We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (219)
Filter reviews
219 results
Traveller rating
161
34
14
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
161
34
14
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews alamo square painted ladies enrico caruso wine and cheese mark twain other guests steiner street private entrance beautiful antiques drawing room victorian mansion there is free wi fi sliding bathroom door clipper card shared bathroom third floor b and b
Filter
Updating list...
138 - 143 of 219 reviews
Reviewed 21 July 2011

We stayed at Chateau Tivoli in April 2010 and loved it, so we booked it again for a July 2011 trip with two grandsons, ages 12 and 16. The boys had never seen or experienced anything like it, and they were impressed.
This gracious, spacious Victorian mansion is decorated with eclectic period furniture, including four poster beds, marble-topped dressers, colorful turn-of-the-century wallpaper, and gorgeous hand-carved oak stairways and panels. The rooms are clean, comfortable, large, and well-priced. The staff are extremely friendly, accommodating and helpful. Breakfast in the large diningroom is delicious and ample.
The quiet Steiner Street location (the same Steiner Street I remember fondly from the 50's TV show "I Remember Mama") is excellent -- just a block or two from major bus routes.
Wine and cheese are served from 4-6 in the parlor. Their website gives an accurate picture and description. There is on street parking, but you have to watch the trash collection days and times. We highly recommend this San Francisco treat.

Room Tip: If the room you want is not avaiable, check back later.
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crolee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We stayed 3 nights in both the economy basement suites (Lola Montez and Lillie Langtry). The good thing about staying in the basement suites is we have our own entrances by the street level and hence we did not have to lug our luggages up and down the flight of stairs at the main entrance. Some street noise is expected since we are on street level but as the B&B is situated in a nice neighbourhood, it is not very noisy and we slept well.

The B&B is a beautifully furnished victorian house with all the right touches. For the prices we paid, it is a bargain to stay in such a beautiful house. The innkeepers are friendly and hospitable and it sure beats staying in a hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ooncindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

We have just returned from the Chareau Tivoli, spending three nights in the Jack London room and one night in the Mark Twain Suite. Both of these were outstanding as was the chateau itself. In fact it is completely breathtaking. The staff go out of their way to make your stay perfect. We would highly recommend staying here if you are travelling to the city not just for comfort but because it is a truly remarkable building which looks far better than the picutres on the website. We will definately return to the chateau and look forward to seeing the staff there again too.

Room Tip: Mark Twain Suite is amazing
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missyc96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Gorgeous B&B! The sitting and dining rooms are lovely, the Joaquin Miller room (where I stayed) is sunny and spacious. The location is great. The neighborhood is full of gorgeous Victorian houses, and it's right in the center of everything: two blocks from Alamo Square, a short walk to Japantown, plenty of restaurants nearby on Divisidero and Fillmore. I was in SF for a conference that took place downtown, but with bus lines running one block on either side, getting there was no problem. My only regret was that I had to get to leave early to get to my conference, so I missed breakfast a couple of times. The staff more than made up for that - they were friendly and accommodating, and they made sure I had a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nilty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2011

This B & B was excellent, the team looked after us so well, rooms and general accommodation are excellent. Both Meredith and Nico are due a special mention, such a good team ! We will be back here
Rob Allison & Jonny Coles

  • Stayed: April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Micheldever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews