We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
20 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$279
View deal
Free cancellation until 18/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Booking.com
US$284
View deal
Free cancellation until 18/08/22
Reserve now, pay at stay
Hurb
US$255
View deal
Free cancellation until 17/08/22
Hotels.comUS$279
travelup.comUS$301
Destinia.comUS$351
View all 16 deals
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (608)
Filter reviews
608 results
Traveller rating
503
69
26
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
503
69
26
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bluestone lane beat generation bath bombs tarot cards literary theme union square welcome drink nespresso machine filtered water small elevator fun hotel unique hotel great boutique cool hotel a great stay lobby bar late check
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 608 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2022

This was our first stop off - San Franscisco on our road trip. We chose this hotel, due to the reviews. The whole stay was welcoming and relaxing. My thanks to Gitaryali, Reception, who was so friendly - being that we are in our young 60s/70s!! The whole team were able to help with our requests, ordering of taxis, recommended where to eat .. bringing this whole experience to life. We did not want a chain-hotel - during our hotel, with it quirkyness and fun .. we were not disappointed. A high standard of hygiene throughout. The bar/restaurant added to the ambience, with persons enjoying themselves of different ages. The coffee shop had a great choice of savoury and sweet, plus refreshments. We felt very safe in the location, with a small walk to the main square and catching the trams. We plan to return and here I will request to stay again.

Date of stay: May 2022
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SunshineSandi16
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
McClinton Heil, Owner at Hotel Emblem San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2022

Thank you SunshineSandi16 for your amazing review and recognizing Gitanjali! We look forward to welcoming you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2022

Having not been to the San Francisco area for over 20 years, we picked this hotel based on other reviews and location. Hotel Emblem did not disappoint! The check-in process was so easy and everyone is very friendly and helpful. We loved how the hotel and our room was decorated. Not something you’d find at other big hotels. The coffee shop downstairs was delicious and the location was safe and central to everything. Highly recommend!

Date of stay: June 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cosmopolitan262932
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
McClinton Heil, Owner at Hotel Emblem San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2022

Thank you Cosmopolitan262932 for your 5 star review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2022

Great boutique hotel in wonderful location. The manager has assembled a very enthusiastic team and they make you feel very welcome. In particular, Audra, Orion and Cora were very helpful at the front desk. For a long stay, I do recommend upgrading to the larger king rooms in the back. What a treat -- windows that open, overlooking a garden, walk-in shower, and generous-sized room....and so quiet. The regular rooms are also very nice, just more typical size for a downtown hotel. We could select the days we wanted housekeeping by removing our "do not disturb" sign and the one day we had housekeeping was excellent. Also, the water bottle refilling station and fortune cookie jar on each floor were nice touches. Definitely would stay here again and recommend to family and friends. Tip: Rather than use the valet parking, we parked down the block at 450 Sutter. They offer in and out privileges if you say you are at a hotel in the area. It was self-park and very convenient and saved a few dollars.

Date of stay: June 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank alison18losangeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
McClinton Heil, Owner at Hotel Emblem San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2022

Thank you alison18losangeles for your review! We hope to welcome you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2022

We had a wonderful stay at hotel Emblem. The staff was extremely kind and nice, they were also very accommodating for us when i had made a mistake with my reservation. The rooms were clean, beds comfy and the bar/restaurant downstairs was great! We also loved having the coffee shop right inside the building. We are absolutely staying here again when we come back to SF. Thanks again!!

Date of stay: June 2022
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank merkenstock
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
McClinton Heil, Owner at Hotel Emblem San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2022

Thank you for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2022

My wife and I stayed here for a night without kids. We LOVED the ambiance, the Obscenity Bar. the pool table, books, etc. Very comfortable rooms, and we were SO happy to find a Nespresso machine in our room. We usually travel with our own Nespresso machine, but didn't for this one-nighter so we were blown away to have that amenity. The Bluestone Lane cafe was not so hot, but there's so much coffee in SF, we just had to walk a block away for a better coffee when the Nespresso wasn't enough.
We will definitely be back!

Date of stay: June 2022
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank hortha
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
McClinton Heil, Owner at Hotel Emblem San Francisco, responded to this reviewResponded 20 June 2022

Thank you hortha for your 5 star review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews