We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, staff and interior”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel
Ranked #21 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 22 September 2017 via mobile

Great location right next to bay bridge. Near union square, pier 39 and to be honest anywhere u need.
Perrys bar is joined into the hotel which is open late and great for breakfast, lunch and dinner as well as really friendly bar staff.(open til 1pm) but you don't hear them from your rooms.

We stayed for our honeymoon and was a great place to stay, would recommend and stay again. X

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank charlie8901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 September 2017

Hello, Charlie!

I am most appreciative of your Five Star rating, as well as your wonderful comments.

I truly hope that we played a role in creating memorable experiences for your honeymoon. Congratulations on your recent nuptials.

I hope to see you again at the Hotel Griffon on your next visit to San Francisco and the Bay Area.

Sincerely,

Scott Ostrander
General Manager
Hotel Griffon on the Embarcadero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (855)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

48 - 52 of 856 reviews

Reviewed 21 September 2017

Although, it is an older hotel, it had great staff and great service and class. The hotel is in a great area and convenient to everywhere we wanted to go; and pretty much within walking distance; although we did take the cable car several times and used the subway. While we are not used to paying in this range for a hotel; I think it was very reasonably priced for San Francisco and the area in which it was located. There is a very very nice hotel located off it's lobby and appeared to be a very very popular choice for every meal. Convenient to meet for drinks and socialize with our friends that accompanied us. Room itself was also awesome. We had a suite to accommodate my husband and myself and also my mother, and it was plenty spacious for all three. We had a great patio, too, although not much of a view. I would definitely recommend the hotel

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 September 2017

Hello, Janet!

Thank you for taking the time to provide such wonderful and thorough comments based upon your recent stay at the Hotel Griffon.

On behalf of our staff, I am eager to warmly welcome you back to the Griffon on your next trip to the Bay Area.

In hospitality,

Scott Ostrander
General Manager
Hotel Griffon on the Embarcadero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017 via mobile

The Griffon Hotel is well worth your consideration. It's right under the Bay Bridge, and close to lots of local restaurants and activities. - We walked to a Giants game while there.
Great staff that upgraded us when a guest there would not leave the room we had reserved for our stay.
Perry's Restaurant & Bar is attached and had very good food and drinks; making it fun & easy when we got back from our activities.
Only issue we had was with a little 5' black haired waiter with glasses in morning trying to "$10/ hr power" us with crap seating when we went in for breakfast- we wouldn't take his squeeze in & shut up two seat table; when other couples were at 4 seat tables all around us...
We moved ourselves & got upgraded to a professional waitress when we insisted on a tall table top away from him to get a decent place to eat - very good breakfast without the village idiot around!

Give them both a look as we were please we picked the Griffon Hotel and their hotel staff was great the entire time!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jimongmail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 September 2017

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review, rating and for taking the time to provide thorough commentary based upon your recent stay with us. It is the comments such as yours that help us to improve.

I have also taken the liberty of sharing your review with the ownership of Perry's (separate ownership and management from the hotel) and am wholly confident they will take the appropriate action to improve on such service.

With best regards, I remain at your service.

Scott Ostrander
General Manager
Hotel Griffon on the Embarcadero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017

The location is great for tourists, it's on the Embarcadero, but also close to the Mission Bay campus of UCSF. The staff was very helpful and we had free transportation to UCSF medical buildings. Good restaurant too.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrienne L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 26 September 2017

Dear Adrienne,

I am most appreciative of your taking the time to write and post a review of your hotel Griffon experience on TripAdvisor.

Thank you as well for the Five Star rating.

I do hope to see you again on a future visit.

With best regards in hospitality,

Scott Ostrander
General Manager
Hotel Griffon on the Embarcadero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

We just celebrated our anniversary with a stay at this enchanting hotel. It is one of S.F.'s great "botique" hotels fronting on the Embarcadero, but with a Stewart Steuart St. address. We had a fifth floor room with a view of the bay and the bay bridge. A great place to share a glass of wine with friends before going out on the town. The service was personal and supportive without being intrusive. Hotel is just one of those gems you run into once in awhile...WELL worth the price. We will most certainly be back!

Room Tip: Go for one of the suites that has a full Bay view. It is worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Art M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 18 September 2017

Dear Guest,

I am overjoyed by your kindness. Thank you for your wonderful words and commentary of your stay.

Receiving a Five Star rating is also most appreciated.

I look forward to seeing you on your next visit to San Francisco and the Hotel Griffon.

With best regards, I remain at your service.

Sincerely,

Scott Ostrander
General Manager
Hotel Griffon on the Embarcadero

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square - A Greystone Hotel
SoMa
Harbor Court Hotel
Harbor Court Hotel
#40 of 230 in San Francisco
1,360 reviews
Financial District
Galleria Park Hotel
Galleria Park Hotel
#35 of 230 in San Francisco
2,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
Axiom Hotel San Francisco
#11 of 230 in San Francisco
403 reviews
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#14 of 230 in San Francisco
2,882 reviews
SoMa
Hotel Vitale, a Joie de Vivre hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel

Address: 155 Steuart St, San Francisco, CA 94105-1206
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > SoMa , South Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#21 Green Hotel in San Francisco
#33 Business Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: €142 - €341 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Griffon invites you to experience what was voted "Best Boutique Hotel" and "Best 24 Hour Getaway" by San Francisco Magazine. Situated along San Francisco's stylish Embarcadero waterfront, our certified green hotel is the perfect choice for business and leisure travelers who seek a pleasant and charming alternative to the chain hotel. Indulge in an appealing San Francisco boutique hotel inspired by European sensibility and enjoy exceptional amenities that include well-appointed guestrooms and luxury suites, delectable on site dining at Perry's on the Embarcadero, and distinguished meeting space for business travel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Ebookers, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Griffon - A Greystone Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Griffon Hotel San Francisco
Griffon San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing