We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok place to stay”
Review of Andrews Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Andrews Hotel
Ranked #129 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 24 April 2017

Spent a long weekend in April

Arrive Thursday evening, to the weirdness check in I have ever experienced. The lady at the desk, did not acknowledge us for several minutes, left the desk twice and returned and did not acknowledge that we were the only couple waiting in the lobby to check in.


Room was clean, bed comfortable but our room was on the second floor facing the front of the hotel, it was very loud. We had to buy ear plugs for the remaining two nights.

Continental breakfast was pretty good.

The 24 hour coffee station, the twice we tried this the coffee was cold.

Location of the hotel was fairly central, we were able to walk to public transport, so I liked the location.

I would stay at the hotel again, but I would request a room not facing the front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Don't face post st
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (647)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 24 of 647 reviews

Reviewed 23 April 2017

This was an old hotel originally built in early 1900's but it was nicely renovated. We were there in late March and we had a small 'queen' room - but it was a very adequate room for our 3-night stay. The small 'gated' elevator was a nice throwback to the past. The staff were very nice. It was in a great location. There is a restaurant in the hotel named "Fino". This was a very good Italian restaurant with an outstanding menu. My wife and I thought it was better than our meal and experience at a very well-known Italian restaurant at Fisherman's Wharf. There is a privately-owned parking lot behind the hotel that was relatively inexpensive for daytime or overnight parking if you have a car. We had a great rental car from City Car Rental - excellent prices.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank techster75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2017

I had a corner room with two windows - neither kept out the sound of a San Francisco evening so sleep wasn't super easy to come by. The bed was comfortable, everything was clean and neat, but if you don't like old buildings, don't come. If you do like old buildings and/or European style lodgings then you'll enjoy this place. Service is great, coffee was always available in the lobby. One small thing for parents - the small shower had great water pressure, and lots of hot water, but if I were there with my 3 year old I think she'd have been in a bit of danger of being knocked over by the spray. I would definitely stay here again - but I like quaint, quirky, historic buildings with high ceilinged rooms :)

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Belle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2017 via mobile

Had a 1 night/1 day layover in SF on the way home, picked the Andrews. Close to Union Square, loads of shops and bars around. Very friendly staff, seemless check-in and check-out. Vintage feel to it, cosy rooms. Continental breakfast on each floor included. They were happy to keep my bags for the day as my flight was not until 11PM that night - great service! Reasonably priced, recommended for your stay in SF.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank 40yoStudent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

This hotel is in a very old, creaky, poorly soundproofed building. You can hear noise from all adjoining rooms, above and next door. You can hear hallway noise and street noise as well making for a poor night's sleep. The room was quite small and in need of some updates. The staff is helpful and friendly, the complimentary glass of wine is a nice touch and the continental breakfast is adequate. The location is convenient but there are a good amount of homeless around the area. I cannot really recommend staying here overall given the noise and overall quality of the stay.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank travelingal60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#73 of 230 in San Francisco
742 reviews
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#27 of 230 in San Francisco
1,781 reviews
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#126 of 230 in San Francisco
813 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#90 of 230 in San Francisco
2,379 reviews
Union Square
Hotel 32One
Hotel 32One
#155 of 230 in San Francisco
55 reviews
Beresford Arms
#84 of 230 in San Francisco
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andrews Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrews Hotel

Address: 624 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94109-8222
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#21 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: €99 - €244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Andrews Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Queen Anne Victorian structure was erected in 1905 as the opulent Sultan Turkish Baths. Two decades later the Baths closed,and the entire building was remodeled into a European style boutique hotel. Intimate guestrooms feature lovely floral motifs, unique architectural features, and fresh flowers. The celebrated Fino restaurant features traditional Italian cuisine prepared in an open kitchen and served in a romantic and intimate atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Andrews Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrews San Francisco
Andrew Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing