We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Award for Small Luxury Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Scarlet Huntington
Ranked #8 of 231 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 October 2012

My husband & I, along with his son, decided to stay up on Nob Hill for a change. Love the area! We booked a suite on this visit. As we walked in, we were greeted with a warm welcome by the Staff. As we entered our suite, it felt like home. Everything was comfortable & clean! There is some newness around the hotel & in the suite; yet, there is a classic feel to it which we like. We were in San Francisco for a few days, I did not have the free time to try out their Spa; but I will on our next visit. Love the location! The California & Van Ness Cable car goes by frequently; Grace Cathedral is nearby; and across the street is Huntington Park. What an ideal location! Close to Union Square and the shopping. We walked down (carefully) to our favorite restaurants. The Huntington Hotel offers car service during the day. I needed to pick up my Hermes scarf from the nearest Peninou French Laundry & Cleaners. The driver asked if she could wait for us while I picked up my scarf. Of course, we said "Yes, please!" I joined some friends for breakfast one morning in The Big 4. That classic feel remains in the restaurant with the oil paintings, full portraits of the 4 famous tycoons, leather chairs and fire place. We enjoyed staying at the Huntington Hotel & Spa. The service was impeccable; and the
Staff were friendly and most helpful. I could not help notice that their awards were posted outside on their building; one from Preferred and an award for being a small luxury hotel. Well deserved. We will return!

Room Tip: Spend the extra on a suite, you will be happier and more comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fromkahului
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,468)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

944 - 948 of 1,468 reviews

Reviewed 17 October 2012

My husband and I recently stayed at the Huntington Hotel. The best thing I can say about it is: it's nice. Nice in that the people are friendly and on top of everything (even room service which I think a lot of hotels struggle with), but our room was very dated - clean, but dated. Paint peeling in the bathroom - bathroom generally from another era (cracks in the tub, small sink basin, hair dryer in the wall etc...), I'm 5'4 and the shower was even too low for me. The wet bar looks to be from the 50's. The bed was comfortable and the couch was a nice option. Appreciated the bathrobes too.

All in all a fine place to stay, but don't expect to be wow'd by the rooms.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrixNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntingtonHotelSF, Public Relations Manager at The Scarlet Huntington, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

Hello BrixNewYork,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to the Huntington. I'm pleased to hear that you were impressed with our level of service, but sorry to hear that you were not happy with your room. I'll be sure to address the issue of the paint in the bathroom with our maintenance staff straight away. Renovation plans are currently in the works for the hotel, and as such, we do hope that you'll consider staying with us again the next time you visit San Francisco. We would love another chance to wow you!

Wishing you safe and happy future travels...

Cheers,
Kellie Samson
Public Relations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2012 via mobile

My visit to San Fran is incomplete if I don't make a trip to the Day Spa in the Nob Hill Huntington Hotel. A great massage or pedicure, a facial or some other treatment is always great. The view is magnificent and I swim in the infinity pool or hang out by the fireplace or in the Zen Room. After full day of meetings, this is the perfect evening to unwind and reflect. So, I took a friend last night from 6-9 pm, ordered tonics and watched the sunset and caught up. This was her first time here, so we chatted a lot and swam in the infinity pool and the hot tub, then enjoyed the eucalyptus wet sauna and enjoyed our warm bathrobes and spa slippers by the fireplace. Cozy and great service.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KontessaT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2012

I've stayed at the Huntington 7 times already, I tried many different rooms, and each time it's like returing home. Most of the staff have been there for years, everyone is very friendly, the rooms & bathrooms are large and well equipped (the only things that are missing for my taste are the minibar and separate shower). The relaxation pool and spa are spotless and very quiet, and the views are great whatever floor you're staying on (either the square and Grace Cathedral, or the city - you're on the top of Nob Hill, remember).
Walking up Nob Hill will efficiently replace a work out session and will give you a good conscience after eating a half a cheesecake. If you're looking for a modern hotel you will be disappointed, but if you are looking for character, elegance and caring service, this is the place!

Room Tip: Higher floor on the square side or, for first timers, city view (impressive when it's not too fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thomas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HuntingtonHotelSF, Public Relations Manager at The Scarlet Huntington, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

Dear Thomas B,
Thank you for being such a loyal Huntington Hotel guest! We're so happy to hear you mention that 'each time it's like returning home', since that is exactly the way we want our guests to feel. When we read a review like yours, we realize that our staff is doing their best to create a warm and welcoming environment for our guests. We appreciate you taking the time to review us, and we hope to see you again soon!

Cheers,
Kellie Samson
Public Relations Manager
Huntington Hotel & Nob Hill Spa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Stayed for three days in Sept. and did have some reservations when reading past reviews of tired rooms, etc. Our room--910---was a junior suite that we were upgraded to thru the American Express Platinum Card Fine Hotels and Resorts Program and it was gorgeous!!! Very large, newly refurbished in a modern style with a king-sized bed and large marble bathroom with sinks in a separate area from tub/shower and commode. We find this setup extremely convenient for two people trying to get ready simultaneously in the a.m. or for dinner. There was also a small refrigerator, large desk and two closets with ample space. As others have stated, the staff here is excellent. The personalized service that is offered makes most guests feel very comfortable and at home. Yes the location is up a very steep hill---walking down to the Union Square area was no problem and even though walking back up was a challenge, taxis were plentiful and we never had a problem going to or from the hotel. The small park across the street was very restful after a long day of shopping and/or touring and the entertainment provided by the dogs and their owners was great. The pool area and spa are lovely but due to lack of time, we did not avail ourselves of any services. We did, however, manage to avail ourselves of the services of the lovely bar area and spent a very enjoyable evening listening to the piano and having dinner. San Francisco is one city that never disappoints---as many times as we have been there, we always seem to find something new to discover. The Huntington Hotel did not disappoint, either. If you are looking for a quiet, charming, well -cared for establishment with very personalized service, you would be well served to stay here. We were provided breakfast daily thru our AMEX program and the service and quality of food were excellent.

Room Tip: Spend the extra $$$$ for a junior suite---you won't be sorry.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank skygoddess46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Nob Hill
Fairmont San Francisco
Fairmont San Francisco
#32 of 231 in San Francisco
3,626 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 231 in San Francisco
5,579 reviews
The Alise - A Staypineapple Hote...
#17 of 231 in San Francisco
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fisherman’s Wharf
Argonaut Hotel, A Noble House Hotel
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 231 in San Francisco
1,529 reviews
Nob Hill
InterContinental Mark Hopkins San Francisco
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Scarlet Huntington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Scarlet Huntington

Address: 1075 California Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-2251
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Nob Hill
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Luxury Hotel in San Francisco
#17 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: €207 - €555 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Scarlet Huntington 4.5*
Number of rooms: 134
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Designed to spark the imagination and provide an adventure for the senses, the much beloved and newly renovated Huntington Hotel re-emerges in May 2014 from a $15 million renovation as The Scarlet Huntington. The Scarlet Huntington builds upon the property's original charm, graciousness and exceptionally high standards while introducing locals and visitors to a unique and avant-garde style that is influenced by a vibrant Singapore Peranakan heritage woven together with the opulence of San Francisco. More than just a name, The Scarlet possesses a distinguished charm and charismatic aura, likened to a gracious hostess who indulges guests with a luxurious stay experience. Providing a warm ad familiar welcome, the iconic red of the former Huntington Hotel's exterior - as displayed in the brick facade and illuminated sign high atop the hotel - will permeate the new aesthetic, representing the hotel's heritage while embracing the passion and allure defined by The Scarlet; offering uninhibited luxury to every guest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Scarlet Huntington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Huntington Hotel & Nob Hill San Francisco
The Huntington Hotel And Nob Hill Spa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing