We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,696)
Filter reviews
1,696 results
Traveller rating
1,011
409
159
61
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,011
409
159
61
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspied piperglass ceilinggarden court restaurantheated toilet seatindoor poolbeautiful historic hotelmontgomery streetspg memberbeautiful lobbyroom serviceconcierge deskcorner suiteturn down servicebell staffbart stationthe financial districtan upgrade
Filter
Updating list...
1,502 - 1,507 of 1,696 reviews
Reviewed 27 October 2015 via mobile

This was my second stay at the Palace. It is an absolutely gorgeous hotel with a distinguished history. The rooms are impeccable but you pay for it too. The commons area's and restaurants are just breathtaking. They used to offer a tour of the hotel so you could learn the history and it was quite extraordinary. I did not find any listing that said they were doing that any longer. I would certainly ask if you plan on staying there because make sure stay even more special. Plan to experience their tea on Saturday afternoon if you can afford the time. They have musicians that play I believe seven days a week in the main dining room that you can also enjoy cocktails or just lounge in the afternoon and listen to the music. Most everyone we encountered was very cordial, pleasant, and helpful. We were on a very noisy side of the hotel but that was our only negative other than the price. Just make sure to ask for a room that is quiet.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank dragonlady629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceManager2, Manager at Palace Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2015

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for the kind compliment! We are delighted that your family enjoyed your stay!

We hope to welcome you back again soon on your next visit to San Francisco.

Our best regards,

Hotel Manager
The Palace, a Luxury Collection Hotel
palaceinfo@luxurycollection.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2015

My wife and I chose the hotel as a bit of a treat and, on arrival, our hopes were rewarded with the opulence of the foyer and main lounge. But we soon ran into trouble. We waited in line to check-in, and it seemed to take an age. Two huge columns obscured the view towards the available check-in clerk... so it was a bit like siting in a restaurant with no waiter in sight. But that was trivial. When we got to our room, we realized that there simply wasn't enough storage to unpack: we lived out of our suitcases. The room was very stylish, but the faux 'campaign' furniture offered very little practicality... it was really a case of style over substance. There was no in-room tea / coffee facility, though there was an empty fridge! Lighting was sparse... "atmospheric" would be what a designer would call it, but it made it pretty difficult to find things in your suitcase - unless you hauled it to the window! Space in the bathroom was at a premium too, the vanity was only just big enough to carry the various goodies provided by the hotel, but little room for our toiletries. 3 of the 4 knobs on the window shutters were missing; but the shower was the worst experience of all. With both "rain-forest" and hand-held shower heads, only the former worked no matter how we tried to configure the levers. The, to cap it all, the handle of the shower door was set way too close to the shower door frame: first I swiped the skin off my knuckle when it opened the door, and even after warning my wife of the danger, the very same thing happened to her. I simple don't understand how these design issues had not been resolved years ago. Overall, a place to admire but think twice about staying there.

Stayed: October 2015
2  Thank mwm_7854
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceManager2, Manager at Palace Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2015

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share feedback of your stay. We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your experience. We apologize for the issues you describe and are very sorry to hear that you and your wife hurt your knuckles on the shower.

If you wish to further discuss any aspects of your stay we welcome the opportunity to speak with you, please write to palaceinfo@luxurycollection.com.

We would love to have the opportunity to welcome you back to provide you with the experience that you expect and deserve.

Thank you for sharing your important feedback.

Warm regards,

Hotel Manager
The Palace, a Luxury Collection Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2015 via mobile

The staff at the palace went above and beyond! First of all one of the only hotels in SF with central air...also they take costumer service to the next level..I left my pants in the hotel room and had a wedding in LA they shipped my pants overnight

Stayed: October 2015
1  Thank Destination605428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceManager2, Manager at Palace Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2015

Dear Valued Guest,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your recent stay at The Palace!

Thank you for sharing that our associates were able to take great care of you.

We hope to welcome you back to The Palace again soon.

Warmest regards,

Hotel Manager
The Palace, a Luxury Collection Hotel
palaceinfo@luxurycollection.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2015

Great stay in a luxury hotel. Exquisite lobby and great service. Convenient location to downtown and walking distance to union square. No free wifi is disappointing. Beds are comfortable and great ammenities. If you would like to splurge, it's a very nice stay.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceManager2, Manager at Palace Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2015

Dear Valued Guest Dina,

Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay at The Palace. We are delighted that you enjoyed our comfortable beds and location in our wonderful city.

We hope to welcome you back to The Palace again soon, and please note that we do offer complimentary WiFi for SPG members that book through a SPG channel such as sfpalace.com.

Our best regards to you,

Hotel Manager
The Palace, a Luxury Collection Hotel
palaceinfo@luxurycollection.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2015

Our first stay was here two years ago when in town for a wedding. We were thrilled to find the Palace and even more thrilled upon our return. They have completed some renovations and the hotel is at is prime. The service continues to be impeccable, the breakfast buffet can't be beat -- and the old world charm can't be matched anywhere in the city. This hotel is a gem and anyone visiting San Fran should consider staying here, and if you not, definitely stop into take a look around and have a drink at world famous Pied Piper Bar - Maxfield's.

  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank irishupfl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PalaceManager2, Manager at Palace Hotel, A Luxury Collection Hotel, San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 6 November 2015

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for sharing your review of your recent stay.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit!

Thank you for choosing The Palace and we hope to welcome you back again soon on your next visit to San Francisco!

Warm regards,

Hotel Manager
The Palace, a Luxury Collection Hotel
palaceinfo@luxurycollection.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews