We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Home Base For Exploring San Francisco”
Review of Inn on Castro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn on Castro
Ranked #1 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Jan, the host at Inn at Castro, is a man who loves what he does and his warmth and humour will have you immediately feeling at home. He's been running B&Bs for 20 years, so he's quick to offer up a map, reviews of local restaurants and advice on how to get started in the city.

He had wonderful advice on the attractions of the city, including free tours, what shows were in town and transportation discounts, and he's a go-to source for anything you need to know or arrange while you're there.

The Inn itself is immaculate. Rooms are lovely, cleaned daily and thoughtfully stocked. Ours, in a quiet location on the ground level, had an iPod dock radio, a TV with seemingly limitless channels, nice ambient lighting, robes in the closet, toiletries and nice ambient lighting.

I thought it was kind of romantic. There are various types of rooms, over 3 levels. We chose a suite of rooms with no windows to the outside because we wanted quiet, and it was cozy and comfortable to come back to. We had access to a sweet rear courtyard which had lovely sun in the mornings.

As other reviewers have mentioned, breakfast is a real treat, and in addition to a table laden with food, there is a choice of two cooked dishes every morning.

Location-wise, the Castro MUNI subway and the streetcar stop are less than 5 minutes away. One of the compelling reasons to use Castro as a base to explore SF is that nearly every train line runs through the station, making transport quick and convenient. It's also the terminal for the F-line streetcar, which runs up and down Market Street. Inn at Castro lets you take full advantage of this convenience because it's literally a quick walk across the intersection to be home.

Castro is full of cafes, bars and restaurants, so it has attractions of its own for travelers.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CreativeSpark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (751)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

607 - 611 of 751 reviews

Reviewed 5 March 2012

It has been 6 months since I was in San Fran and what a memory,the White room I stayed in for 5 nights and what a view,a little noisy as this is close to an intersection,however I slept well,the breakfasts great,Jan so courteous and a good host,the Castro to me was a unique area with the street cars consistently coming and going,this inn is good fun and in San Fran when I come again I am staying here.The complimentary fridge extras were a service,the coffee great.Thanks Jan.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PerthWaite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

The best thing about this inn is its proximity to the Castro -- just across Market St. No problem getting home after the night out. Rooms are adequate size (our had a nice balcony with spectacular view across the city). Strangely, no closet (but a "tree" for hanging clothes). Breakfast was terrific -- real squeezed fresh orange juice, fruit salad, chunky cereal, good freshly baked cranberry bread, and a choice of pancakes or eggs for the hot course.) If you have a car, be prepared to a complex musical chairs of fitting into the area's 2 hour time limits and street cleaning times.

Room Tip: No elevator, so if you have significant luggage, ask for a room on the entry floor -- the 'publi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nelsontouch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2012

We are so grateful that we had opportunity to enjoy the stay in your beautiful place, enjoy delicious gourmet breakfasts on a festively and tastefully decorated table. Most of all we enjoyed talking to you and your awesome guests. We definitely learned a lot from you, dear friend. It is inspiring to talk to people who know so much and care so much. We did feel like we were home, and it was painful to leave. The orchids and fresh cut flowers, the art decorating the place are still in front of our eyes. It all creates this unique and magical experience: Inn on Castro. Thank you! Inessa and Dan

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2012

I had been reluctant about staying at a B&B until our stay at the Inn on Castro. The location was ideal for walking and public transportation. The room was very comfortable and the view out the bay window was beautiful. It was a joy to wake up to a delicious breakfast served by our host. At the communal table, we were able to meet other guests from around the country and the globe. I would highly recommend staying here to my friends.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 230 in San Francisco
1,506 reviews
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#3 of 72 in San Francisco
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chateau Tivoli Bed & Breakfast
#9 of 72 in San Francisco
202 reviews
The Castro
Beck's Motor Lodge
Beck's Motor Lodge
#16 of 230 in San Francisco
433 reviews
Mission District
The Inn San Francisco
The Inn San Francisco
#6 of 72 in San Francisco
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Castro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Castro

Address: 321 Castro St, San Francisco, CA 94114-1504
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > The Castro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range: €115 - €191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Inn with 8 individually appointed bed rooms in an Edwardian Town house. Modernist interior with original Edwardian details. For 37 years. A full breakfast is served round a Saarinen table where you meet fellow travelers from around the world. Located at Castro and Market streets. With public transport connecting you to all the major places in the city. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn On Castro Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing