We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A contrasted experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staying at this fabulous historic house, dating back from the late 19th century, well restored and with a lot of charm. is quite an awesome experience. We spent one night in the Enrico Caruso room. Staff at the reception were friendly and helpful. The downsides are the ransom of these old houses: no elevators, a barely functioning sliding bathroom door, no AC and just a lousy ventilator which was not very helpful given the heat during this Labor Day week-end. Also the breakfast service in the morning was very slow and the food included unwelcome innovations: no eggs but bacon served with fruit in the same plate.. Altogether a unique experience although we opted for another hotel for our second night in SF.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 28970Patrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2017

Actually we have stayed here - near Alamo Square and the Painted Lady Victorians - 4 or 5 times whilst visiting one of our children. Like a home away from home. Funky-exquisite decor; you can imagine the bohemian lifestyle once led by its "real" occupants. Totally private. No one bugs you. Afternoon wine and cheese is set out in the Victorian parlor. Oh and did I mention the tasty no-fuss breakfasts. Even after 4 visits we have much to learn about just this one beautiful SF landmark hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MKC1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2017

I can't say enough about this B & B. The exterior and interior is like living in a time bubble. The decor and splendor of this property is truly special. This room had a great attached bathroom. Great shower and spacious. I needed the small stool to get into the bed but it was comfortable. We did not need to use the fan since we did get a nice breeze from the window but it was September and the weather was cooler in the evening. I didn't miss the TV since wifi was available. The parlor was so relaxing and we took advantage of the wine and cheese in the evening a few times. Breakfast was fine during the weekday and the champagne and quiche breakfast on Sunday, was a nice treat. My brother and his wife had the 2 bedroom street entrance room, Lily Langtry room. Convenient by entering this room from a separate entrance as well as from the main parlor and the space was great but the shower was really small. It works but definitely is a bit cramped. The bathroom has no space to put toiletries or hang clothes. It would not take much to put up some hooks or a shelf since the bathroom is long.
Everyone working there is so friendly and helpful and it is so much fun in the mornings to hear and share stories from the other guests. It is also more affordable than hotels in San Francisco. Location is excellent, so easy to get public transportation so we bought a 3 day pass and could ride the buses and cable cars. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank DonnaInPittsburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2017

What a brilliant little place this is. It's so beautifully restored to Victorian standards, it was like going back in time.

We were warmly welcomed by Nicholas, who throughout our stay helped us on numerous occasions. Can't thank him enough for going over and above his duties. Great guy.

Bridget and the other staff were always polite and helpful, just what you want when you're away from home.

No bar here but at 16:00 - 18:00 they brought out wine, cheese and biscuits. After a long and tiring day touring SF it was lovely just to relax and meet other guests, have a chat and find out the best places to visit - it was a lovely touch.

5 Minutes walk from the 'Painted Ladies' and easy access to local buses but Nicholas put an app on my phone for a cab company called Lyft who were very efficient and reasonably priced.

Highly recommend this lovely little 'Painted lady'.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Jack London which had a shared bathroom. this was not a problem to us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jean c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017 via mobile

End of a three week trip splurge. It was worth it. We took tge bourgeois Tetrazini suite for three days and it was great. Bed was a little bendy in rhe middle but everything else was fabulous. I loved the peace and quiet. No television. Breakfast was good. One of the mornings there was fresh baked quiche which was awesome. Coffee was nice and really helpful staff. Great to chat with and helpful to ask traveller style questions. Its a great place to stay if you just eant to bunker down too. Very pleasant. Artful and elegant.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Carolyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Haight-Ashbury
The Metro Hotel
The Metro Hotel
#18 of 230 in San Francisco
507 reviews
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#3 of 72 in San Francisco
979 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Grove Inn
#8 of 72 in San Francisco
230 reviews
The Castro
The Willows Bed and Breakfast Inn
Marina District
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#11 of 72 in San Francisco
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1057 Steiner St, between Golden Gate Avenue and McAllister Street, San Francisco, CA 94115-4620
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range: €141 - €245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Tivoli Bed And Breakfast
Chateau Tivoli Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing