We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$391
US$275
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Stanford Court San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$294
US$261
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
US$275
US$248
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$294/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

The Alise San Francisco - A Staypineapple Hotel(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$351
US$319
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Hotel Zoe Fisherman's Wharf(San Francisco)
US$324
US$237
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$285/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$470
US$386
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$436/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$309
US$207
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 40% below average rates

The price you found is 40% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$346/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Diva(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$255
US$227
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$296
US$272
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$446
US$403
Cancelon
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,545)
Filter reviews
1,545 results
Traveller rating
928
434
111
45
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
928
434
111
45
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrace cathedralnob hillbig restaurantinfinity poolspa facilitiespiano barcable carsteam roomcalifornia streetupgraded to a suiteunion squareclassic hotelan upgraderoom serviceone bedroom suitemark hopkinshotel guests
Filter
Updating list...
1,014 - 1,019 of 1,545 reviews
Reviewed 17 October 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Huntington Hotel. The best thing I can say about it is: it's nice. Nice in that the people are friendly and on top of everything (even room service which I think a lot of hotels struggle with), but our room was very dated - clean, but dated. Paint peeling in the bathroom - bathroom generally from another era (cracks in the tub, small sink basin, hair dryer in the wall etc...), I'm 5'4 and the shower was even too low for me. The wet bar looks to be from the 50's. The bed was comfortable and the couch was a nice option. Appreciated the bathrobes too.

All in all a fine place to stay, but don't expect to be wow'd by the rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrixNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntingtonHotelSF, Public Relations Manager at The Scarlet Huntington, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

Hello BrixNewYork,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Huntington. I'm pleased to hear that you were impressed with our level of service, but sorry to hear that you were not happy with your room. I'll be sure to address the issue of the paint in the bathroom with our maintenance staff straight away. Renovation plans are currently in the works for the hotel, and as such, we do hope that you'll consider staying with us again the next time you visit San Francisco. We would love another chance to wow you!

Wishing you safe and happy future travels...

Cheers,
Kellie Samson
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012 via mobile

My visit to San Fran is incomplete if I don't make a trip to the Day Spa in the Nob Hill Huntington Hotel. A great massage or pedicure, a facial or some other treatment is always great. The view is magnificent and I swim in the infinity pool or hang out by the fireplace or in the Zen Room. After full day of meetings, this is the perfect evening to unwind and reflect. So, I took a friend last night from 6-9 pm, ordered tonics and watched the sunset and caught up. This was her first time here, so we chatted a lot and swam in the infinity pool and the hot tub, then enjoyed the eucalyptus wet sauna and enjoyed our warm bathrobes and spa slippers by the fireplace. Cozy and great service.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KontessaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

I've stayed at the Huntington 7 times already, I tried many different rooms, and each time it's like returing home. Most of the staff have been there for years, everyone is very friendly, the rooms & bathrooms are large and well equipped (the only things that are missing for my taste are the minibar and separate shower). The relaxation pool and spa are spotless and very quiet, and the views are great whatever floor you're staying on (either the square and Grace Cathedral, or the city - you're on the top of Nob Hill, remember).
Walking up Nob Hill will efficiently replace a work out session and will give you a good conscience after eating a half a cheesecake. If you're looking for a modern hotel you will be disappointed, but if you are looking for character, elegance and caring service, this is the place!

Room Tip: Higher floor on the square side or, for first timers, city view (impressive when it's not too foggy!)
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntingtonHotelSF, Public Relations Manager at The Scarlet Huntington, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

Dear Thomas B,
Thank you for being such a loyal Huntington Hotel guest! We're so happy to hear you mention that 'each time it's like returning home', since that is exactly the way we want our guests to feel. When we read a review like yours, we realize that our staff is doing their best to create a warm and welcoming environment for our guests. We appreciate you taking the time to review us, and we hope to see you again soon!

Cheers,
Kellie Samson
Public Relations Manager
Huntington Hotel & Nob Hill Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Stayed for three days in Sept. and did have some reservations when reading past reviews of tired rooms, etc. Our room--910---was a junior suite that we were upgraded to thru the American Express Platinum Card Fine Hotels and Resorts Program and it was gorgeous!!! Very large, newly refurbished in a modern style with a king-sized bed and large marble bathroom with sinks in a separate area from tub/shower and commode. We find this setup extremely convenient for two people trying to get ready simultaneously in the a.m. or for dinner. There was also a small refrigerator, large desk and two closets with ample space. As others have stated, the staff here is excellent. The personalized service that is offered makes most guests feel very comfortable and at home. Yes the location is up a very steep hill---walking down to the Union Square area was no problem and even though walking back up was a challenge, taxis were plentiful and we never had a problem going to or from the hotel. The small park across the street was very restful after a long day of shopping and/or touring and the entertainment provided by the dogs and their owners was great. The pool area and spa are lovely but due to lack of time, we did not avail ourselves of any services. We did, however, manage to avail ourselves of the services of the lovely bar area and spent a very enjoyable evening listening to the piano and having dinner. San Francisco is one city that never disappoints---as many times as we have been there, we always seem to find something new to discover. The Huntington Hotel did not disappoint, either. If you are looking for a quiet, charming, well -cared for establishment with very personalized service, you would be well served to stay here. We were provided breakfast daily thru our AMEX program and the service and quality of food were excellent.

Room Tip: Spend the extra $$$$ for a junior suite---you won't be sorry.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skygoddess46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2012

Stayed here on a Bloomspot prepaid coupon promotion. Lots of history and in a great area at the top of Nob Hill and close to cable cars. Rooms are enormous as it was an old apartment building although a little tired. Restaurant bar great for drinks and bar snacks with a great piano player most evenings. All in all, a good value and a great stay.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArtfromMaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntingtonHotelSF, Public Relations Manager at The Scarlet Huntington, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2012

Dear artfrommaui,

Thank you for reviewing your recent stay with us, and we appreciate that you took the time to do so! We're glad that you enjoyed your visit -- from the historical aspect of the hotel, to our large rooms, to our wonderful piano player in the Big 4 bar, Michael. He does a terrific job of adding a special element to the classic ambiance of the Big 4. We look forward to welcoming you back home to the Huntington upon your next visit to San Francisco. Cheers!

Sincerely,
Kellie Samson
Public Relations Manager
Huntington Hotel & Nob Hill Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews