We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ride the Cable Cars!”
Review of Cable Cars

Cable Cars
Book In Advance
More Info
US$45.00*
and up
Hop-On Hop-Off City Tour on a Classic Cable Car
Ranked #11 of 545 things to do in San Francisco
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Since 1873, cable cars have run up and down the hilly city, though after the 1950s, these cars have been kept in operation more out of historic nostalgia. Seventeen miles of track remain and have been deemed a historical landmark.
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level Contributor
124 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Ride the Cable Cars!”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Okay, the ride was enjoyable. The railmen were a little rude, especially earlier in the morning. They are part of the city since they are operating the cars, and tourism is part of what pays the bills. Luckily our last ride we came to a very nice guy that was great for helping us get to where we needed to go.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jocelyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

16,304 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9,338
    4,504
    1,703
    440
    319
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Such a fun way to see the city”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

The cable cars are not inexpensive so plan to ride for a while & on a nice day. We walked to the cable car museum where we saw the cable system & learned how these neat cars are pulled through the city. After we exited the museum, we hopped on the cable car down the street, rode it up to Lombard Street & all the way down the hill to the turn around near Ghirardelli Square. The kids & adults in our group loved using this unique mode of transportation-- apparently it is the only working Cable Car line in the world!!!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank roxhills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
74 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Better than driving”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

The conductors are full of resources. Lots to see from the car while moving. Common sense for safety becames more imperative while riding the cable cars.

Helpful?
Thank Kristina062
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Iowa City
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Classic”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

This is a must-do. I have ridden twice and it was a fun way to see the city.

Helpful?
Thank Lchris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level Contributor
239 reviews
136 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
“Gotta Do It”
Reviewed 28 March 2012

Must Do . .you seen the pics. Be a silly fun tourist . .do all the cliche stuff . . Take all the pics . .don't sit . .stand . .hold on to poles . .lean over.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Todd A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cable Cars also viewed

 
San Francisco, CA
 

Been to Cable Cars? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing