We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small and quaint”
Review of Andrews Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Andrews Hotel
Ranked #131 of 230 Hotels in San Francisco
Reviewed 22 February 2017

Stayed in many central city hotels especially in Europe. This could easily have been in Paris. Rooms were small but there was adequate hanging and cupboard space for a few days stay. Excellent restaurant downstairs and several nearby. Easy walk to Union Square and Cable cars. Staff very pleasant and friendly. Lift (which I am sure is properly inspected) was an antique! Excellent continental style breakfast (included) on each floor. It was right outside our room, nicely laid out. Able to sneak out in PJs!

Room Tip: We were up on top floor (7) - reasonably quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NSTP81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (647)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 30 of 647 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2017

Location: Very good and central
Reception staff: Very friendly and helpful
Room interior: Very cramped, no view out of the windows (5th floor)
Room indoor climate: Old steam radiator, only on-off control
Room equipment: No desk, no coffee machine, no fridge, no micro oven, small, and rickety dresser, very limited storage space
Toilet and bath: OK
Noise: No street noise, lot of corridor noise.
Internet: Slow
Parking: Difficult
Price: Overpriced
Elevator: Yes
Breakfast: Small buffet on each floor, but nowhere to eat it (no desk in the room)
Safe deposit box in the room: No

Room Tip: Choose level 6 or 7 away from the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank C H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2017 via mobile

Absolutely TERRIBLE!
I've never been more grossed out by a hotel room or by service until staying here.
The room had several different smells and a variety of stray hairs on the dirty towels and walls.
The costumer service was non existent in any shape or form.
And don't expect to sleep with how thin the floors/walls are especially when you're near the restaurant that's inside the hotel.
The worst part was the staff that said "I can't guarantee you'll get your bracelet back if housekeeping is able to find it" and was told to wait for an email response when I told her I was on my way to grab my bracelet I left in the room. I was also refused the managers information.
TERRIBLE PROPERTY AND EVEN MORE TERRIBLE EMPLOYEES.

Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2017

Was pleasantly surprised. I'm never sure when I see something that is priced low, but this time it surpassed my expectations. Old hotel, old elevator and very small room, but all of that added to the ambiance. Wonderful service at the front desk, great location and excellent restaurant in the lobby area. Very good breakfast brought up to our floor. Location right off Union Square. Little noisy at night if you keep the windows open.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank sue c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 February 2017 via mobile

Spent a weeknight evening in this well-maintained vintage venue with my aunt. We had a wonderful stay in the small but beautifully decorated, clean and bright twin room. Two small closets and plenty of power strips met our needs well. Comfortable beds, and relatively quiet - using a white noise app on my phone, we both enjoyed a great night's sleep. In the morning, a lovely continental breakfast spread set up on our floor (right outside our room!) was a great way to start the day. Very pleasant staff. Highly recommended economy lodging!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
Thank knfolsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these San Francisco hotels
Union Square
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Square, BW Premier Collection
The Cartwright Hotel - Union Squ...
#73 of 230 in San Francisco
747 reviews
Union Square
Cornell Hotel de France
Cornell Hotel de France
#26 of 230 in San Francisco
1,785 reviews
SoMa
The Mosser
The Mosser
#88 of 230 in San Francisco
2,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Union Square
Hotel Bijou
Hotel Bijou
#126 of 230 in San Francisco
815 reviews
Queen Anne Hotel
#79 of 230 in San Francisco
659 reviews
Union Square
Hotel 32One
Hotel 32One
#152 of 230 in San Francisco
56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andrews Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrews Hotel

Address: 624 Post St, San Francisco, CA 94109-8222
Phone Number:
Region: United States > California > San Francisco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#23 Best Value Hotel in San Francisco
Price Range: €95 - €248 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Andrews Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Queen Anne Victorian structure was erected in 1905 as the opulent Sultan Turkish Baths. Two decades later the Baths closed,and the entire building was remodeled into a European style boutique hotel. Intimate guestrooms feature lovely floral motifs, unique architectural features, and fresh flowers. The celebrated Fino restaurant features traditional Italian cuisine prepared in an open kitchen and served in a romantic and intimate atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Andrews Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Andrews San Francisco
Andrew Hotel San Francisco

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing