We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$214
US$182
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$270/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$313
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$355/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$239
Westin.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$372/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

San Francisco Marriott Marquis(San Francisco)
US$279
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$366/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$220
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$327/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Omni San Francisco Hotel(San Francisco)
US$313
Omni Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
Club Quarters Hotel in San Francisco(San Francisco)(Great Value!)
US$234
US$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$335/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Handlery Union Square Hotel(San Francisco)
US$220
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$290/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$250
US$199
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$232/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Fairmont San Francisco(San Francisco)
US$266
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 34% below average rates

The price you found is 34% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$406/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (993)
Filter reviews
993 results
Traveller rating
538
307
97
31
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
538
307
97
31
20
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbay bridgeferry buildinggreat locationexposed brickrooms are smallgiants gameexecutive suitefarmers marketbay view roomrestaurant downstairsturn down serviceroom servicefinancial districtcomfortable bedvalet parkingfront desk staffeasy access
Filter
Updating list...
183 - 188 of 993 reviews
Reviewed 21 September 2017

Although, it is an older hotel, it had great staff and great service and class. The hotel is in a great area and convenient to everywhere we wanted to go; and pretty much within walking distance; although we did take the cable car several times and used the subway. While we are not used to paying in this range for a hotel; I think it was very reasonably priced for San Francisco and the area in which it was located. There is a very very nice hotel located off it's lobby and appeared to be a very very popular choice for every meal. Convenient to meet for drinks and socialize with our friends that accompanied us. Room itself was also awesome. We had a suite to accommodate my husband and myself and also my mother, and it was plenty spacious for all three. We had a great patio, too, although not much of a view. I would definitely recommend the hotel

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 September 2017

Hello, Janet!

Thank you for taking the time to provide such wonderful and thorough comments based upon your recent stay at the Hotel Griffon.

On behalf of our staff, I am eager to warmly welcome you back to the Griffon on your next trip to the Bay Area.

In hospitality,

Scott Ostrander
General Manager
Hotel Griffon on the Embarcadero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

The Griffon Hotel is well worth your consideration. It's right under the Bay Bridge, and close to lots of local restaurants and activities. - We walked to a Giants game while there.
Great staff that upgraded us when a guest there would not leave the room we had reserved for our stay.
Perry's Restaurant & Bar is attached and had very good food and drinks; making it fun & easy when we got back from our activities.
Only issue we had was with a little 5' black haired waiter with glasses in morning trying to "$10/ hr power" us with crap seating when we went in for breakfast- we wouldn't take his squeeze in & shut up two seat table; when other couples were at 4 seat tables all around us...
We moved ourselves & got upgraded to a professional waitress when we insisted on a tall table top away from him to get a decent place to eat - very good breakfast without the village idiot around!

Give them both a look as we were please we picked the Griffon Hotel and their hotel staff was great the entire time!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jimongmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, rating and for taking the time to provide thorough commentary based upon your recent stay with us. It is the comments such as yours that help us to improve.

I have also taken the liberty of sharing your review with the ownership of Perry's (separate ownership and management from the hotel) and am wholly confident they will take the appropriate action to improve on such service.

With best regards, I remain at your service.

Scott Ostrander
General Manager
Hotel Griffon on the Embarcadero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

The location is great for tourists, it's on the Embarcadero, but also close to the Mission Bay campus of UCSF. The staff was very helpful and we had free transportation to UCSF medical buildings. Good restaurant too.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrienne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 September 2017

Dear Adrienne,

I am most appreciative of your taking the time to write and post a review of your hotel Griffon experience on TripAdvisor.

Thank you as well for the Five Star rating.

I do hope to see you again on a future visit.

With best regards in hospitality,

Scott Ostrander
General Manager
Hotel Griffon on the Embarcadero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

We just celebrated our anniversary with a stay at this enchanting hotel. It is one of S.F.'s great "botique" hotels fronting on the Embarcadero, but with a Stewart Steuart St. address. We had a fifth floor room with a view of the bay and the bay bridge. A great place to share a glass of wine with friends before going out on the town. The service was personal and supportive without being intrusive. Hotel is just one of those gems you run into once in awhile...WELL worth the price. We will most certainly be back!

Room Tip: Go for one of the suites that has a full Bay view. It is worth it!
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Art M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 September 2017

Dear Guest,

I am overjoyed by your kindness. Thank you for your wonderful words and commentary of your stay.

Receiving a Five Star rating is also most appreciated.

I look forward to seeing you on your next visit to San Francisco and the Hotel Griffon.

With best regards, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Scott Ostrander
General Manager
Hotel Griffon on the Embarcadero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

We loved our stay at Hotel Griffon. We splurged and got a room with a view of the Bay Bridge and were most certainly not disappointed. We were far enough away from the hustle and bustle of the wharf crowds, but close enough to get everywhere we wanted to be. If you're looking for a giant room, this is not the place for you - but we loved the cozy character and the view was phenomenal!!!

Room Tip: Definitely choose a room with the bay view - worth every penny!
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank wags2wishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 September 2017

Dear Guest,

I am so happy and thrilled that you had a wonderful stay while in residence at the Hotel Griffon. Thank you for taking the time to not only post a review of your stay on TripAdvisor, but for all providing us a Five Star rating.

See you again soon!

My best,

Scott Ostrander
General Manager
Hotel Griffon on the Embarcadero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews