We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Most accommodating B and B I've ever been to!”
Review of Primrose Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Primrose Inn
Ranked #8 of 30 Bar Harbor B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Most accommodating B and B I've ever been to!”
Reviewed 12 October 2011

Beautiful B and B with tons of amenities! Extremely clean and the food is delicious!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magsms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    441
    30
    7
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
381
11
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (84)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
burnley lancs
Level 5 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2011

Stayed 3 nights in room 8, although smaller than others it was perfect for us. The small porch with rocking chairs and external access was perfect for relaxing with a glass of wine on a warm summer evening. The weather was beautiful whilst we were there and really anjoyed the guided audio tour provided by the inn of Acadia National Park. We could have syayed much longer.
Went whale watching but was a little dissapointed with this as the boat was too large and only saw 1 Whale. We have done whale watching from Monterrey California so probably spoilt by this experience.
Bar Harbor is a lovely little town something for everyone, nice eateries shops views etc and the inn is only a short stroll away.
Having Breakfast at the inn is a real pleasure and not to be missed the choice of home baked food is probably one of the nicest Ive ever had.
Dont miss staying here book early if going in Peak Season.

Room Tip: All rooms would be lovely it depends on what you prefer. We liked the private access and front porch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rakehead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maple Grove, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2011

We've been to many B&B's and this is near the top of the list. Jeff and Catherine are very organized with many things available to help with your stay (i.e. GPS systems for finding restaurants, info on Arcadia National Park). Rooms are great; some street noise from Mt Desert Street, so try picking a room that doesn't face this street. Breakfast portions aren't huge, but extras are available for those wanting a full meal. They have alot of movie DVD's and other things available for down time or rainy weather. We had gorgeous weather and a wonderful time; thanks to the Primrose Inn!

Room Tip: Away from Mt. Desert Street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MNTraveller45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salinas, CA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2011

This was our second visit to the Primrose and we have nothing but the highest praise for it again. It was really fun to meet so many other guests that were repeat visitors as well. We all return because the care given (to every detail) and the comfort of the beautiful inn are unbeatable!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kboutry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 October 2011

What a great place to get away. Very refreshing to enjoy all of the amenities of The Primrose Inn and the hospitality of Catherine and Jeff. The accomadations were top notch and the breakfasts each morning were wonderful. The tea in the afternoons with desert were exceptional. Shopping, restaurants, viewing the harbor, and park were all within walking distance. Bike rentals and kiak rentals all available. The Acadia National Park was wonderful - the carriage trails afford bike rides and hiking trails and is located a short distance from Bar Harbor. This was one of the best vacations we have ever been on. We came back rested and refreshed.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
0.6 km away
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
Bar Harbor Grand Hotel
#6 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,324 reviews
1.0 km away
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
Hampton by Hilton Bar Harbor
#3 of 41 in Bar Harbor
652 reviews
0.8 km away
Bar Harbor Inn
Bar Harbor Inn
#7 of 41 in Bar Harbor
1,690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 km away
Bar Harbor Manor
Bar Harbor Manor
#9 of 41 in Bar Harbor
451 reviews
0.4 km away
Acadia Hotel
Acadia Hotel
#11 of 41 in Bar Harbor
361 reviews
1.7 km away
Atlantic Oceanside Hotel and Event Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Primrose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Primrose Inn

Property: Primrose Inn
Address: 73 Mount Desert St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1327
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 30 B&Bs / Inns in Bar Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): €€€
Hotel Class:3 star — Primrose Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Romantic Bar Harbor Bed and Breakfast is perfectly located only a short stroll from Main Street and only a mile from Acadia National Park. Features 15 spacious guest rooms, all with private bathrooms, luxurious linens, air conditioning, flat-panel TV/DVD and wireless internet access. Many rooms feature gas fireplaces, spa tubs and private porches. Full breakfast served each morning; also Afternoon Tea with freshly baked goods. Reserved parking; smoke-free and pet-free. Open May to October. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Primrose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Primrose Hotel Bar Harbor
Primrose Inn Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing