilled that you thoroughly enjoyed your visit! We always strive to make our guests feel as comfortable as possible, from our service to the furnishings in the guest rooms. I'll be sure to share your comments with our staff...including your note about staying with us the next time you're in San Francisco! We look forward to it. Until then, we wish you safe and happy travels.

Sincerely,

Kellie Samson
Public Relations Manager
Huntington Hotel & Nob Hill Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2012

I stayed at the Huntington because it was close to my work assignment. I had the usual trip in, and was tired and pretty grumpy. Room was nice, large, plenty of space to work and FREE internet (I HATE staying at expensive "luxury hotels" and paying for internet, when I don't have to pay extra to use the lights, the air conditioning, and other utilities). However, it was the next morning that really showed the professional level of management at the hotel: I was served EXACTLY what I wanted, indicating I was in a rush. It arrived perfectly, a big, hot pot of tea, warmed milk for the tea, perfect eggs, and perfect toast. The server was wraith-like in his service, putting down and clearing things without fuss or noise. The rest of the hotel was also very well-run, with my car appearing in a few minutes, as if by magic, the staff knowledgeable and competent, business-like, and kind. The perfect business-person's hotel!!

Room Tip: Be specific about your requirements: quiet room, office space, view, etc. and the staff will do thei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viehalterin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights in October 2012. Overall, the hotel didn't quite measure up to our expectations, resp. to its status as a "Small Luxury Hotel of the World". The reception was kind of snippy; they just checked us into our room very quickly without giving us any explanations on the hotel or even saying welcome (the concierge on the other hand was very friendly and helped us with all our requests). As for the room, it was a tad on the shabby side (again, measured against the expectations that one might have based on the hotel category and price). We had heard that you have to be lucky to get one of the newer rooms here, so maybe it was just bad luck that we ended up in one that looked clearly dated (for what it's worth, we were in room number 707). Bathroom was nice, but pretty small. The spa is nice, but nothing out of the ordinary. One great thing is the hotel's location.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kloddz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntingtonHotelSF, Public Relations Manager at The Scarlet Huntington, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Dear Kloddz,

Greetings from the Huntington Hotel! Thank you for your recent stay with us and for taking the time to write a review. I'm sorry to hear that you weren't happy with your accommodations during your visit, and we apologize that we weren't able to meet your expectations. Our goal is to always make our guests feel that the Huntington Hotel is their home away from home. Rest assured that we will address your service concerns with the appropriate staff so we can ensure that our guests feel welcomed from the moment they arrive at the Huntington. I’ll be sure to pass along your positive comments to our Concierge – thank you for sharing that with us. Regarding your guest room, we are pleased to note that plans are underway for refurbishments in the near future. Please be assured that we take all feedback very seriously, and we do look forward to another opportunity to be of service to you the next time your travels bring you to San Francisco.

Sincerely,
Kellie Samson
Public Relations Manager
Huntington Hotel & Nob Hill Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2012

My husband & I, along with his son, decided to stay up on Nob Hill for a change. Love the area! We booked a suite on this visit. As we walked in, we were greeted with a warm welcome by the Staff. As we entered our suite, it felt like home. Everything was comfortable & clean! There is some newness around the hotel & in the suite; yet, there is a classic feel to it which we like. We were in San Francisco for a few days, I did not have the free time to try out their Spa; but I will on our next visit. Love the location! The California & Van Ness Cable car goes by frequently; Grace Cathedral is nearby; and across the street is Huntington Park. What an ideal location! Close to Union Square and the shopping. We walked down (carefully) to our favorite restaurants. The Huntington Hotel offers car service during the day. I needed to pick up my Hermes scarf from the nearest Peninou French Laundry & Cleaners. The driver asked if she could wait for us while I picked up my scarf. Of course, we said "Yes, please!" I joined some friends for breakfast one morning in The Big 4. That classic feel remains in the restaurant with the oil paintings, full portraits of the 4 famous tycoons, leather chairs and fire place. We enjoyed staying at the Huntington Hotel & Spa. The service was impeccable; and the
Staff were friendly and most helpful. I could not help notice that their awards were posted outside on their building; one from Preferred and an award for being a small luxury hotel. Well deserved. We will return!

Room Tip: Spend the extra on a suite, you will be happier and more comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fromkahului
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#29 of 230 in San Francisco
3,476 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#2 of 230 in San Francisco
5,479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Nob Hill
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
SoMa
Palace Hotel
Palace Hotel
#27 of 230 in San Francisco
1,370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scarlet Huntington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Huntington

Address: 1075 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-2251
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#8 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: €190 - €537 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Scarlet Huntington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to spark the imagination and provide an adventure for the senses, the much beloved and newly renovated Huntington Hotel re-emerges in May 2014 from a $15 million renovation as The Scarlet Huntington. The Scarlet Huntington builds upon the property's original charm, graciousness and exceptionally high standards while introducing locals and visitors to a unique and avant-garde style that is influenced by a vibrant Singapore Peranakan heritage woven together with the opulence of San Francisco. More than just a name, The Scarlet possesses a distinguished charm and charismatic aura, likened to a gracious hostess who indulges guests with a luxurious stay experience. Providing a warm ad familiar welcome, the iconic red of the former Huntington Hotel's exterior - as displayed in the brick facade and illuminated sign high atop the hotel - will permeate the new aesthetic, representing the hotel's heritage while embracing the passion and allure defined by The Scarlet; offering uninhibited luxury to every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Scarlet Huntington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Huntington Hotel & Nob Hill San Francisco
The Huntington Hotel And Nob Hill Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing