We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location. Yummy breakfast. Part 2.”
Review of Inn on Castro

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in San Francisco
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Inn on Castro
Ranked #1 of 72 San Francisco B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I second the thoughts of other reviewers -- the location is great, the breakfast is incredible, the rooms are comfortable and include free bottled water, juice, and hooch. The wireless can be a bit spotty, but my rooms had ethernet cables as well. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: I don't recommend the rooms in the basement -- not enough light makes it difficult to wake up. T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jody B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (746)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

609 - 613 of 746 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2012

headline about says it all - no parking, clean space, but furnishings are very old (the blanket on our bed was fraying where sewing was coming a apart across all the trim), soap and conditioner in the shower, no shampoo; brandy in the room, free unlimited bottled water and juice. Proprietor was a bit odd (older-middle aged gay man, make not so funny gay jokes directed at us...).

The redeeming characteristic of this place is the breakfast - that gets an A+ both day (fruit, yogurt, cereals, gourmet coffees, AND three cheese omelet, french toast, poached eggs on Spanish, etc. Again, breakfast was VERY good.

Room Tip: more expensive rooms are obviously nicer and quitter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TallSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

My BF and I recently had a one night stay at this B&B. We stayed in the Brown room which was recommended when we made the booking for being quiet. And it was. The location was great. Right off of Castro and Market. Lots of transportation options. We walked to dinner in the Mission and it didn't take long at all. We didn't have much time in the city and had a vehicle. We had no problem finding parking on the street but, had to move the car at least once. I imagine if you stay longer with a vehicle you may want to find a lot to park in. The room was nicely decorated. There was even a mini bar full of soft drinks, juice and water. Also a nice decanter with Brandy in the room. Breakfast was great. Jan was a pleasure to talk too. Found out he had once lived in the city we live in.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kimmyineka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

I have stayed with Jan in one of his properties three times now and each time it is outstanding. A pleasant informative host, affable conversations over the breakfast table with like minded guests and clean and comfortable facilities, Jan is a font of knowledge about local restaurants and activities - all of which were useful.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2012

I have stayed at this lovely Inn 3 times now. I can't imagine staying anywhere else. The location, the service, the owner, the amazing breakfasts, proximity to transit and amenities, the delightful atmosphere make this the quintessential place to stay.

Room Tip: The front room can be a tad noisy on weekends.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank anniethatswho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Pacific Heights
Hotel Drisco
Hotel Drisco
#1 of 230 in San Francisco
1,500 reviews
The Castro
Parker Guest House
Parker Guest House
#3 of 72 in San Francisco
975 reviews
Marina District
Seaside Inn
Seaside Inn
#9 of 72 in San Francisco
326 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Grove Inn
#8 of 72 in San Francisco
230 reviews
The Castro
Beck's Motor Lodge
Beck's Motor Lodge
#19 of 230 in San Francisco
425 reviews
Union Square
Golden Gate Hotel
Golden Gate Hotel
#4 of 72 in San Francisco
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Inn on Castro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Castro

Address: 321 Castro St, San Francisco, CA 94114-1504
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco > The Castro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 72 B&Bs / Inns in San Francisco
Price Range: €114 - €191 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An Inn with 8 individually appointed bed rooms in an Edwardian Town house. Modernist interior with original Edwardian details. For 37 years. A full breakfast is served round a Saarinen table where you meet fellow travelers from around the world. Located at Castro and Market streets. With public transport connecting you to all the major places in the city. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Inn On Castro Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing