We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best of the Best”
Review of Bar Harbor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bar Harbor Inn
Ranked #8 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Isn't being in Bar Harbor, enough? The breathtaking views, the quaint town and the friendly people. At the end of the road leading into town, you run right into it. A most romantic, timeless and perfectly positioned Bar Harbor Inn. We had the privilige of staying there with my parents, whom were celebrating their 51st wedding anniversary, my sister and her husband. It was an "adults" weekend so to speak!

I love Bar Harbor and I love it even more because of the experience had at the Bar Harbor Inn. Upon entering the grounds, your excitement grows because the views are perfect. Every where you look, it's a panoramic view of the harbor, the stone path where you can walk along the ocean, storefronts and restaurants and the grandness of the historic white building and its yellow umbrella accents.

When you enter the lobby, its charm captures you. The outside grandness matches the inside grandness equally. The restaurant is perfectly, and I mean perfectly, facing the harbor and with windows everywhere, you feel like you are in another place.

The rooms were perfectly clean, what I expected and the bathroom was large and comfortable. We had a balcony, how could I stay there again without one! Classic style and very inviting accomodations.

Our dinner was at sunset and we had the best table in the house... but wait. all tables are the best. Truly. Our service was personal, we felt like we were the only table there as there were servers everywhere but then nowhere. You didn't notice the water being poured in your glass because you were intrigued where that server came from. The food was phenomenal. Service was equal. We returned for breakfast and had the same experience as the prior night. It was all repeated, without effort.

Thank you to the great leadership of Fred Link. Your establishment is as grand as the person that you are. You are a class act. Thank you.



The Best of the Best

The best location
The best service
The best food
The best views
The best experience

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vicki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,776)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,175 - 1,179 of 1,776 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2012

My wife and I didn't stay at the Inn, but we did have dinner there and it was spectacular. Our car battery died once we arrived at the Inn and I spent part of dinner on the phone with AAA only to find out they didn't have any service in Bar Harbor. This was a Friday night and and many service stations are closed on Saturday. I asked about options at the front desk and a fine young man by the name of Blake told me about a Walmart that was open late and offered to provide a jump-start once our dinner was over. We stopped at the Walmart on our way out of town, bought a new battery and swapped it out on Saturday morning. Problem solved and we were able to continue our Saturday activities at Acadia as planned. Blake's quick thinking saved the day for us and we are very grateful.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BillandMaryAnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2012

Stayed at this hotel 7/17- 7/19, 2012. It is a lovely hotel, with a great location to downtown Bar Harbor...but for what we paid for our oceanfront room, everything should have been up to par and it wasn't. The ceiling fan knob on the wall was off thus the ceiling fan would not work, the light in the closet was burned out and did not work and the bathrooms, although clean really needed to be updated and please elevate your room safes off the floor of the closets!
I would stay here again but the hotel should do quality checks on the little things in the rooms.
The breakfast in the morning was wonderful and the views breathtaking. Staff were very helpful and again the views from the private balconies were stunning!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cheryl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2012

If you are planing a vacation to Bar Harbor, save your money so you could afford to stay at this Inn, especially the section with balcony rooms facing the harbor. Been there several times and have never been disappointed. Private, almost enclosed balconies face the absolutely breathtaking harbor. Watch the boats and schooners sail by or listen to the waves gently slap the rocks. Don't know what the other rooms are like, especially those that don't face the harbor, but if you stay, why not get the harbor view? Excellent complimentary continental breakfast. All I can say is FANTASTIC!

Room Tip: Save your money and get the harbor view balcony room - well worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PATravelGal08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2012

The area that The Bar Harbor Inn is at is breathtaking. It couldn't be a prettier spot. My husband and I went there to celebrate an anniversary and stayed at the Oceanfront Lodge. While the view is beautiful, the room is just a basic room with the bathroom needing a major over haul. Everything in the bath is very dated.......some new fixtures would go a long way. The Reading Room restaurant is excellent......probably the nicest in Bar Harbor. They also have an outdoor restaurant on the shore which has the same beautiful view as the Reading Room. The food there is more casual but equally as good. We had a wonderful waiter by the name of Josh who was not only an excellent waiter, but very knowledgeable about the area and gave us some goog tips. We always ask for him when dining. If you're looking for a beautiful spot, this is it!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Beverly R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
2 km away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
0.6 km away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#5 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,387 reviews
0.5 km away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#10 of 41 in Bar Harbor
389 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 km away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
728 reviews
0.3 km away
Balance Rock Inn
Balance Rock Inn
#21 of 41 in Bar Harbor
488 reviews
0.3 km away
Harborside Hotel & Marina
Harborside Hotel & Marina
#19 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bar Harbor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bar Harbor Inn

Address: 1 Newport Dr, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1898
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Bar Harbor
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Bar Harbor
#4 Business Hotel in Bar Harbor
#7 Family Hotel in Bar Harbor
#12 Romantic Hotel in Bar Harbor
Price Range: €114 - €298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bar Harbor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 153
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bar Harbor's best oceanfront location, with great in-town convenience. Rated "Superior First Class" by Official Hotel Guide. Eight acres of lush lawns/gardens, three beautiful and distinct buildings, embraced by serene half-mile shorepath. Elegant rooms/suites; king/queen beds; premium bedding; waterfront balconies. Superior hotel amenities -- complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, luxury robes, wireless internet, homemade cookies. Both fine and casual dining - with delicious cuisine, attentive service, breathtaking ocean views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Bar Harbor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bar Harbor Hotel Bar Harbor
Bar Harbor Inn Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing