We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for ....... mostly”
Review of Edenbrook Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Bar Harbor
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Edenbrook Motel
Ranked #29 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 September 2017

An inexpensive motel, especially in a location where most are in the 100+ to 300+ range. It appears to be one that was built in the 50's or 60's with worn out furnishings and decor that don't appear to have been changed since then. If you need hot water for a shower or other reason, be prepared to wait for 5 or more minutes for the hot water to arrive from wherever the water heater is located. It is a relatively clean motel, but a mildew smell permeates and will make it difficult to breath if one is sensitive to it. If all you care about is the cheapest price, then go for it.

Room Tip: Check the room before accepting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scootron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (126)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 126 reviews

Reviewed 14 September 2017

This is an older well kept family owned motel. While they have not done much in updates they offer a very clean room, handy to the shuttle service of the area and friendly helpful staff.
Refrigerator is only in rooms that state it in the room description, TV is older model but many channel options.
Parking near room always available and quiet area.
Easy access to Acadia on bike from this location.
In this day when Retro is "in" Eden brook is worth the money and would stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tjltc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2017

After much research we decided to stay at Edenbrook. It was the least expensive. It is definitely an older motel, but it was very clean. We stayed in the 4th building and we had a sea view from our balcony. The staff is very nice and helpful. No hair dryers in the room, but you can borrow them at the front desk for your stay. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank CatChicago_IL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

This motel is a very good value for a Bar Harbor Motel. We stayed for a few nights while spending almost all of our time in the park or the town. We had a very large room with a mini fridge, small table (you could eat there), two double beds and a porch. Although it is an older motel, it was absolutely one of the cleanest rooms I have stayed in. Beds are okay, although a bit soft. There are heat and A/C controls in each room. It is on the Explorer bus route which makes it very convenient because parking in the town is very difficult. I would recommend Edenbrook to anyone looking for a basic, super clean room.
btw- TVs are old style and there is no hairdryer in the room.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Uhh111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2017

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights while visiting Acadia National Park. It has a nice location, near the Park for driving, and also on the Island Explorer routes of free shuttle buses. The hotel itself is a bit outdated, but clean and roomy. The beds in our rooms were doubles, so a bit narrower than what we are used to. There was a coffee maker, but no fridge or microwave. There were also only a couple outlets that accepted 3 prongs, most were older 2-prong style, so if you have electronics or other items that need 3 prongs, you may want to bring some sort of extension/power bar. The shower was fine, with good water pressure and warm water. There was soap supplied in the bathroom, but no shampoo/conditioner or hair dryer. The staff was very friendly on check-in and check-out, and gave us some brochures and information about the National Park, bus routes, and local restaurants. Overall we were happy with our stay, especially for the price for a family stay.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnowyShasta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bar Harbor hotels
2.2 km away
Cromwell Harbor Motel
Cromwell Harbor Motel
#22 of 41 in Bar Harbor
223 reviews
1.4 km away
The Central House
The Central House
#27 of 41 in Bar Harbor
111 reviews
1.4 km away
ANCHORAGE MOTEL
ANCHORAGE MOTEL
#38 of 41 in Bar Harbor
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
High Seas Motel
High Seas Motel
#20 of 41 in Bar Harbor
158 reviews
0.1 km away
Highbrook Motel
Highbrook Motel
#1 of 41 in Bar Harbor
874 reviews
5.5 km away
Acadia Pines Motel
Acadia Pines Motel
#28 of 41 in Bar Harbor
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edenbrook Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edenbrook Motel

Address: 96 Eden St, Bar Harbor, Mount Desert Island, ME 04609-1106
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Mount Desert Island > Bar Harbor
Amenities:
Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 41 Hotels in Bar Harbor
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Edenbrook Motel is a family run business since we opened in 1953. Our modest rooms in the 1st and 3rd are updated and accommodating families, and with a covered porch. The 2nd and 4th rooms are modern and very up-to-date with balconies and top floor of the 4th has views of Frenchman's Bay. This is reflected in the prices. We welcome reviews from all our guests. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Edenbrook Hotel Bar Harbor
Edenbrook Motel Bar Harbor, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing