We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Bar Harbor Inn
Nearby Hotels
Acadia Inn(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Acadia Park Inn(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quality Inn(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$152
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$130
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Quimby House Inn(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$125
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$162
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bluenose Inn - A Bar Harbor Hotel(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bar Harbor Motel(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$124
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Belle Isle Motel(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$68
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Acadia Hotel(Bar Harbor)(Great Value!)
US$119
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,780)
Filter reviews
1,780 results
Traveller rating
1,174
429
111
53
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,174
429
111
53
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoceanfront lodgereading roomnewport buildingocean frontcontinental breakfastterrace grilllobster bakein townmain buildingmargaret toddoff seasonacadia national parkwalking pathfrenchman's baylobster boatsblueberry piecruise ship
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
25 - 30 of 1,780 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed in room 219 with great views of harbor and a nice little balcony although it was too cold to enjoy it. We made use of the Oasis Lounge both nights we were in BH. Lots of cool pics on the walls of the lobby and hallways showing this place is a BH institution. Gas fireplace was nice and easy to turn on and off. Staff was great with al little requests. Parking is easy and free. Walk mere steps and you are surrounded by town shops, restaurants and bars. If you’re going to go all the way to Maine, you might as well stay here and do it right!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank WJDCMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2017

Already making plans for when we can visit again. The location allows us to walk to everywhere in town. Walked the Shore path which was outside our door every morning. The view of the harbor from our balcony cannot be beat.
Staff were great and helpful, especially the doorman. It isn't often that I cannot think of a thing to improve our stay. Spend the money, you will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: Stay in the main in looking over the harbor
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Gary W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2017

I am 76 and retired. For over a decade, I have
lived in south Texas and along the coast of the Gulf
of Mexico. For 31 nights and 30 days this summer,
I stayed at the Bar Harbor Inn. I checked in on July 31
and checked out on August 31, 2017.

I stayed in a guestroom with one bed. When
I booked the room, few rooms were available. I had
ground floor room with a balcony a few feet above the
ground sloping down toward Frenchman Bay off the
Atlantic Ocean. Two chairs were on the balcony.
There I had an unobstructed view of the bay. The
rate was $339 a night for each of my 31 nights.

I was expecting the temperatures of Bar Harbor,
Maine, to be cool, but they were cold during my visit.
Nearly every one of my 30 days, I had to wear a
windbreaker during the warmest part of the daylight
hours. Sometimes I had to wear a sweater
under my windbreaker.

I chose the Bar Harbor Inn, because it was
downtown and by the harbor, because it provided
internet terminals free to guests, and because it
had valet laundry.

I never rented a car. I paid a shuttle service
for my round trip between the commercial airport
at Bangor, Maine, and the inn. I walked to a Baptist
church on Sunday mornings and to restaurants
downtown. I walked to the town square of Bar
Harbor and rode the free Island Explorer buses on
routes to see Arcadia National Park. I often sat
behind the driver of the bus, and the driver told
me the sights.

I begin by praising the performance of many
employees. I thought the housekeeper for my
room was superb. I praise the elderly employee
who took me to my room on check in. I learned
from him how to operate the separate air
conditioning and heating units for my room. My
room was quiet, comfortable, and stayed at the
temperature I desired.

I compliment the team and the manager
for a wide selection of cold food and of hot and
cold beverages for the extended continental
breakfast provided free for overnight guests.
There were hard boiled eggs with shells
removed, pastry, yogurts, whole fruit, and a
serving bowl with a mixture of cut up fruit.
There were also containers with hot coffee
and decaf and with cold regular and skim milk
and several fruit juices. I rarely had to wait
and enjoyed the food. Sitting in the room
for the continental breakfast, I had an
unobstructed view of Frenchman Bay.

I thank bellmen and front desk
employees who used a remote to turn off
the air conditioner ventilator on the wall
above the two internet terminals in the
lobby in the main building and by the front
desk. Nearly every day, I used one of
the internet terminals and printed free.

I saw many mornings a rooms division
manager helping the continental breakfast
manager. I compliment the former for
listening to my suggestions about rooms.

At my age, I eat a substantial breakfast
and a healthy lunch and skip dinner. Three
lunches I ate at the inn. I thank the executive
chef of the inn for his superb cooking at lunches
I enjoyed and for his inclusion in lunch menu of
a few healthy main course platters. I enjoyed
eating one of these main course platters.
(They were cooked but not fried and had
portions smaller than at dinner of fish / meat,
of starch, and of vegetables.)

I was grateful to use the inexpensive
valet laundry. No dry cleaning was accepted,
and clothes were not ironed but merely washed,
dried, and folded. During my entire stay at
Bar Harbor, I wore wrinkle resistant shorts and
seersucker long sleeved shirts. The pastor of
the Baptist church I walked a mile to on
Sundays told me casual attire was OK.

Nearly every morning I asked for a
wake up call, and it came promptly. Twice,
the front desk placed the valet laundry charge
one or two days late on my room bill. Only
once did I complain, and the charge was
placed on my bill on the date of the valet
service.

The Bar Harbor Inn had one general
manager (GM) for many years, but in 2017,
a new GM came. The earlier GM quoted me
prices for guestrooms and booked my room.
During my stay at the inn, I interacted with the
new GM. Below I list five problems that I
recognized:

1. I felt cold sitting inside the room
serving continental breakfast.
Many mornings, I saw the twin
exit doors toward Frenchman Bay
propped open wide. Many
mornings, I saw the other twin
exit doors -- those that opened
away from the bay -- propped
open wide. I noticed that the
air conditioning ventilators
mounted high on the walls
always pumped out cold
air: I never saw them stop.

2. I felt cold inside the lobby in the
main building by the front desk.
I saw twin exit doors toward
the driveway propped open.
I noticed the air conditioning
ventilators mounted high on
the walls always pumped out
cold air: I never saw them stop
unless an employee used a
remote to turn them off.

3. Many, many days I considered
it too cold to eat lunch outside,
and all those days the luncheon
of the inn was served only
outside. Once or twice, it was
raining, the luncheon at the inn
was served inside, and I enjoyed
eating it.

4. When I checked out, I paid tax
for all 31 nights. A few weeks
later, my credit card statement
revealed that one day after my
checkout, the inn had reversed the
charge made at check out and
made a new charge of nine
hundred forty-five dollars plus
some pennies less. I e-mailed the
new GM, and he replied informing
me for the first time of a law of
the state of Maine. The law states
that there is no tax for any night of
a guest's stay if he stays for over 28
consecutive nights. I stayed for 31.

5. I believe $339 a night was too
much for my guest room even
with its view, even with no tax, and
even with an extended continental
breakfast included.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
8  Thank Retired_Preacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Great view but I wish we had a pair of binoculars to see the cliffs on nearby islands. The hotel does not provide them so bring your own. Cruise ships were a daily occurrence while we were there and the passengers are shuttled in on boats.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank JoKoPaBethlehem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 October 2017

We just returned from a 9 day trip to Maine and 4 of our nights were spent at the Bar Harbor Inn. This place is beautiful and the location is ideal! We were in the Oceanfront Lodge (room 502) and had the most amazing oceanfront views. We could see the sun rise each morning and hear the waves. Cruise ships outside our room every morning. The location of this hotel is spot on. Its waterfront but you can walk to the downtown area so we felt that was the best of both. The complimentary breakfast each morning was a nice touch. The Reading Room offers a nice dining experience but he casual dining there is great too. The Blueberry Martini was so yummy and the food was all great. The only suggestion would be to offer a couple free bottled waters in the room each day (we found ourselves hunting for water at night) Hope to make it back here again one day!!

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank townie75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews