We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who could ask for more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 6 nights on our West coast vacation in July. You couldn't ask for more from a B&B. The innkeepers were SO helpful and pleasant, breakfast every morning was delicious and such a nice time to meet other travellers. It's spotless and ever detail has been thought of.
We enjoyed our time tremendously.

Room Tip: Ask for the Mark Twain Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travellinmccoys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (202)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

125 - 129 of 202 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2011

We stayed at Chateau Tivoli in April 2010 and loved it, so we booked it again for a July 2011 trip with two grandsons, ages 12 and 16. The boys had never seen or experienced anything like it, and they were impressed.
This gracious, spacious Victorian mansion is decorated with eclectic period furniture, including four poster beds, marble-topped dressers, colorful turn-of-the-century wallpaper, and gorgeous hand-carved oak stairways and panels. The rooms are clean, comfortable, large, and well-priced. The staff are extremely friendly, accommodating and helpful. Breakfast in the large diningroom is delicious and ample.
The quiet Steiner Street location (the same Steiner Street I remember fondly from the 50's TV show "I Remember Mama") is excellent -- just a block or two from major bus routes.
Wine and cheese are served from 4-6 in the parlor. Their website gives an accurate picture and description. There is on street parking, but you have to watch the trash collection days and times. We highly recommend this San Francisco treat.

Room Tip: If the room you want is not avaiable, check back later.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank crolee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2011

We stayed 3 nights in both the economy basement suites (Lola Montez and Lillie Langtry). The good thing about staying in the basement suites is we have our own entrances by the street level and hence we did not have to lug our luggages up and down the flight of stairs at the main entrance. Some street noise is expected since we are on street level but as the B&B is situated in a nice neighbourhood, it is not very noisy and we slept well.

The B&B is a beautifully furnished victorian house with all the right touches. For the prices we paid, it is a bargain to stay in such a beautiful house. The innkeepers are friendly and hospitable and it sure beats staying in a hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ooncindy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2011

We have just returned from the Chareau Tivoli, spending three nights in the Jack London room and one night in the Mark Twain Suite. Both of these were outstanding as was the chateau itself. In fact it is completely breathtaking. The staff go out of their way to make your stay perfect. We would highly recommend staying here if you are travelling to the city not just for comfort but because it is a truly remarkable building which looks far better than the picutres on the website. We will definately return to the chateau and look forward to seeing the staff there again too.

Room Tip: Mark Twain Suite is amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank missyc96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Gorgeous B&B! The sitting and dining rooms are lovely, the Joaquin Miller room (where I stayed) is sunny and spacious. The location is great. The neighborhood is full of gorgeous Victorian houses, and it's right in the center of everything: two blocks from Alamo Square, a short walk to Japantown, plenty of restaurants nearby on Divisidero and Fillmore. I was in SF for a conference that took place downtown, but with bus lines running one block on either side, getting there was no problem. My only regret was that I had to get to leave early to get to my conference, so I missed breakfast a couple of times. The staff more than made up for that - they were friendly and accommodating, and they made sure I had a fantastic stay!

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nilty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Haight-Ashbury
The Metro Hotel
The Metro Hotel
#19 of 230 in San Francisco
507 reviews
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#3 of 72 in San Francisco
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Grove Inn
#8 of 72 in San Francisco
230 reviews
The Castro
The Willows Bed and Breakfast Inn
Marina District
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#10 of 72 in San Francisco
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast

Address: 1057 Steiner St, between Golden Gate Avenue and McAllister Street, San Francisco, CA 94115-4620
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range: €141 - €242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia so you can book your Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau Tivoli Bed And Breakfast
Chateau Tivoli Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing