We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful boutique style hotel in a great location”
Review of White Swan Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
White Swan Inn
Ranked #8 of 228 Hotels in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful boutique style hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Prefect location only being a block or two from the street cars and about a 5min walk from Chinatown.
Bedroom was clean & equipped with decent tea & coffee making facilities. All of the staff that we dealt with were very friendly & knowledgable.
The wine & canapes were very tasty, I've had better breakfasts, but I can't really complain about the offering, always being topped up with fresh food, rather than things being left for hours.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoosterJones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,680 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,061
    470
    105
    32
    12
See reviews for
302
940
75
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
479 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 244 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

We have stayed here three times starting about ten years ago and you always wonder if quality has been maintained and it has. Rooms are all large and very comfortably furnished with old-fashioned furniture, much like a home. All rooms, I think, have a gas fireplace. The bathrooms are old-fashion but spotless. Our room also had a wet bar and small fridge with some complimentary beverages. Very good full breakfast included and fresh baked cookies out in the lobby in the afternoon. At five, they put out a tart and/or savory with tea and coffee and sherry in the lounge. The lounge consists of two very comfortable rooms with fireplaces. This is a great place to go if you are using more than two or more rooms since the lounge is a really nice place to get together during the day or at night. The rooms are also well set up for relaxing. Our most recent room had a wing chair and ottoman and loveseat. Great location for exploring, up a hill from Union Square. Sometimes there is noise on street at night, but we have never been bothered by it and my husband is a light sleeper. Less expensive than what we would consider a comparable hotel. Very homey feeling. They have wi-fi and a little workout room.

Room Tip: If you have older children, they have a sort of suite on the lobby floor that has two rooms off a pr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huntejk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
107 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Every year at Christmas time my family tries to spend at least a weekend in San Francisco. The last two years we have stayed at the Inn and it has become part of our family tradition. It is a combination of old world charm and modern conveniences. The location is ideal, within walking distance of charming restaurants, really rowdy bars and, of course, great shopping!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank petarandreev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeBary, Florida
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2012

I love this place very friendly, clean and very central to bus, trams etc!!

Room Tip: I booked a room off the main street Bush this was very quiet no street noise. Sleep on the higher fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chicca12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Durham, England
Level Contributor
31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2012

My husband and I stayed at the White Swan for 3 nights in Feb 2012 and really enjoyed it. It's a very flowery 'chinzy' hotel showing a great accolade to the UK with matchstick models of many catherderals and a vast array of royal memorabilia. You can peruse these during the free wine and hors d'oeuvre hour which we found a great treat and great start to our evening meal!

We had a fireplace room which was very nice and very clean....although we did have to ask at reception how to switch on the fire as the switch was strategically placed behind the bed!!

Breakfast was fantastic, each day a different variety of hot dishes available, in addition to fresh fruit, hot oatmeal (or porridge!) boiled eggs, homemade bread etc etc...wonderful.

Although they do advertise they have a gym....you really can't call a small room with a computer, desk and chair, treadmill and bike a gym, however....why would you need a gym when you can step out of the front door and climb the hills of SF instead....its great exercise.

The hotel is located a couple of streets from Union Square and many great restaurants, we also found a great bar at the end of the road call The Tunnel Top....lovely for a cocktail on the way back from the restaurant.

All on all a really great stay....would definately recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kosquitoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
The Inn at Union Square
#5 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,582 reviews
Financial District
Omni San Francisco Hotel
Omni San Francisco Hotel
#3 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
The Orchard Hotel
The Orchard Hotel
#11 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,724 reviews
Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
Chancellor Hotel on Union Square
#16 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,109 reviews
Union Square
Taj Campton Place
Taj Campton Place
#7 of 228 in San Francisco
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Swan Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Swan Inn

Property: White Swan Inn
Address: 845 Bush Street, San Francisco, CA 94108-3312
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > Union Square
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in San Francisco
#7 Business Hotel in San Francisco
#9 Family Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Swan Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a crackling fireplace in all 26 guestrooms and suites, the White Swan Inn is a romantic small hotel in the Nob Hill/Union Square area. The White Swan Inn is a visually stunning tribute to the intimate hotels of London. Dark wood paneling, rich floral carpets, comfortable furniture and enchanting English art and collectables set the tone. All guests enjoy a generous breakfast buffet and evening wine and hors d'oeuvres served fireside in the parlor. You can also check out our sister hotel, Petite Auberge, just 20 feet away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your White Swan Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Swan Hotel
White Swan San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing