We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveller rating
161
34
14
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
161
34
14
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews alamo square painted ladies enrico caruso wine and cheese mark twain other guests steiner street private entrance beautiful antiques drawing room victorian mansion there is free wi fi sliding bathroom door clipper card shared bathroom third floor b and b
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 219 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Actually we have stayed here - near Alamo Square and the Painted Lady Victorians - 4 or 5 times whilst visiting one of our children. Like a home away from home. Funky-exquisite decor; you can imagine the bohemian lifestyle once led by its "real" occupants. Totally private. No one bugs you. Afternoon wine and cheese is set out in the Victorian parlor. Oh and did I mention the tasty no-fuss breakfasts. Even after 4 visits we have much to learn about just this one beautiful SF landmark hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MKC1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

I can't say enough about this B & B. The exterior and interior is like living in a time bubble. The decor and splendor of this property is truly special. This room had a great attached bathroom. Great shower and spacious. I needed the small stool to get into the bed but it was comfortable. We did not need to use the fan since we did get a nice breeze from the window but it was September and the weather was cooler in the evening. I didn't miss the TV since wifi was available. The parlor was so relaxing and we took advantage of the wine and cheese in the evening a few times. Breakfast was fine during the weekday and the champagne and quiche breakfast on Sunday, was a nice treat. My brother and his wife had the 2 bedroom street entrance room, Lily Langtry room. Convenient by entering this room from a separate entrance as well as from the main parlor and the space was great but the shower was really small. It works but definitely is a bit cramped. The bathroom has no space to put toiletries or hang clothes. It would not take much to put up some hooks or a shelf since the bathroom is long.
Everyone working there is so friendly and helpful and it is so much fun in the mornings to hear and share stories from the other guests. It is also more affordable than hotels in San Francisco. Location is excellent, so easy to get public transportation so we bought a 3 day pass and could ride the buses and cable cars. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank DonnaInPittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

What a brilliant little place this is. It's so beautifully restored to Victorian standards, it was like going back in time.

We were warmly welcomed by Nicholas, who throughout our stay helped us on numerous occasions. Can't thank him enough for going over and above his duties. Great guy.

Bridget and the other staff were always polite and helpful, just what you want when you're away from home.

No bar here but at 16:00 - 18:00 they brought out wine, cheese and biscuits. After a long and tiring day touring SF it was lovely just to relax and meet other guests, have a chat and find out the best places to visit - it was a lovely touch.

5 Minutes walk from the 'Painted Ladies' and easy access to local buses but Nicholas put an app on my phone for a cab company called Lyft who were very efficient and reasonably priced.

Highly recommend this lovely little 'Painted lady'.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Jack London which had a shared bathroom. this was not a problem to us.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jean c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

End of a three week trip splurge. It was worth it. We took tge bourgeois Tetrazini suite for three days and it was great. Bed was a little bendy in rhe middle but everything else was fabulous. I loved the peace and quiet. No television. Breakfast was good. One of the mornings there was fresh baked quiche which was awesome. Coffee was nice and really helpful staff. Great to chat with and helpful to ask traveller style questions. Its a great place to stay if you just eant to bunker down too. Very pleasant. Artful and elegant.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Carolyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017

This is the second time we have stayed here and it was just as lovely as before.
The location is great - one can walk to restaurants, Alamo square, the Painted Ladies and public transport is just a block away.
(I do recommend buying a Clipper Card and a 5 day pass which allows you unlimited travel on the bus/tram/cable car/ferry network).
The continental breakfast is limited but well prepared and presented and the complimentary cheese and wine in the afternoons is a bonus.
There is free wi-fi, the beds are comfortable .. but the biggest attractions are the character of the building and decor, the friendliness and helpfulness of the host on duty and the feeling that you have been given the key and free reign to make yourself at home in this lovely place.

We took a room on the top floor this time (a bit cheaper) and must warn that the last set of stairs are narrow and quirky and quite hard to negotiate with a big suitcase (you can accept the offer of help) - but having a comfy chair and writing table in a turret with views made up for this !

Room Tip: Two rooms on the top floor share a bathroom, the rest are en-suite. The Lily Langtry suite on the lower has a private street door.
  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank TravellingLes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews